We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strete Barton House
Ranked #1 of 3 Strete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a place”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

a bit late with review, we stayed last Easter for a long weekend and found the hosts and over all experience 5* . The attention to detail with the decor and communication was superb. The breakfast was the best i have ever had in a B&B and nothing was too much trouble. What ever was needed food reservation etc it was done. Great couple of guys you wont regret this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartharmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
283
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Strete Barton for the New Year and it was better than a five star hotel. We went for walks and the views from the rooms were excellent. The house is spotless and Stuart and Kevin are the nicest people ever. We stayed in Mewstone and it was fantastic. It's like staying in your favourite place and you never want to leave. Stuart and Kevin should be proud of themselves for such an excellent house. I love Strete Barton and would recommend it to anyone because they would love it as well.

Room Tip: Any room is good In Strete Barton but I would recommend Monk's View because it is so comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked a 2 nights stay for myself, my husband and parents in October after reading all the great reviews. We stayed in the Monk's view and the Bay view rooms. A friendly welcome by Stuart on our arrival with coffee and cake in the lounge. The house is gorgeously decorated and styled throughout giving a wonderful feeling of calm and relaxation to the place. My husband and I stayed in the Bay view room. Lovely distant sea views. Comfortable bed and pillows made for a great nights sleep. The bathrooms, although adequate, were very small in both rooms so felt a bit of a let down compared with the rest of the house. The breakfast room was like the rest of the house styled beautifully. The cooked breakfast was unfortunately very disappointing. Everything was quite poorly cooked with the tiniest portion of tomatoes and mushrooms. Toast is not brought to the table, you have to stand and toast your own bread, which for us should be part of the breakfast service that you are paying for. All in all a nice stay but the breakfast needs desperately to be brought up to the level of standard of the rest of the house and that you are paying for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked this place for a couple of nights on the basis of the very favourable reviews. The guest house is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean but the breakfast did not live up to expectations. The English breakfast tasted like it had been pre-cooked and kept warm. Considering there were only 6 tables in the dining room and the owner did ask what time we wanted breakfast it didn't seem necessary to cook in advance.
The only oither issue we had was doors slamming during the night. As one of the rooms was not en-suite this accounted for the noise during the night as the guests got up to use the facilities. However, the next place we stayed in had similar heavy fire doors on the rooms but there was some sort of mechanism that ensured that the doors didn't slam shut, so something that could be avoided with a bit of investment. Overall an enjoyable stay, really liked the village and the restaurant next door.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

A superbly decorated property where every detail has been included to make your stay a positive experience. Beautifully decorated with quality and style in mind this property is outstanding in every respect. I stayed for two nights recently with my wife and felt more like a friend visiting than simply a guest. From the moment you walk in the door Stuart makes you feel more than welcome. We were welcomed with lovely plunger coffee and cake. The bedrooms are beautiful and decorated in a variety of styles. You are made to feel at home in the living room if you wish to use it. Imagine the best breakfasts you've had in years with much of the produce sourced from local farms. The breakfast room is beautiful and enjoying superb breakfasts there was a joy. Stuart also has a broad knowledge of the local area and is more than helpful in advising you of wonderful local restaurants and things to see. Literally thirty metres from the front gate is an outstanding restaurant The Laughing Monk where we had a fantastic, reasonably priced meal with an extensive menu. We visited the fascinating Greenway, Agatha Christie's house, went on a paddle steam trip and visited Coleton Fishacre, the number one thing to see according to Tripadvisor. Strete Barton House is without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenzencowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Compton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A warm welcome ,beautiful accommodation of a very high standard, better than some 5 star hotels.Breakfast room over looking gardens and sea providing a delightful setting for a delicious start to the day .Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 247sjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
3.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
3.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
8.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 53 in Dartmouth
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strete Barton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strete Barton House

Property: Strete Barton House
Address: Strete Barton House Totnes Road | nr Dartmouth, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Strete Barton House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strete Barton House - South Hams Luxury Coastal 5 Star Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Strete Barton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strete Barton House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing