We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms at the Villa Beylie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merignas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison D'hotes Bordeaux Saint Emilion : Villa Beylie
Ranked #1 of 1 Merignas B&B and Inns
Hythe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms at the Villa Beylie”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Villa Beylie which is a beautifully renovated building about half an hour's drive from St Emilion. The hosts, Virginie and Jean-Marc were charming and welcoming.
We had the Newport room which is on two levels with the bed and bathroom upstairs. Everything was beautifully presented and very clean. The lounge had a door opening onto the garden with a seating area and sunshade.
Although we didn't have the best weather we managed to make use of the swimming pool and played ball with Dexter the resident welsh border collie.
Virginie is a keen cook and produced the most delicious bread and brioche for breakfast we also enjoyed the dinner she cooked for us and our fellow guests on Saturday evening.

Room Tip: There are five rooms and all can be seen on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived Virginie and Jean-Marc were the perfect hosts.

We stayed here for 3 nights in the Ponticherry suite. The room itself was lovely, it was a split level suite, with a living area downstairs with access to the gardens, and a bedroom and en-suite upstairs with a wonderful view of the vineyards from bed.

On the first night we had dinner with the other guests, Virginie's cooking is delicious and we definitely recommend it. Breakfasts are excellent, the home-made jams are superb.

I would definitely recommend Villa Beylie as a base for exploring the region. Virginie and Jean-Marc are full of helpful suggestions of where to visit and eat. The Villa itself is incredibly charming and set in such a beautiful location, I would definitely go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Beylie for two nights and had an incredible stay. Virginie and Jean-Marc (and Dexter the dog!) were such fantastic hosts. The house and rooms are incredible - they kept the charm of the 300-400 year old house but modernized it with all of the comforts of a new home. Breakfast is delicious and all homemade by Virginie. They offer dinner every other night and so we decided to take advantage of this offer on our second night and were so glad we did! I am vegetarian and Virginie happily catered to me while still making a goose dinner for everyone else. We enjoyed a delicious five course meal that has been the best meal of our trip. The only negative is that we ate too much!!
They showed such hospitality that included finding a winery that was open on the bank holiday and reserving a tour for us, to making sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed, to showing us a warm send off waving us off as drove down the road.
We're already thinking of when we can visit again. Don't hesitate to make Villa Beylie your base for exploring St. Emilion.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zh913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Villa Beylie. The house is charming, set back off the main road among rolling hills and vineyards. The décor is modern, but very much in keeping with the style of southern France. Jean-Marc and Virginie were superb hosts. They prepared an amazing dinner for us, which I HIGHLY recommend, and were warm and generous hosts. I enthusiastically recommend a stay at Villa Beylie. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at La Villa Beylie for a romantic escapade in February 2012. All was great, the way to find the Villa with a GPS is easy, the very warm welcome of Virginie and Jean-Marc, and the beauty of the landscape. We stayed in the Verone Suite, it was magical to wake up in the silence... I still can smell the nice bread and fresh croissant from the great Breakfast! And i strongly advise the dinner cooked by Virginie! It is fantastic! Overall, we are very satisfied and will strngly recommand this place, for a romantic trip or a family visit! We will certainly come back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

On arrival at Villa Beylie Jean-Marc greeted us with charm and enthusiasm. It was immediately apparent that our 3 nights at Villa Beylie were going to be an exceptional experience.
Jean-Marc and Virginie are very proud of the property which they have restored themselves from scratch and kindly offered us a tour of the Villa on arrival. And proud they should be as the entire villa is very tastefully decorated and our room, Newport, was exceptional, providing a home away from home. The bedroom and bathroom are located upstairs with a substantial living area downstairs and a door leading to our own outdoor seating area where Jean-Marc provided us with a bottle of the local Sauvignon to enjoy in the sun upon arrival.

Our hosts were only too happy to help with recommendations of things to do and restaurants to eat at in the area and further afield. They had a 100% success rate with every recommendation being perfect and exactly what we enjoy. The recommendations were also from 'local's' which meant that they suggested places that weren't just tourist traps. The highlight being the a Phillip Stark designed restaurant, which offered the most beautiful view in the world, and fresh oysters to die for!

We dined one night at Villa Beylie and Virginie produced an amazing meal which we thoroughly enjoyed, and Jean-Marc then tempted us to taste some of his local aperitifs after dinner.

Although we speak very little French the hosts were always enthusiastic to try to speak some English and we had many enjoyable conversations throughout our stay.

We can HIGHLY recommend staying at Villa Beylie if you are going to be making the trip to the Bordeaux region.

We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TastyTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Villa Beylie is a charming country house, with unique decor, wonderfully kept garden and two very friendly owners who will give you a lot of useful tips for visiting the area.
Our room (Verone) was more an apartment, with all comforts of a 5* Hotel. The dinner we enjoyed in the garden was one we will remember: deliciously prepared food, excellent wines and quiet, picturesque surrounding. Breakfast is also entirely home made – in the wonderful kitchen with a view- and absolutely phantastic.
We really loved this place and could feel all the passion with which the owners run it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookeItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merignas
1.9 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chateau de Courtebotte
Chateau de Courtebotte
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion B...
#1 of 3 in Naujan-et-Postiac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau Villotte
Chateau Villotte
#2 of 5 in Rauzan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Ilot-Vignes
L'Ilot-Vignes
#4 of 5 in Rauzan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison D'hotes Bordeaux Saint Emilion : Villa Beylie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison D'hotes Bordeaux Saint Emilion : Villa Beylie

Property: Maison D'hotes Bordeaux Saint Emilion : Villa Beylie
Address: Beylie, 33350 Merignas, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Merignas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Merignas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing