We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal at Meads!”

Meads Beach Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Meads Beach Bar & Grill features the Freshest Seafood & Finest Steaks in Bali! Seafood Cooked-to-order, Tender Juicy Prime Aussie Steaks, Loaded Gourmet Pizza, Meads Classic Burger & Meads Waygu Burger, Awesome Desserts, Seasonal Special Lobster Menu, Ice Cold Beer, Buckets of Beer and Wine By The Glass or Bottle ... Open Daily 8:00AM to 10:00PM Call + 62 361 771 540 for Reservations & Pickup
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located at the northern end of Tanjung Benoa so not handy to our hotel, but we called their number for a reservation and to use the driver service which was prompt and the driver very friendly. We were greeted by name and staff shook our hands like long lost friends. The decor is beach cottage/seafood shack, with sand on the floor and white cane furniture. Very clean, and attention to details with the sand smoothed and levelled at the beginning of the evening (family alert, it was a great sandbox for a child of neighbouring diners and Meads provided the trucks, buckets and shovels for them to play with and keep them entertained!).
We started with a mojito and margarita. The mojita was not very cold, but they brought crushed ice in a glass when we asked. For our meal we had a beer, which was ice cold. Alfie said they pay attention to serving the beer very cold, and we thank them for that!
Our meal was excellent. We started with Lombok oysters and then had grilled mahi mahi and grilled snapper. Both fillets perfectly deboned, and the thick fillets cooked perfectly. We did not know about Warren Meads "Black Tom mash" but we do now. I had it with my mahi mahi and I did not leave a speck on the plate, it was so good. My husband had scalloped potatoes with his snapper and he thoroughly enjoyed them too. We shared dessert, apple strudel with ice cream. It was really good, not too sweet, the pastry was good and served warm so went well with the ice cream.
We were well looked after, Alfie checked in with us a couple of times, and two servers cleared the plates promptly and checked in if we wanted more drinks, how was the meal etc. Very well trained staff.
Unfortunately we were leaving the next day so we could not return to use the R50,000 gift certificate that they gave us. Too bad, we wished we had visited earlier because it did warrant a return visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jjinvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for dining at Meads in Bali & the very comprehensive review of your experience.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed not only the Fresh & simply cooked seafood but also the service given by the MIB team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,203 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

This restaurant should definitely be on your "Must Do" list when you visit Bali.
We stopped by for a snack when we were out walking in jl Pratama and as it was our last day in Bali sadly did not get a chance to go back for a dinner. The restaurant has lots of atmosphere and a great relaxed feel. It is also one of the few places that you can catch up on your sports events in this area.
We have been been to Meads in Perth and once again the meals are fantastic. Also great to enjoy your beer served in a nice pilsner glass in Bali.
Alfie made us feel very welcome and stopped by for a chat. Warren was not there at the time so missed saying hello to him. All the staff are very friendly and service excellent. This place is really worth a visit on your next visit to Bali. It will be on our list again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank needabreak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Great news to hear you enjoyed your lunch, especially the Beer at Below Zero.
We look forward to seeing you back at Meads in Bali on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As regular customers of Warren Mead's Perth restaurants, we were very keen to see what he was up to in Bali. We had a long lazy lunch there at the end of our recent holiday. If only we had gone earlier, we could have fitted more visits in!! Warren is the master of fresh seafood and he is still delivering the best. We enjoyed some fresh oysters from Lombok, the BBQ squid and the seafood trio (served with his famous mash and a fresh salad). All simply cooked dishes which allow you to enjoy the freshness of the seafood.

Thanks Warren and Alfie, we had a great day and next time we're in Bali, we will be back for more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Warren is very happy to hear that you were not disappointed & you enjoyed your long lazy lunch at Meads in Bali. Thank you for taking the time to travel over to see us & we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I came here to find a place where I can relax after dinner, and while I was there I kind of wished to have my dinner there. But I was looking for a traditional Balinese food at the moment, which Meads is not known for. Anyway, I can't remember the name of the dessert I had, it was fantastic. On the other hand, the drink was alright, it was Mead Delight. Service was very good, the staff were friendly and prompt. Your location however, is both good and bad. Bad first, it's just about at the very end of Jalan Pratama. Then good, because it's all the way down there, there should be less traffic in front of Meads (I came at night, so I wouldn't know). To me this is a good thing, especially at night. Already told everyone about this place, and will definitely return on my next visit in Bali.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antonius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Hi Antonious, the dessert you had was Meads Bread & Butter pudding, a favourite for many of our customers. We look forward to welcoming you for dinner on your next trip to Bali & thank you for your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were recommend this restaurant by relatives and visited last night to see what the fuss was about . . . The food was out of this world, giant succulent prawns starter and "surf and turf" for the main, honestly this was the best steak I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. My wife and I have visited many restaurants in Bali all of which sell great food but this was by far the best. On top of this the staff are amazing and friendly, we were even picked up and dropped off to our hotel. The manager even took time to sit with us and ask us about our experience there. If you go to Bali go to Meads! Lauren & Gary

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Hi Lauren & Gary, We really appreciate you rating Meads in Bali as the "Best in Bali".
We are very happy that you enjoyed your meals with us so much & to spend some of your Honeymoon at Meads. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meads Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Meads Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing