We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice open welcoming house for a big family holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strete, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David K
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice open welcoming house for a big family holiday”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Stayed for a week in June 2018 - 7 adults, one baby and one toddler. the house was more than big enough. everything was smart, clean and designed for a big group. Lots of activities and helpful advice given. really good stay. views are spectacular and the one mobile child loved it. It sates it is not child friendly. the only reason i can think of is that it uses a lot of white/pale furnishings....cant really fault the place

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_and_D...
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful house .”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a very happy anniversary week here and just loved the house . It is a home from home with everything thought of and a fabulous garden and view to match . Ideal for a family holiday . Hope to return soon .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Many thanks for your review of Landcombe Cottage, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbdown11
1 review
“Very Expensive for what it is.”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beware!!! Do not pay deposit unless 100% committed to booking as no refund will be given & you will be liable for payment of whole holiday. When we were told house was not big enough for our party (8 adults) they would not refund our £300 deposit to book another property, but wanted us to pay £500 extra for attic room. Owners are out to rip you off. Carpets stained & dirty basic picnic table in garden only. Busy main road feet away from front of house, buses all day long. Although house well equipped. We were told no dogs at the property but in the information folder were details about dogs sharing the owners home & dog shampoo in the utility room, the owners stated 'they didn't know how it had got there' !!!! Says it all

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skd60
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont Book Through Helpful Holidays, Tried to charge EXTRA £500 for attic bedroom when not needed”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely location, house well equipped for large party, bedrooms large enough for travel cots (although we were told were not) Carpets badly stained, Bedding & towels lovely. Cleaner not very thorough, on moving sofa floor was full of food & left over party bits. Helpful Holidays would not transfer our deposit to another one of their properties when we were told owner would not accept 2 more family members (making 8) in 5 bed house, but would charge £500 to use attic room, which would not have been needed. House easily accommodates 10 adults without use of attic room. DO NOT BOOK WITH HELPFUL HOLIDAYS unless you are 100% committed before paying deposit, as they will not transfer or refund as other holiday companies do, infact they will hold you responsible for full payment of holiday even though they say they cannot cater for your party.
UNHELPFUL HOLIDAYS TOTALLY SPOILT WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN A CAREFREE
FAMILY HOLIDAY TO CELEBRATE A MILESTONE BIRTHDAY.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: stained carpets & floor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent holiday. I am sorry to hear that this was such a tumultuous experience for you and your family. We believe that we did all that we could for you to try and facilitate a move for you. Were we the owner of this and all of our other properties, then of course we could perhaps have released you from the contract.

I can see from the notes that Mrs Jephson really did take your request for extra guests seriously too, but she felt strongly that the cottage could not accommodate more than the advertised number of people unless another bedroom were opened up, and was saddened when you consequently cancelled your booking. She also felt it would be unfair to ask her caretakers to deal with the aftermath of such a large group within the limited changeover period, as well as the added wear and tear on her house.

You are absolutely correct that once you have made your booking you are liable for the cost of the booking, unless the owner consents to release you from the contract or you meet one of the conditions in our terms of business, including illness or bereavement. We will, however, always do our utmost to re-let the dates for you if you prefer, and if we are successful then we will issue a refund.

We really are very sorry to hear that your holiday was not a happy one, and we understand why you have decided not to book any further holidays with us. Accordingly we have removed your name from our mailing list so that any future communications will not be distressing to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing