We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

BMR Dive and Water Sports
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We booked a 4 hr trolling fishing session with BMR as it was significantly cheaper than other companies (but still not cheap $140 per person) but it was a false economy. The boat and tackle were shabby, one member of the crew was continually hawking and spitting and despite stating that we would be fishing off the coast of Uluwatu, we just kept going up and down the same area. Extremely disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Job129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    23
    11
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“APPAULING, DODGY, UNSAFE, DIRTY, TOURIST TRAP!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Our driver took us to this company after we said we wanted to go snorkeling. After a brief discussion with a representative who showed us a few pictures of ctivities and a price list we decided on snorkeling and a trip to turtle island. I was assured that we would have an hour snorkeling and 30 mins at turtle island.

We were given FILTHY old snorkeling equipment and rushed onto a barely functioning boat. The two mean on the boat did not speak a word of English or acknowledge our presence. They drove us approximately 300 meters out and gestured for us to get out of the boat. Once In The water with 10 or so other boats in touching distance I had to REQUEST to be thrown a life jacket - THAT DO NOT EVEN DO UP!!!!
I have asthma and had never been snorkeling and was quite scared.


After approximately 20 mins of bobbing in the water seeing only one tiny fish we were whistled at to return to the boat. We got back in and were driven to turtle island where we had to pay enterance fee of $1- I do not object to this fee however we had just been snorkeling and left our valuables with our driver so did not have any money. This place was appalling. It was a dirty animal park where the animals were being poked and handled by bus load of Chinese tourists.
I could not believe the mistreatment of these poor animals.

After this appalling experience we had to go and find our boat and were taken back to shore. Once again not a word was spoken to us.

It cost $100 aus for my partner and I and I regret every cent.

ABSOLUTELY APPAULING. They should be ashamed of their dodgy operation.


Helpful?
7 Thank Jokickass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ocean Walker”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wonderful outing for an underwater experience. Went mainly to introduce our 12-year-old to pseudo diving (we both dive). Fantastic staff and service, followed up by a very good local lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Youv'e got to try it!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We four 60+ year olds decided to give the Ocean Walking a go even though we were sure that all the hype would not be matched by the reality. Would you be able to breathe that easily? Would there be squillions of fish just in front of us? Would our ears take all that pressure? We got a bit of a surprise when we were informed that because of our ages, the venture would be at our risk as insurance ran out at age 65, but we pressed on and had a fascinating time. Yes breathing was easy, amazingly coloured and shaped fish fish came from everwhere and there was no problem with our ears. We were down on the bottom for about 30minutes but did not move far in what could only be described as a brief shuffle seemingly to facilitate the cameraman rather than to entertain us. However the overall experience was worth the quite high price and there was no hard sell when it came to the inevitable "presentation" DVD.

Most of the "ocean walk" packages are 1/2 or full-day tours including such things as snorkeling, kayaking, banana boats and meals, things we really were not interested in, but BMR offered a short trip of just over an hour with ONLY the ocean walk. So even though the water may have been clearer out on the islands, this time frame suited us perfectly.

Have a go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_copland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watersports Fun”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went here for para sailing and jetsking, it was absolutely exciting going up in the sky together with my girlfriend, you can see a lot of the island from up there, i would highly recommend going here if you have the chance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 992AdamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BMR Dive and Water Sports also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to BMR Dive and Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing