We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Balinese Experience”
Review of Rumah Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumah Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Serene Balinese Experience”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Confessions up front, first time in Bali, not into the Kuta Lifestyle.

We chose this B & B for our first experience of Bali, as its private setting and promised village atmosphere appealed to us and it did deliver. Unfortunately we arrived late due to delays through Bali airport immigration and there was no staff available to assist with luggage other than the General Manager himself and transporting the luggage to our "Bale" or room was slightly manual and some distance from the reception. We booked a poolside Bale and it was extremely well presented, quite large with an open air shower area. Quiet, relaxing un-overlooked, and everything spotless.

Throughout our visit the management and staff were always very helpful and happy to assist.

Breakfasts were served in the the open air pavilions or on your porch, we chose the pavilion and the food was delicious, individually prepared without a buffet in sight.

Location wise it is very close to all local restaurants

Room Tip: The restaurant is off site and being B and B there is no local bar, however this place has one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    103
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
178
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Prior to our stay at Rumah Bali I bought six big bottles of water and other stock because I thought the property was isolated and away from shops. Well to my surprise at the entrance we passed a small deli and saw various restaurants along the street. Rumah Bali is super clean and provides everything from toiletries to coffee making and lots of water. So we lugged the heavy water bottles to our next hotel. Rumah Bali is quiet and traditionally lovely. Breakfast is superb and is best had on the verandah.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor and all seem equally well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaroslavl, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

been in this hotel for 4 night and all i can say it wow. this hotel is very clean.everything was perfect.and romantic.our room was very beautiful and without neighbours as others....they bring you breakfast on terrace and this breakfast is realy big and fill you for a long time.. the pool was so long and clean just perfect. in our stay there was just 2 couples more. so its was tottaly quiet and peacefull.total relax.they clean room very good. i think its was cleanest hotel in my life. they desinfect everything as well. there was welcome drink fruits and flowers as well. the stuff is very nice and they let us stay for free extra 2 hours in the day of our departure.the beach was just 5-10min walk away from hotel and its was very nice clean beach with warm water.u can use sunbeds for free if buy drink in the bar there.this hotel was just what we needed so i would back there with pleasure again. as well its have kithen if you wanna cook. 24 hours water for drinking,and frige with drinks.recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff here are amazing, really nice and they go out there way to assist. Stayed in lovely little villa near the pool, not fancy but nice enough and clean. Breakfast was great, lots of choices! On the last evening offered complimentary dinner at their restaurant Bumbu Bali 2 nearby, delightful food and service. Overall would recommend this place, ideal for relaxing break away from it all. Only prob was the mozzies, ask to get room sprayed and they are more than happy to assist!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tartanbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a 2.5-3 star hotel (depending on what website you look at), but delivered personal service and customer care as if they were an upscale five-star resort. Tanjung Benoa is not a super nice area in general, but this hotel became my little relaxing oasis. I checked in alone, as my husband would join me a couple of days later, a total of five days in Rumah Bali. I was greeted by friendly smiles and a relaxed atmosphere, and check-in went quick. The hotel grounds are quite large, and kind of secluded from the noisy road outside (but you will hear roosters, dogs, children etc from outside the garden walls). I got a small villa just by the pool. Bathroom and kitchen are outside, and the hotel room is large, with a high ceiling. Fridge is stocked with beverages, at lower prices than any other hotels we stayed at during our 2.5 week trip.
Everything is nice and clean, and it always smelled really fresh after the cleaning crew had been there.
When I checked in I had been traveling for 30 hrs and fell asleep very early that evening. I woke up from the deep sound of a gong, and then there were other bells and chimes as well, but I was too tired to find out where it came from or what it was. I assume some ritual or perhaps a dance.
The manager assisted us with booking taxis, and also spent a lot of time helping us book flights to Lombok. So helpful!!
The breakfast is outstanding, cooked with care, and always served with a smile. They have Balinese, American, and Healthy options. I would recommend everyone to go for the Balinese. Spicy Nasi Goreng, served with a fried egg, and a myriad of tasty side dishes.
The Bumbu Bali restaurant had Babi Guling on Thursdays and Saturdays, and this was by far our best food memory from the trip. This is a high-class kitchen and they also arrange cooking classes. The Babi Guling came in on a large plate, thick pieces of juicy pork with crispy skin, and again, a bunch of delicious side dishes. We went back for dinner at Bumbu Bali another night, and they didn't disappoint us this time either.
During our trip, we also stayed at two five-star resorts, and one four-star, but Rumah Bali/Bumbu Bali was where we got the best food, and at prices MUCH lower than at any of the other hotels. I think the Babi Guling dinner was RP 130.000/person. We paid four times as much for Christmas and New Year's dinners at the fancier resorts, and got food that was downright bad and not at all prepared with the same care.

One of the best hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliSwede-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our second visit in six months. Our last visit, in July, was only five days, which was the only time we could spend but it just wasn't long enough for a true relax and recharge. This visit has been for 14 days and it has just been perfect. The weather, for some, may have been too wet but it allowed us slow time. We have been able to read, and I have enjoyed runs along the beach most mornings. The exercise is important for me because the breakfasts have been superb, as they consistently have been on every other visit. The breakfast staff are considerate and attentive and we prefer to have our breakfast in the communal area rather than our verandah. Conversing with the staff makes our break away from our working lives real and they are treasures. The gardens, the pool, the almost daily massage in the pool cabana, the sound of water gently cascading into the pool from the turtle statues, the birds tweeting ..... Paradise must be close to the serenity Rumah Bali offers. For those seeking more than slow time there is plenty happening in other parts of Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua and adjacent areas but you seek that out. Rumah Bali is not quite the Secret Garden but it is truly special for those that recognise and appreciate its qualities. Long may we continue to return and enjoy this oasis.

Room Tip: :) we have never had a dud but nor do we wish to miss out on our preferred room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReadRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I spend quite a bit of time researching lodging before committing, so believe me when I say this is the spot for you if: 1) you're a couple or alone 2) need privacy 3) don't like crowded hotels 4) like respectful staff 4) like proximity to things, but still want to be removed 5) appreciate places that are designed and laid out well.

All the bungalows were occupied during our stay, but it still felt empty on the three days we were there. One could really decompress well here with a good book and some cocktails.

Here's some highlights: 1) free, very generous and delicious daily breakfast. 2) clean well stocked rooms with free wifi, fridge, safe, tv with plenty of channels, stereo, hair dryer, water kettle, etc. 3) nice chill pool 4) staff everywhere cleaning and maintaining 5) a short walk across the street to the beach.

Bugs are going to be everywhere. Bring some bug spray. They do put out the mosquito coils in the bathrooms.

Enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
1.0 mi away
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
#8 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
602 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
0.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Bali Benoa
#6 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Bali

Property: Rumah Bali
Address: Jl. Pratama | opposite Peninsula Beach Resort, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Located in Tanjung Benoa on the Southern tip of Bali, our very own little village is just a short 12 km drive from Bali's international airport and 150 meters away from some of Bali's best beaches. A short 2km drive or a stroll along the beach will bring you to the resort town of Nusa Dua, which offers hectares of beautifully manicured gardens and an endless choice of world-class facilities, spas and wellness, lots of restaurants, great shopping and perhaps one of Bali's best surf breaks. Prefer staying in an expensive beachside resort and share your breakfast buffet with hundreds of other hotel residents, or in Rumah Bali, that gives you the satisfaction of staying in a modern Balinese style home just across the street for a fraction of the price? Well breakfast in your home away from home is something different. Served on your own balcony surrounded by tropical gardens you will be treated with a sumptuous breakfast that is fit for the kings. Balinese kings of course. We will serve you the finest early morning delicacies the island has on offer. Rumah Bali, Bed & Breakfast offers you a unique variety of Balinese experiences. It is our total commitment to provide our guests true and sincere Balinese hospitality in a hidden away private setting. Within beautiful landscaped Balinese gardens, the finest materials ranging from marble floors, teakwood furniture, to granite wash basins, our impeccable rooms offer something very special that one would normally expect only from a five star hotel. Best of all wouldn't it be great to have your own local source of information helping you to arrange your daily activities right from your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rumah Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Bali Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Rumah Bali Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing