We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2007

I stayed at the Bali tropic for two weeks and had a fantastic relaxing time, weather great not a rain drop in site, food and service was good,Breakfast very good choice full, cooked to just fruit what ever you wanted, luch buffet style as was dinner, always plentful, and good choice. Al La Ctrae was a good choice as well, my room was very spacious, with double shower and seperate bath, alway keep cleanby my excerllant maid,
Bar service was also good,
Outside the hotel just turn right and you will find an excerllend seafood restaurant, the prawns and loster are fresh and stiil swimming until they go in the pot. Just ask for Zion.
The beach is to die for, and there was never a problem with loungers.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HappyHornet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 987 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2007

We booked the Bali Tropic Resort through our timeshare and stayed for 5 days. The resort is lovely. The rooms were large, with separate toilet, shower, bath, airconditioned (which was really important in Bali). As we were on time share, we had to pay for all drinks and food at the resort. Other travellers staying at the resort had paid for the all inclusive package, which included all drinks and meals. This was the only difference at the resort for us. The buffet breakfast was very good, with a wide variety of choices for breakfast. The pool at the resort is clean and was a godsend on the hot, humid Bali days. Our trip to Bali, Indonesia was an experience, and an eye opener. We enjoyed the Bali Tropic Resort and would recommend you take advantage of the Hot Stone Massage at the Spa, heaven !

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank white feather 1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

We stayed at the Bali Tropic in September 2006 for the 4th time and yes we have booked to go back next September 07. We have never experienced such luxury and welcome at any previous hotel. The staff are beyond expectations and cater to your every need - nothing is too much trouble. The management are truly wonderful.The accommodation in bungalows is superb and the pool and beach make it a true paradise. Cannot wait to go back and meet up with other regular returning guests.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SueVoisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

We stayed at the Bali Tropic for 10 days during October after spending 4 days in Kuala Lumpur. Having been on numerous long-haul holidays, I can honestly say that we could find no fault at all with this Hotel. The rooms are beautiful and are cleaned every day. Bed linen is spotless and the towels are white and fresh. The Balinese are such gentle people and we were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff. Every morning we were met with a greeting and a warm smile by everyone we saw, from gardeners tending to the wonderful plants and flowers in the grounds to cleaners and restaurant staff going about their duties. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and we only had to ask if there was something we needed. I had packed the wrong type of plug adaptor and within minutes of asking at reception if they could help, a member of staff was knocking at my door with the correct adaptor for my 3 pin plug.
The food was freshly prepared and the choice was good. At no time did we feel the need to eat elsewhere
For those that like to sit around and just chill out, the butterfly shaped pool is very safe and is kept extremely clean.The beach is swept every day and there are plenty of straw umbrellas to offer shade when you need it. If you're looking for something to do, try a trip to the Elephant Camp about a hours drive away. The camp is set in a wonderful lush valley which you can see while riding on the back of an elephant. Our elephant was called Dheli and she gently led us around the counrtyside for well over an hour, guided by her trainer Amin. The Land Trek trip is also a good way to see Bali as it really is. You travel in a Land Rover all over the island visiting rice paddy fields, local beauty spots, temples and a stone quarry where stones are worked by hand. There is health spa in the Hotel grounds which offers many professional treatments at reasonable prices. The 1 hour massage is very good value and an ideal way to introduce yourself to spa treatments if it's something you haven't experienced before.
Bali has suffered considerably over the last couple of years as the number of tourists visiting has dropped quite dramatically. All I can offer in this review is our opinion. The welcome we received was warm and genuine and the Balinese people made our holiday very special.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

Beautiful room!!! we had a delux bungalow. The pool is very nice but the beach was not very good. We want to Kuta one day but we don't like too much to swim in the sea and go to the beach. We prefere a lot stay around the pool with the pool bar. Not a lot of activities but we were in our honeymoon and we had a lot of excursions outside. The food is ok, there are buffet and card. Service excellent and manager very good.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank veroturmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for the last 7 days of a three week honeymoon in Bali. We were drawn to this hotel as after two weeks at various 4 and 5* hotels on room and breakfast basis, we thought a week of chilling and not having to worry about paying for meals and drinks it would be just what we needed.

What can I say? It is what it says on the box! An all inclusive hotel which certalinly was not 4* compared to the proper 4 and 5* hotels we stayed at. Given the standard ofthe bedrooms, this hotel has potential to be great, but this is not taken advantage of.

We stayed in a Royal Bungalow room which was of good standard and had a large bathroom and a great 4 poster bed. Unfortunately there was a problem with the drainage, causing a fould smell in the room. We reported this to reception a number of times and were eventually moved to a similar room downstairs which did not have the problem. That room was fine.

If you are the kind of person who travels half way around the world to stay at an average hotel, with average unimaginative food, with the kind of people who never leave the hotel and sit at the same place on the beach and restaurant every day, this is for you! It could be any all inclusive hotel, anywhere in the world, why travel half way around the world when you could probably get the same thing on the Costa del Sol for a fraction of the price without the travelling!

If you want to get a taste of Bali life do not stay at this hotel. The food was bland and unimaginative and often poor vegetarian choice. It was a cross between what all Europeans would expect but not very local.

Service - poor! So bad we only ate at the hotel three evenings of the seven we were there! It takes forever to get a waiters attention to get a drink and when it arrives it is invariably wrong. On one occasion I ordered red wine and was brought a Coke. When I pointed the mistake to the waiter he looked very annoyed and said "but don't you like Coke?" He couldn't understand when I said yes but it was not what I wanted with my meal! It took him a further 20 minutes for him to arrive with my drink, by which time I was most of the way through my meal and thoroughly sick and tired of the poor quality cabaret music being played. The music was terrible and there was no where to eat at normal mealtimes in peace!

We ate one evening at a restaurant a 5 minute taxi ride away called Bumbu Bali, billed in the guide book as one of the best restaurants in Bali. It lived up to expectations and was amazing. We a local taster menu, with the most food I have ever seen. For approximately £10 each it included 3 courses, with 7 starters, 8 mains and 4 desserts to taste. I would definately recommend it.

In all, the Bali Tropic was average. I am disappointed we stayed there after amazing experiences as The Pan Pacific in Singapore, then Bali Hyatt in Sanur and the Alila in Ubud. If I was going to Bali again I would not choose an all inclusive hotel. There is no point, eating out at top restaurants is so cheap and it does not encourage you to explore the island. If I was choosing all inclusive I would choose somewhere closer to home.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mdkate1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We visited Bali Tropic Resort and Spa for 2 weeks in September for our honeymoon and we have to say this is the best holiday either of us have had.
Bali Tropic Hotel was much more than we expected. The staff are so friendly and the bar staff remembered our first names for the duration of our stay. The manager of the hotel even came and saw us off on our last day and thanked us for staying at their hotel.
We stayed in a deluxe bungalow which was newly refurbished. We were a bit dismayed when we arrived and noticed we had twin beds, but as soon as we mentioned it the room was re- arranged and we ended up with the biggest double bed I have ever seen!! The rooms were clean and well air conditioned and where well stocked with toiletries and mineral water.
We stayed all inclusive and the choice of food is vast, although you do really need to like rice and noodles as they are avaliable for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you fancy a change there is a 24hours a la carte restuarant that serves pizza, burgers, toasted cheese sandwiches and a lovely spag bol !!
The grounds of the hotel are amazing. I have never seen so much greenery and beautiful flowers. There are always staff around washing down the paths, picking up leaves and generally keeping the place spotless.
The beach is nice, although the sand is yellow in colour and quite shelly. The sea is clear, but quite seaweedy.
To be honest, we spent most of our time around the lovely pool. It is not massive but is big enough for the amount of guests that can stay at the hotel. Most of the time the pool was relatively empty and we never had to wait to be served at the pool bar.
There is entertainment in the evenings which consists of a 4 piece band of local men that play your requests and a duo who play 2 nights a week.
Our overall verdict of the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa is 10/10. The manager is working hard to make improvements all the time and I must say, it is working.
We are hoping to go back and visit all at Bali Tropic in the next couple of years we loved it so much.
To give you an idea of how good it is, we met an English couple when we were there and it was their 18 visit to Bali Tropic - that says it all really !!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Vickycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
1.6 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,856 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International
1.0 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Tropic Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Tropic Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Pratama 34A, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#8 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range: $103 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Tropic Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bali Tropic Resort & Spa is both all-inclusive & regular hotel that epitomizes the authentic Balinese architecture and style fringed by powdery white-sand and crystalline seas. It combines nature, rejuvenating spa treatments, Gymnasium, Kids club and a host of recreational activities to give guests the ultimate tropical retreat. Accommodation detail: In 2,8 hectare of land we had 150 rooms which consist of: 34 Deluxe rooms - 46 square meters 96 Deluxe bungalows - 52 square meters 14 Royal rooms - 72 square meters 6 Suite rooms - 83 square meters Food & Beverage Facilities detail : 4 Restaurants & 5 Bars a. Cempaka restaurant & Bar, Balinese & Indonesian serving lunch & dinner b. Soka Restaurant & bar, 24 hrs coffee shop serving international food & drinks c. Ratna Restaurant & bar, Grilled seafood & meats its open for lunch & dinner d. Melati lounge & Bar , Light snack & Creative cocktail bar its open for dinner e. Pool Bar, Its open from 9 am - 18 pm f. Rijasa Lobby Bar, its open from 10 am - 24 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bali Tropic Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Tropic Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Tropic Resort Spa
Bali Tropic Resort And Spa Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing