We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mice in the attic, room 102 and 120”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
“Mice in the attic, room 102 and 120”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We came in the evening to our bungalow no. 102, and we could hear mouse all over the attic - It was so disgusting. We complained 3 times at the reception, and a helpful worker, crawled up to the attic and sprayed,
Next morning, they were still in the attic. After a lot of troubles with the staff from the reception, we got a new bungalow. There still was lot of mice, and we really just wanted to stay at another hotel, but we already paid before we went on our trip.

The breakfast was really boring. For example, for the bread there was a jam and butter, (not much of it) cheese should we buy as ekstra!!

The pool was great and clean, but the beach was not clean. Lots of seaweed.

The staff was really nice, besides the staff in the reception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    73
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
31
71
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durban
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights, rooms were large and comfortable, not complaints. bath needed desperate attention and was the only dissappointment which could have been fixed. the staff were great. Breakfast was adequate but repetitive.

Beach dirty as well as the sea lots of litter around the hotels in the area should do a joint clean up every morning

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattij1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Pool and grounds will impress you--restaurant is great for breakfast -- rooms need updating, but are better than neighboring hotels I have stayed at for much higher prices--restaurant and grounds staff is nice, front desk is learning--beach at tanjong benoa is going downhill, weeds and pollution are not being kind to beach goers... sad beach. Area is key-great location to beach massage, shopping, and Coco's restaurant. Kids and families will love the quiet, relaxing grounds.

Only problem we encountered was a pushy driver, we asked the front desk for help and they said "we do not want any trouble with the locals" and they did nothing. They were really not helpful. If you are spending money, then they can help. The front desk is poor in comparison to the rest of the hotels high points.

Room Tip: look before you pay to make sure you like the room-as always :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Small but well-laid out hotel which is good for relaxing around the pool or on the beach with a book. Everything is very clean from the beach to the gardens and the rooms. Recommended for adults that want to chill out and enjoy the peace, not for families or people looking for a lively atmosphere. Plenty of restaurants close by and the hotel food is also very good. Reception staff are very friendly and happy to help with any trips although price-wise I think you can do better by talking to the tours guys along the road. If you enjoy boat trips, I would highly recommend the sailing trip to Lembongan island

On the downside the bathrooms could do with an upgrade and seem to have deteriorated in the last 6 months. Really need some regrouting, general decoration, remove the chipped soap dish etc to freshen them up. Selection of toiletries seems to have reduced too. Breakfast is a la carte rather than buffet and limited choice is ok for a couple of days but certainly not outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orangegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here from 26/12 til 29/12. The rooms are big, but look very dated. The cleaner they used on the floor was very pungent, and we had to leave the room to take a breather from the smell. Our biggest complaint is that we booked a "free" shuttle with the front desk to go to jimbaran bay, and were told we could go anywhere there to eat. When we got there however, we were told we had to eat at the matahari restaurant there, otherwise we would have to pay 50,000 rupiah (about $5), to pay for the shuttle. We tried to tell the staff there that we were told this was not the case by the hotel, but they were a bit aggressive about it, and we ended up paying in the end and went to another place to eat. We felt it was a bit of shifty to get people to eat at their affiliated restaurant without didclosing it, and would have just appreciated if they were upfront about it from the beginning.

Other than that , the staff were lovely, and the restaurant next door is a must.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Razdaz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We chose this place since we wanted a place to rest after a long flight from Europe. The room was clean and very spacious. I did find the service a little too keen to sell in trips etc. but on the whole it was good. The beach is not great but good for sunbathing and they have a pool. The area is quite boring, just hotels similar to each other on the stretch along the beach but for two nights it was good. However if I were to spend longer time in Bali I would not choose to stay in this area. If you do stay here make sure to make reservations at Bumbu Bali, the restaurant next door, in advance. The food is amazing and it's a very popular spot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UlrikaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Small hotel with lovely garden right on the beach, in need of investment, our room was large but dark and smelled of mold, we had go to get some pine disinfectant to improve the odour. Bath room was nothing short of discussing. Moved out after one night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryennil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanjung Benoa hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tijili Benoa
Tijili Benoa
#18 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
#8 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Tanjung Benoa Beach Resort Bali
0.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
0.1 mi away
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
#5 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows

Property: Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows
Address: Jl. Pratama, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#12 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach hotel in Bali is 25 minutes away from Ngurah Rai International Airport. Located on southern part of Bali, Tanjung Benoa - Nusa Dua resort area, Matahari Terbit Nusa Dua Beach Resort offers stunning view of Indian Ocean. Its private beach will guide you to feel wonderful experiences during your leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing