We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner by candlelight at a beautiful chateau in the middle of a vineyard!”

L'Atelier de Candale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Dinner by candlelight at a beautiful chateau in the middle of a vineyard!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We walked from La Petite Madeleine to the next chateau across and down the road. Around to the back was a beautiful patio with tables and chairs scattered about. We were in for a real treat!

The chateau is just gorgeous! The food was delicious, and the ambience was amazing. The menu is not huge, but it is varied and there is something for everyone.

Our hosts at La Petite Madeleine had given us flashlights on our way out the door, with a wink and saying, "there aren't any streetlights out here." We definitely needed the light, but the walk home through the vineyards was one I won't forget. Just beautiful!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank migolfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    93
    26
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, the old one.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the first of two restaurants proposed and booked by Clos de la Barbanne (please see my review).

This is a really difficult review. The setting is great, the staff were really good, the estate wine was good (but, I am sorry to say, that we had better from the region – sorry), but the reason I have not given it five stars, is that the food, whilst very good, was not quite as good as I suspect the chef really wanted it to be and does not quite rate an "excellent".

The food looked stunning. Great care had been taken with presentation and that worked really well. Disappointingly and a little surprisingly, the taste did not quite match that high level of achievement.

I am being very critical here. The mix of ingredients was clever and a very good attempt had been made, but it did not quite come off. I am also comparing this restaurant with others that I have visited, to which I have given five stars. Candale, for all its strengths, did not quite reach that level. See my other review in the region for a restaurant that did!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shower_Says_It_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A visit worth your while outside of Saint Emilion”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After we arrived at "Candale" we had Champagne Cocktails outside on their patio. The view from there is simply stunning because you are surrounded by vineyards and lush vines.
I couldn't resist having the Fois Gras Madelaine which was simply put superb. The "yellow eggs" with black truffles were magnificent as was the shrimp appetizer.
As for Entrees we chose Fish and very tender Lamb ravioli. A Choc.Mousse style dessert and a selection of fine cheeses with wilted spinach to finish our dinner.
They also have a fantastic wine list - during dinner we had a 2004 Chateau de Fonplegade Grand Cru Classe St.Emilion...perfect match, rich and succulent.
Surprisingly this is not a very expensive restaurant considering the superb quality of food and service (English was spoken). Avoid the hustle of the Saint Emilion Restaurants and instead enjoy a memorable dinner at L'Atelier Candale.
While having dinner we enjoyed watching the young Chef grilling outside over vine cuttings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mannks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Smaller Plates with Prices to Match”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The view was picture perfect, the staff more than attentive but the best part was we were able to enjoy smaller plates so we could try more items. There were four of us. The fois gras in the madelines were a bit pricey but well worth it. The ravioli with lamb was so tender. We had aperitifs on the patio and came in for dinner as the sun set. The Candale 2009 red was perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of vineyards”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Only 5 minutes drive from St Emilion, this is truly a picturesque and relaxing place to have a leisurely lunch on a terrace. Lunch menu at 17.50 euros is very good value, good quality products and well executed. There is also a choice of à la carte dishes, on top of my head 9 euros for a starter and 14 for a main course. Choice is quite limited which tends to be a sign of quality. We each had a glass of wine, menu du jour and a coffee and paid 44 euros. Portions are not very generous but I still think this is great value for money. The terrace is very peaceful with beautiful flower beds overlooking the vineyard. I had tried to book a table on a Saturday night and it was fully booked so I would advise that you book to avoid disappointment, especially when the weather is nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilleKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Candale also viewed

 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to L'Atelier de Candale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing