We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than some 5 star hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strete Barton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Strete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early September. As we had our Westie,Ted, with us we selected the Cottage suite which with its own front door was perfect for us. The owners, Stuart and Kevin, have clearly put a huge amount of work and investment into the property, as well as a great deal of thought and clever design. The whole place is immaculate. We've stayed in some 5 star hotels that don't match the quality, comfort and style of Strete Barton House.
Stuart and Kevin are the perfect hosts - providing friendly and helpful service in a professional and polished manner.
We plan to return next Spring. Next time however, we will remember to follow the clear directions helpfully provided with our booking confirmation, instead of relying on our Sat Nav!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 366 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having stayed here a couple of years ago and had a wonderful stay over three nights we were looking forward to staying here again (for two nights). From start to finish our stay could not have been better - Stuart (mine host) met us and remembered us from our previous stay - we were shown to our room and asked if we wanted tea/coffee and cake sat outside - yes please!! The room was excellent - Nuns Retreat - with a huge shower/bathroom. We went outside for our tea and cake - home made - and sat and enjoyed the well kept garden and sea views. The breakfasts were superb - nicely cooked and presented. The whole place very stylish and is just spotless - a lot of time and effort has been put in to ensure that the decor and rooms throughout are of the highest order. It is a most relaxing place and I would highly recommend this wonderful place - we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the initial booking, to my arrival and throughout my 3 night stay, I was made to feel most welcome and at ease. Strete Barton House is a very special place with a lovely ambience, beautiful decor and a great breakfast. My large room had a gorgeous garden and sea view, a huge comfy bed and vast array of teas and beverages, including bottles of mineral water. The level of detail to ensure guests are well looked after is fantastic.
The breakfast is a joy - especially the fresh fruit salad and newspapers. Stuart gives helpful advice on the local area and I had a fantastic day at Beesands after his tips.

Room Tip: There are about 5 rooms and the tariff/choices are clearly described on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merseyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights .
This is a nice stylish hotel ,the rooms ,decor ,views are outstanding particularly from their large garden.
The breakfast is cooked to perfection and varied .
When you arrive you are made to feel at home and shown around this lovely period house .
It was fully booked when I was there and I can understand why, so if yyour in the Dartmouth area per - book here ,you will not be dissappointed. This is a gem.

Room Tip: They all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful few days in south Devon. We found Strete Barton online by chance and are very happy to have done so. The house and room were excellent, and the breakfast wonderful. The owners clearly know how to cater well for the guests.

Having never visited the area before, we found Strete to be a lovely village with a excellent restaurant (the Laughing Monk) and a really good old fashioned local pub (try a pint of Otter if you visit). Great walks as well along the coastal path to the beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side have beautiful views out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Everything about our stay here was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The room was great and so was the sea view from the window and the garden. The location was excellent. It is right by the SW Coast path which is great if you are into walking. There is a lovely restaurant next door called the Laughing Monk so there is need to drive anywhere for your meal. Nothing more to say really apart from treat yourself and book a stay here. I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms make your stay even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just came back from a weekend in Devon and would definitely stay again in Strete Barton should we return to the Dartmouth area. The property is very well situated, the garden and views are gorgeous and the rooms are very comfortable and lovingly furnished (worth paying a bit extra for the sea view rooms at the front of the house which were brighter). Beds were on the soft side but that's personal preference - mattresses / linens etc all very good quality. Little touches like rotating the magazines between rooms on a daily basis were typical, and Stuart and Kevin are great hosts. Breakfast is very good with local jams and the full English fare on offer, and the excellent Laughing Monk is just over the road. A fabulous boutique hotel experience in a B&B package

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for the sea view rooms at the front of the house which were brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
3.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
3.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
319 reviews
4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
194 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
3.4 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strete Barton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strete Barton House

Address: Strete Barton House Totnes Road | nr Dartmouth, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strete
Price Range: $134 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strete Barton House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strete Barton House - South Hams Luxury Coastal 5 Star Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Strete Barton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strete Barton House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing