We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Buckton Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Buckton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay was just as good as the first time some years ago. The quality of the food and excellent service has not changed. We had a lovely relaxing stay, it could'nt have been better. This place is so different to the usual guest house/B&B full of character and charm. Bob & Linda

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having found a rare weekend off in our diaries, my husband and I decided on another weekend break at Lower Buckton. We were welcomed back with open arms by Henry and Carolyn and immediately knew that we were in for another great weekend. We were given the Blue Room which over looks the beautiful gardens, stream and paddocks. A soon as you arrive at Lower Buckton your world seems to pause and takes a deep breathe. Calm is order of the day. Carolyn produced some wonderful meals for us and we were more than happy to spend the evenings putting the worlds to right with our hosts and a vintage bottle of red we had brought for them. Our visit to Ludlow was a mix of history and shopping as well as a cheeky pint to catch up on the rugby scores! Even though it started snowing we also enjoyed a leisurely walk across the fields before afternoon tea. Thank you C & H for another wonderful weekend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tiddy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We chose to stay at Lower Buckton whilst on our travels through Shropshire and The Long Mynd.
A warm welcome awatied us, Carolyn greeted us as we drew up and showed us up to our room. We had asked for The Yellow Room as this has an en-suite shower. It is a lovely room furnished with antiques and a wonderfully comfy bed. After settling in we went downstairs to the sitting room where we were served with tea and a homemade cake. We chose not to have the evening meal option, instead we ventured down to Leintwardine to The Lion and had a really delicious meal at a reasonable price.
Breakfast the following morning was served in the dining room. A lovely selection of homemade fare including jam, marmalade, bread fruit compote and Carolyns own recipe Mueseli, followed by a full english breakfast.
I wish we could have stayed another night to sample a home cooked dinner, nevermind we'll save that for our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crush1980meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was looking for a quintessentially English country retreat to entertain some close friends from abroad as they had come over to celebrate our having met 15 years ago and to mark my 40th birthday. Lower Buckton was recommended to me by some dear friends who have visited twice and couldn't recommend it highly enough, so how could I resist. A group of 7 of us from all over Europe stayed three nights for the complete house party package and we were not disappointed! The location was perfectly placed to feel isolated enough to feel shrouded in the quiet countryside but close enough to Ludlow and the Shropshire countryside if we wanted to explore which we did once or twice. We loved our rooms which were spacious enough, more than comfortable and on the right side of cozy. The house itself has a fantastic warmth and feels English in every way which was an added bonus particularly for my foreign guests. It always felt so nice to come home after a morning of exploring to tea in the lounge and a roaring fire. Our hosts were Carolyn and Henry and their hospitality was second for none, with Carolyn cooking up a storm with locally grown, seasonal produce in the kitchen every night and Henry acting as wine/drinks waiter and looking after after our front of house needs - both entertaining us with stories and banter along the way - we wanted for nothing! All meals were four courses usually starting with some light nibbles and ending with a self indulgent but sublime pudding. As we were staying on November 5th, they even did a private fireworks display and soup in a cauldron outside for us which then was followed by a delicious bonfire night supper of beef stew and baked potatoes followed by a delicious apple crumble and cream for dessert. The following night as we toasted in my birthday, Carolyn cooked a delicious partridge and spelt dish for us by request and wheeled out a delicious chocolate roulade adorned with birthday candles - which was a lovely, heartfelt surprise! My friends and I loved every minute - I couldn't have asked for a more marvellous memory - much of which was created by the amazing people who run this wonderful place. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briggsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hubby and I stayed 2 nights so that we could , for the first time , visit Ludlow . We have not stayed in a guest house before so did not know whether we would like the intimacy of a smaller residence. However Henry and Carolyn soon put us at ease and we loved it .We arrived to tea and home made scones /jam and cream . On the first night we dined in and were cooked a beautiful 4 course meal , with canapes . The souffle was marvellous . Carolyn doing the cooking and Henry being waiter and host .We took our own wines and Henry kindly joined us in enjoying them . The next day we started with a wonderful home cooked breakfast ( having watched Henry gather the eggs the evening before )and we had real home made fried bread done in bacon fat just like my Mum used to do when I was young. When we got in ( wet ) from Ludlow we found a tray with home made fairy cakes for us .We went up for a rest before
dining at La Becasse in Ludlow and Carolyn helped arrange the taxi for us .On the last morning and another great breakfast .
The house is a treasure trove of items /photos and portraits and a lovely labrador called Copper .( not allowed into the residential side of house )
The house is in beautiful country side and is about a 15/20 minute drive into Ludlow .Well worth a visit .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I plus our two 'terrorists' (jack russells) as Henry fondly described them arrived friday to a warm welcome. This sense of warmth and good fun was maintained until we left, relaxed, happy and well fed, sunday morning. The food was excellent, the location brilliant, we'll be back! atvb

Room Tip: all have excellent views over unspoilt countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My review is a bit delayed but valid none-the-less.
We stayed at Lower Buckton between Xmas and New Year 2011 and we had the best time ever.
A group of seven of us had the place to ourselves and the unrivaled attention of Carolyn and Henry.
After a mix up with dates my husband and I arrived a day early! But Carolyn rose to the challenge and sent us into Ludlow for lunch whilst she sorted a room for us.
We were then welcomed back with tea and cake and a pub for dinner was recommended as our early arrival meant that Carolyn could not feed us that night.
Our fellow guests arrived the next day and from then on it was all food, wine and fun. What a brilliant stay we had. The food was superb, the atmosphere fantastic and the whole stay was enhanced by the warm and welcoming personalities of Carolyn and Henry. Nothing was too much trouble and it was a treat when they joined us for dinner on our third night as a welcome addition to our party.
We can't recommend this place highly enough and if you want that house party experience whilst feeling welcomed and spoilt then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotoBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lower Buckton Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Buckton Country House

Address: | Leintwardine, Buckton, Leintwardine SY7 0JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine > Buckton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckton
Price Range: $130 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house accommodation with award-winning breakfasts and delicious dinners off the beaten track in Mortimer Country on north Herefordshire/south Shropshire borders where England meets Wales. A tranquil, rural retreat specialising in local, seasonal food from small-scale artisan producers, growers and suppliers thus supporting the local economy. Open all year including Christmas and New Year for bed and breakfast, house-parties, cookery courses and food safaris - just ten miles west of Ludlow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lower Buckton Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing