We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lower Buckton Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Buckton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hubby and I stayed 2 nights so that we could , for the first time , visit Ludlow . We have not stayed in a guest house before so did not know whether we would like the intimacy of a smaller residence. However Henry and Carolyn soon put us at ease and we loved it .We arrived to tea and home made scones /jam and cream . On the first night we dined in and were cooked a beautiful 4 course meal , with canapes . The souffle was marvellous . Carolyn doing the cooking and Henry being waiter and host .We took our own wines and Henry kindly joined us in enjoying them . The next day we started with a wonderful home cooked breakfast ( having watched Henry gather the eggs the evening before )and we had real home made fried bread done in bacon fat just like my Mum used to do when I was young. When we got in ( wet ) from Ludlow we found a tray with home made fairy cakes for us .We went up for a rest before
dining at La Becasse in Ludlow and Carolyn helped arrange the taxi for us .On the last morning and another great breakfast .
The house is a treasure trove of items /photos and portraits and a lovely labrador called Copper .( not allowed into the residential side of house )
The house is in beautiful country side and is about a 15/20 minute drive into Ludlow .Well worth a visit .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Lower Buckton Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I plus our two 'terrorists' (jack russells) as Henry fondly described them arrived friday to a warm welcome. This sense of warmth and good fun was maintained until we left, relaxed, happy and well fed, sunday morning. The food was excellent, the location brilliant, we'll be back! atvb

Room Tip: all have excellent views over unspoilt countryside
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My review is a bit delayed but valid none-the-less.
We stayed at Lower Buckton between Xmas and New Year 2011 and we had the best time ever.
A group of seven of us had the place to ourselves and the unrivaled attention of Carolyn and Henry.
After a mix up with dates my husband and I arrived a day early! But Carolyn rose to the challenge and sent us into Ludlow for lunch whilst she sorted a room for us.
We were then welcomed back with tea and cake and a pub for dinner was recommended as our early arrival meant that Carolyn could not feed us that night.
Our fellow guests arrived the next day and from then on it was all food, wine and fun. What a brilliant stay we had. The food was superb, the atmosphere fantastic and the whole stay was enhanced by the warm and welcoming personalities of Carolyn and Henry. Nothing was too much trouble and it was a treat when they joined us for dinner on our third night as a welcome addition to our party.
We can't recommend this place highly enough and if you want that house party experience whilst feeling welcomed and spoilt then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotoBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

2 families travelled from the north-west to the Isla Bikes family day in Ludlow. Carolyn organised an amazing meal for us on the first night with ingredients that included wild garlic and water mint fresh from the garden.
Henry is an absolute legend- the children are still regaling stories about chasing chickens and swimming in the stream.
We enjoyed our meal on the first night so much we badgered Carolyn into another on our second (and sadly) last night. My 5 year old fussy eater was encouraged to eat purple sprouting broccoli and continues to do so.
We would love to make this an annual trip to enjoy more 'Old Henry' and lashings of wild garlic.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lizzie0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband, our three children and I have just had a most glorious Easter at Lower Buckton Country House. The boys adored sleeping in the wigwam, and my husband and I equally appreciated the oasis of calm that was our bedroom. Tasty food, and waking up in the heart of the countryside - what could be better? We will certainly come again, hopefully for Christmas.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Me and a bunch of friends picked Lower Buckton as it was off the beaten track, has a great reputation and we wanted something a bit different from your standard getaway. The people we met were beyond interesting - you could write novels about them, and the local places we visited opened our eyes to what this country has to offer when you go looking for it.
None of us are nature lovers, but we just loved waking up to views of sprawling fields and rolling hills. Horse riding was a bit out of our league for this first visit, but we left on good terms with Copper the dog, and one member of our party has even since taken up ornithology as a pastime.
Tasty food, ebullient hosts, comfortable rooms, pubs you can spend all day in, countryside to get lost in

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

After I forgot my wedding anniversary, I knew that I really had to pull something out of the bag to make the wife forgive me. As she is an aficionado of the countryside, I did my research and plumped for three nights at Lower Buckton Country House. What a fantastic time we had - a luxurious bedroom, wonderful food, and highly useful hints from the proprietors on the best places to visit in Shropshire/Herefordshire.

Nothing was too much trouble and all our needs were catered for - it was like going to stay with some old friends whom one has not seen for far too long.

As city folk with aspirations for a more permanent 'escape to the country', everything at Lower Buckton was so new but so familiar at the same time - the taxidermy in the corridors; the bantams pecking about in the garden; the bubbling brook dividing the lawn and the horse field; being able to see from our bedroom window the vegetables that would grace our table that evening...

The best moment? An intimate horse ride with Carolyn, the lady of the house, across glorious countryside accompanied by birdsong, the scuffle of wildlife in the hedgerows and the sense of utter freedom.

The worst moment? Having to leave!

Room Tip: The house really is like a home from home. Our room had an en-suite bathroom, which was lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christian y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckton
0.7 mi away
Walford Court
Walford Court
#2 of 8 in Leintwardine
121 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 8 in Leintwardine
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Old Downton Lodge
Old Downton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Downton on the Rock
236 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lower Buckton Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Buckton Country House

Address: | Leintwardine, Buckton, Leintwardine SY7 0JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine > Buckton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckton
Price Range: $128 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house accommodation with award-winning breakfasts and delicious dinners off the beaten track in Mortimer Country on north Herefordshire/south Shropshire borders where England meets Wales. A tranquil, rural retreat specialising in local, seasonal food from small-scale artisan producers, growers and suppliers thus supporting the local economy. Open all year including Christmas and New Year for bed and breakfast, house-parties, cookery courses and food safaris - just ten miles west of Ludlow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lower Buckton Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing