We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all inclusive hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mirage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Mirage Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good all inclusive hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

Grand Mirage was a great hotel but... could have been any decent class all inclusive hotel anywhere.
Top tip – as per other reviewers – go for gold level all inclusive. It’s really worth it as you don’t have to worry about paying for anything (food, drinks – and we had lots – or the evening entertainment). Talking to other guests who were on blue level or on B&B, the drinks were fairly expensive. At the end of our week in the Grand Mirage, the only extra we had to pay was for some laundry and that was very reasonably priced.
Inside the hotel is magnificent and looks the part – including the waterfall in the central courtyard. Outside the grounds are immaculately maintained by a large staff. My only gripes were the depth of the pool (2.2m over the largest area is too deep to be sensible!) and the sea grass bottom of the sectioned off sea bathing area.
Apart from that, we had no complaints, at all. Our room (Superior sea view) was just right – being at the left hand side meant that we had a sea view over the gardens away from the noise of the pool area. The staff (with a few exceptions such as one of the bar service ladies) were brilliant and always ready with a smile.
The food was good in all the restaurants – big shout out to the guys in the Jukung Grill (beachside) restaurant who made every lunch time a pleasure.
A few reviews have made mention of the noise of the motorised water sports and it’s true that this does go on during the day, but we didn’t find it obtrusive – if you go for a beach holiday in a commercialised area this is really what you can expect (compare with the tranquillity of the Maya in Ubud which I have also reviewed). Anyway it gave us a chance to Parasail and to try the ‘Fly Fish’, which I have not seen anyone else mention. Basically the ‘Fly Fish’ is like a giant lilo towed behind a speed boat. When it gets up to speed, this lilo takes off and ‘flies’ across the water at up to 20m height for the length of the run (see picture).
Summary: great hotel, great staff and great value (if you go gold level all inclusive)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmokeyJoeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    923
    362
    111
    91
See reviews for
1,029
1,087
72
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was the 3rd hotel we stayed at in bali and it was very impressive, We have 2 cjildren 9 and 12 and opted for the Seaview Suite with an extra bed, The room was spacious and had great views over the water and pool area. very clean and hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable, We booked the families want to have fun package which included many extras for the children, and was good value. The food at the hotel was fabulous and even room service good priced. We are going to return to Bali and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobart2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Great hotel, fantastic service, beautiful location! If I'd go back to Bali I'd do choose Grand Mirage Resort again! Thanks for everything! Attila & Tamara

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila_Torok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

The Hotel operate a two tier "all inclusive system". If you have a 'blue' band, you can only use the buffet/cafe restaurant. This is ok if you like spicy food. There is no plain food. All food is spicy or covered in garlic. You may be lucky and get lettuce or tomatoes. Virtually every night is a specialised food night eg . Chinese, Fishermans, Mongolian, Italian etc. If you don't like any of these, tough, unless you pay for al a carte or one of the other restaurants. So beware, read the small print and booking conditions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayaddict60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Travelled with Mercury Direct from the uk and immediately regretted not opting for the gold all inclusive package,as once you are there you are not eligible for all the extras.I feel that Mercury should just automatically add this onto the price of the holiday as it is so confusing.Anyway it did not spoil the holiday and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a luxury seaview room as it was my birthday,also we were given a complimentary romantic meal for 2 on the beach complete with a birthday cake which i thought was a nice touch.
The hotel is very nice and is immaculately clean,linen is changed daily and towels twice a day with a turn down service,every night there is a litlle message left on a leaf with flowers suchas sleep tight.
The food was quite good but not excellent by any means,very limited choice at lunch times,The theme nights were really nice and there are 3 a week.
The staff were all excellent,we never encountered anybody who was anything but smiley and helpful,they were lovely.
The only thing for us that let the hotel down was the beach,it was full of seaweed,rubbish and generally was poor.There should be staff cleaning it permanantly as they do in the caribbean,but to be honest there is no comparison between the beaches as mexico,dominican etc beat them hands down.There were loads of sunbeds and it was all laid out with plenty of space and shade.
Outside the hotel we found all the locals to be friendly and we had many a balinese massage for the grand price of £5 for an hour,an hours facial for £4 and a pedicure with toes painted for £4.
We hired a local driver for 2 seperate days for the price of £32 for 10 hours,what a bargain,he took us everywhere and we had 2 really great days out seeing all the sights.All in all we had a lovely time and would recommend Bali and this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Grand Mirage was our first choice for an affordable hotel with a sea view at the Nusa Dua area. We were certainly not disappointed. We had booked into the Ocean View suite which probably by now has been renovated. The decor was nice if not plush. We had an uninterrupted view of the sea. The suite was spacious and clean. We were given complimentary four small bottles of water and 6 differently sized towels everyday.The breakfast buffet was extensive though it could get a bit repetitive when you are staying there for a week. We hardly ever ate at the hotel as there were far better and cheaper options right across the hotel. We particularly did not like the seafood buffet theme night. The food was absolutely bland. The beach has golden sands as with almost all beaches in Bali. The water is not exactly the best but it is alright for a dip in the ocean.
Hire a 2 wheeler or 4 wheeler from the rental shops nearby and explore the southern part of Bali from Nusa Dua to Seminyak at your own pace.
We would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

The brochure claims all inclusive, but when you arrive there are different packages and some things that should be included are not. The hotel say you cannot rely on their website as the package is different depending on who you book the holiday with!

This leads to confusion for you the holiday maker and total confusion for the staff who don't understand the system - this was even admited to by the guest manager. We wanted to complain to our rep, but told we cannot and we can only email.

The general attitude of the hotel is that they don't like you getting things free and there are so many silly rules it spoils the whole concept they sell on their brochure of "fuss-free" Even had to make a fuss to get water as cannot get a drink between 10am and 11am so was charged!

Some staff are fantastic, others rude. So even the service is patchy! It could be fantastic - but I am sat writing this review from the hotel and it has taken 4 days to get a free computer to use my free 30 mins interent access as there are only 2 computers.

Book elsewhere is my suggestion!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank libra10Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
2.3 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#15 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 54 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mirage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mirage Resort

Property: Grand Mirage Resort
Address: Jl. Pratama 74 | P.O.Box 43, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#9 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mirage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mirage Resort & Thalasso Bali is a 5 Star Bali Resort with a large white sandy beach right in front of the resort. With 301 rooms & suites it is set among beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. Rising like a vision from the Balinese sea, it is located on the tip of Nusa Dua beach, in the village of Tanjung Benoa, Bali’s watersport center. Prime positioned only 20 minutes from Bali airport the Grand Mirage Resort is the perfect choice for a serene getaway to the Island of the Gods.Offering an almost unlimited choice of fun, entertainment and leisure activities, the Grand Mirage Resort Thalasso Bali is synonymous with value and luxurious comfort.Grand Mirage is offering a whole new class of luxury all inclusive and room and breakfast packages. On top of it, it presents 4 world class gourmet restaurants of which one is available 24 hours, with a wide selection of food & beverage choices.Hotel guests may also enjoy the Thalasso Bali Spa and Aquamedic pool with each spa room designed with its own theme in mind, hosted by professional Spa therapists, giving the perfect relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Mirage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mirage Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Grand Mirage Resort Bali/Tanjung Benoa
Grand Mirage Tanjungbenoa
Grand Mirage Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing