We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best meal on holiday”

Meads Beach Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Meads Beach Bar & Grill features the Freshest Seafood & Finest Steaks in Bali! Seafood Cooked-to-order, Tender Juicy Prime Aussie Steaks, Loaded Gourmet Pizza, Meads Classic Burger & Meads Waygu Burger, Awesome Desserts, Seasonal Special Lobster Menu, Ice Cold Beer, Buckets of Beer and Wine By The Glass or Bottle ... Open Daily 8:00AM to 10:00PM Call + 62 361 771 540 for Reservations & Pickup
Perth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best meal on holiday”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

aussie type pub restaurant, TV's showing sport, a bit rowdy on first visit ( fri night expats night out ) had a great seafood meal on another night, best of the holiday, expensive but worth it. friendly staff, good atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank perthstevePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    303
    83
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The restaurant/café/eatery is alright enough and the waitresses are, as usual, friendly Balinese women who can't do enough for you. After that it goes rapidly down hill. The proprietors are baggy shorted, unkempt Pommy expats who still wear England soccer shirts (why do they have lions on them when there is not a lion within 4,000 Ks of London?) who still feel as though they are somehow doing us a favour by their existence.

The food is average. It's not awful but it's a long way short of the standard you'd expect for the price. We paid $70.00 Australian (where the food's great) for a few beers and a curry and fish and chips. The fish and chips had the minimum number of chips that the International Chip Advisory Board would allow per plate.

Look around. There must be better value to be found. As an example: they were charging $20.00 Australian for 6 - that's right 6 - oysters.

Try the street food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tezza612014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiespinks, General Manager at Meads Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi Tezza612014, thank you for dining at Meads in Bali & spending so much time to write a review.
We are disappointed you did not take the time to speak to the Management personally, about your obviously strong issues you had, whilst in our restaurant......So please find our response below.
You are correct, there are some good street food vendors around, we often eat from them ourselves......it appears our cuisine & pricing is not to your liking.
In respect to your descriptive appraisal of the proprietors, we are not offended......We actually found it amusing & hope you enjoy your next holiday & have some fun...... Life is too short & we like wearing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visited Meads sports bar on 2 occasions, whilst staying 2 doors down at the Ramada, we were made to feel very welcome on both occasions, with a warm handshake and welcome from one of the managers, lovely friendly staff, awesome food, and really cold Bintangs, with a stubby cooler, which we were given afterwards, cannot rave about this place enough, we went both times to watch the rugby league, but all sports were being shown on several tv's, thanks to all at Meads, we love it and will always come back, no matter where we are staying in Bali :) they also do pickups from your Hotel, not sure how far out??

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally unexpected surprise”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Tried Meads last night mainly to watch an Aussie Rules football and was totally surprised to find a high class restaurant, with excellent service, that just happen to have a few screens in strategic corners to watch the sports channel if a game is on. Compared to my large hotel in Nusa Dua, food at Meads was similarly priced but far better quality (a sensational fish curry), and drinks were half the hotel price. The courtesy transport from and back to my hotel, the $5 voucher, personal greeting from host Alfie and friendly and efficient staff topped off a quality experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and welcome”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a pleasant experience here. The food was nice but not cheap for Bali standards ($200 for 8 of us). But we were very well looked after and free transport was provided to and from our hotel which made the evening very easy to do. Worth a look

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pastorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meads Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Meads Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing