We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Small but well-laid out hotel which is good for relaxing around the pool or on the beach with a book. Everything is very clean from the beach to the gardens and the rooms. Recommended for adults that want to chill out and enjoy the peace, not for families or people looking for a lively atmosphere. Plenty of restaurants close by and the hotel food is also very good. Reception staff are very friendly and happy to help with any trips although price-wise I think you can do better by talking to the tours guys along the road. If you enjoy boat trips, I would highly recommend the sailing trip to Lembongan island

On the downside the bathrooms could do with an upgrade and seem to have deteriorated in the last 6 months. Really need some regrouting, general decoration, remove the chipped soap dish etc to freshen them up. Selection of toiletries seems to have reduced too. Breakfast is a la carte rather than buffet and limited choice is ok for a couple of days but certainly not outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orangegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    56
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
48
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here from 26/12 til 29/12. The rooms are big, but look very dated. The cleaner they used on the floor was very pungent, and we had to leave the room to take a breather from the smell. Our biggest complaint is that we booked a "free" shuttle with the front desk to go to jimbaran bay, and were told we could go anywhere there to eat. When we got there however, we were told we had to eat at the matahari restaurant there, otherwise we would have to pay 50,000 rupiah (about $5), to pay for the shuttle. We tried to tell the staff there that we were told this was not the case by the hotel, but they were a bit aggressive about it, and we ended up paying in the end and went to another place to eat. We felt it was a bit of shifty to get people to eat at their affiliated restaurant without didclosing it, and would have just appreciated if they were upfront about it from the beginning.

Other than that , the staff were lovely, and the restaurant next door is a must.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Razdaz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We chose this place since we wanted a place to rest after a long flight from Europe. The room was clean and very spacious. I did find the service a little too keen to sell in trips etc. but on the whole it was good. The beach is not great but good for sunbathing and they have a pool. The area is quite boring, just hotels similar to each other on the stretch along the beach but for two nights it was good. However if I were to spend longer time in Bali I would not choose to stay in this area. If you do stay here make sure to make reservations at Bumbu Bali, the restaurant next door, in advance. The food is amazing and it's a very popular spot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UlrikaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Small hotel with lovely garden right on the beach, in need of investment, our room was large but dark and smelled of mold, we had go to get some pine disinfectant to improve the odour. Bath room was nothing short of discussing. Moved out after one night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryennil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I loved the hotel - we had a room just a step from the sea. Beautiful garden in front and flowers all over. However don't expect much from the beach. There is a pavement between the hotel and the shore and a small lane of sand. Nothing exotic. I woke up early in the morning to see the sunrise which was really worth. You can also see Lombok Island if the weather is nice and the Silhuette of Mount Agung in the distance.
The rooms are very spacious but don't expect luxury. Very simple rooms - sometimes the airconditioning can be a bit noisy.
The breakfast was quite poor - toast, eggs, some juice... - it was NOT a buffet style.
There are plenty of shops, restaurant, bars on the street.
The price was very good and the location perfect. Don't stay there if you want to travel to the north of the island as it can take up to 3 hours drive to Ubud.
I definitely reccommend it for the price and location. The neighbouring hotels are 5 Stars ones.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellervkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

this small hotel consists of 10 double rooms and 10 twin rooms with one large family suite.The daily breakfast served at the restaurant by the sea consisted of either an indonesian breakfast or american (eggs any style, fruit, coffee/tea, toast, criossant and sweet bread) plus extras at a small cost. The restaurant food was excellent at very reasonable prices.Tha manager Agung is very accomodating and speaks well.The only downfall is you don`t have tea/ coffe making fac. in room or small bottles of s/poo, etc. But I never need these items.

Room Tip: all rooms are a good size bungalow on ground level with a verandah and small table, 2 chairs and a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joy29Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I recently stayed at the Mata Hari Terbit hotel in Beboa, Bali. I stayed here after having spent two weeks in Bali, the reason for this, being closer to the airport for an early departure. I stayed here for two days. I stayed there October 29 to October 31, 2011.

Here are the positive aspects –

Beautifully landscaped oceanfront location.
Conveniently located next to many shops and restaurants.
Well furnished, clean and large room.
Good location of where the pool and restaurant.
Wall safe, refrigerator, and good air conditioner.
Of all the staff at the hotel the housekeeping staff was by far the most excellent.
Again five star, for the landscaping and also for the staff cleaning the room. excellent . The combination of the landscaping, the architecture, and the layout of the property is very attractive.
Again beautiful landscaping, please give the landscapers props, they do excellent work.

Okay and now for the negatives –

Extremely tiny television, and hardly any channels whatsoever.
Horrible water pressure, the shower was almost unusable.
Front desk staff not very charming, in fact very Pushy. Constantly trying to sell me activities or sell me transportation, and after little investigation their prices were nearly double if not half as much more than what I could find myself just outside on the street.
Expensive and very un-powerful Wi-Fi.
Very disappointing food and very overpriced for the area.
Unattractive and nearly unusable beach.
This spa at the property is approximately 3 or four times the price of similar spas within walking distance just outside of the hotel.

Overall review –

Overall fair value for the area. Many middle and older age Australian couples staying there with the intent to cook for asking. The location is a good central base to see many parts of Bali. Many good and reasonably priced shopping and also restaurants right within the immediate walking area. I give the hotel three stars, I really can't complain given the price that I paid which was approximately US$56 per night . I would stay here again, but only for the purpose for staying the night and then catching the plane the next morning. .

Room Tip: eat outside the hotel. enjoy spa outside hotel. book activities and transportation outside hotel. do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appleegg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanjung Benoa hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Bali Benoa
Ibis Styles Bali Benoa
#12 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
0.1 mi away
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tanjung Benoa Beach Resort - Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows

Property: Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows
Address: Jl. Pratama, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#13 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach hotel in Bali is 25 minutes away from Ngurah Rai International Airport. Located on southern part of Bali, Tanjung Benoa - Nusa Dua resort area, Matahari Terbit Nusa Dua Beach Resort offers stunning view of Indian Ocean. Its private beach will guide you to feel wonderful experiences during your leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Matahari Terbit Bali Deluxe Bungalows Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing