We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I was lucky coz I've been upgraded from Deluxe Ocean View to Suite.
The only thing I can say is great! Love the room, love the view, love the beach!
But it will be perfect if there is a jacuzzi instead of a bath tub. ^_^

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank my_xile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
There are newer reviews for Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2009

We were two weeks in Bali and one week we stayed at the Aston Bali. I must say that this hotel is absolutely beautiful and top value for money. The first week we stayed at Legian Beach Hotel in Kuta. That Hotel was very nice, too - although very busy with shops and bars around.

But if one is looking for a quite and relaxed place and neighborhood, then Nusa Dua is the place to go. I do recommend this beautiful hotel, because it has huge rooms of excellent quality, and we found that the room rates were much cheaper then in Kuta. Also this hotel is not so far from a whole range of restaurants nearby.

We reserved a deluxe ocean room. At first we did not get a room with an ocean view, although they said it would be an ocean view. But after we raised this issue to the reception (we had to go to the balcony of the room and only then could see the ocean), we were given a better room and that room was great! it was newly renovated deluxe ocean room with brand new furniture and BIG plasma screen TV. the room was nearer to the ocean with great view from window and balcony- so make sure to request a room closer to the beach, and a RENOVATED One if you book an ocean view! Also, the restaurant had always those amazing buffet nights, at prices which matched the normal restaurants outside. I would say not a lot of five star hotels offer prices that cheap! Also the private beach right in front of the hotel was very nice, although it had a lot of seaweed in it. another downfall was that if on low tide one can not swim there, whereas in Kuta one can swim both at low and high tide.

I also found that all of the staff of this hotel were super friendly, especially the housekeeping staff always had a big smile. There was one lady at their reception (the only one) , who every time we saw, had a grumpy face .

Also one definitely need to try their Italian Restaurant - the steak with that Italian mushrooms sauce was great!

Overall - I will definitely come back again to this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schoenes_bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

we stayed at the Aston Bali for 10 nights and enjoyed each and every one of them. the staff was very friendly, even though their english wasnt very good, they tried to accommodate us in every way. the rooms were spacious and clean. (there was a lizard incident in the kids room, but it was quickly sorted out. they do a mosquito fogging routine every few days, but they give you advance warning so you can get out.)
you must try the massages, they are fabulous. if you're a couple, they give you a couples room where you can get massages together. a little pricer than outside, but 9-11am is 1/2 off.
the swimming pool was very clean and had lots of things to do, like a jacuzzi seat, bar (happy hour is 3-5pm), waterfall, volleyball, basketball, and even a shoreline within the pool. there are daily activities to keep you entertained.
the in house tourist desk offers great deals on sightseeing, be sure to bargain for it. everything has a bargaining price, which is about 40% off the listed price.
the buffet breakfast is excellent. as is all the other food.
the only thing that was not too great was the distance from Kuta.(the main shopping center). it costs rp.70,000 (rs. 350/-) one way and takes about 1/2 hr. but the hotel offers a free shuttle in the morning and afternoon. make sure to book it, there are only 12 seats on it.
i would definitely stay there again if i ever get the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank asha314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The Aston Bali is a sorry excuse for a "resort"! When we got to the hotel after spending 3 nights at the Le Meridien Nirwana, we were ready for another 10 days of paradise. But it wasn't to be.

Our first room (#324) smelled like dirty feet, and there were pubic hairs around the toilet base. The shower head was clogged and filthy. The whole room had cracked and stained plaster walls that the maintenance staff had obviously attempted to paint over. And the latch on the balcony door was warped and looked as though someone had recently broken into the room.

So we went to the front desk to advise them that the room was not at all satisfactory, and were immediately upgraded to the Ocean View Suite. It seemed as though this was quite standard practice. The suite (#396) didn't smell bad, but was equally dirty. The closet door was broken, there was grime and filth along all of the baseboards and corners. And the door to the balcony had a 1/2 inch gap at the bottom where there was a pool of standing water. So there was an infestation of mosquitoes!

We went down to the internet cafe to advise our travel agent that the hotel was simply atrocious and went to dinner awaiting to hear back (there's roughly a 15 hour time difference). Dinner was average at best. The fried rice had no taste and was VERY overcooked. The drinks selection was incredibly limited, in fact they offered only 1 choice of beer: Bali Hai, the cheap local brew. We were both sick all night.

Breakfast was the same story. We were the first guests in the restaurant, and the dish with the sugar packets had jam spilled over the packets, and one of them was even partially used! We were entirely disgusted! As we were sitting there picking at our food, we watched the housekeeping staff set up the pool chairs. One of them stepped on an empty water bottle to squish it and then threw it into the swimming pool.

I have never been happier to leave anywhere in my life.

Do NOT stay at the Aston Bali!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nielsensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the Aston Bali for one week after spending a week in Seminyak. We found the resort to be exactly as it had been represented on the Website and were more than happy with value for money. We travelled with our two teenagers who loved the pool table and table tennis table along with the daily activities the Resort organises. The pool was gorgeous and we never had any problem with finding a shady spot to relax.
The Resort was in very good condition and the rooms spacious and exceptionally clean with nice decor. The breakfast was fantastic with something to please all the members of the family. All the Restaurants close by were great too. We loved the resort and will be returning next year, as it was the most relaxing holiday my husband has ever taken and trust me that is saying something!! Well done Aston Bali, we sing your praises. Looking forward to more of the great massages, Yes, Heaven.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Satisfaction9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

This is the second visit to this hotel and we weren't disappointed. Large clean rooms large batroom and all the staff greeted the guests. The swimming pool is lovely as you can just chill on the waters edge and keep cool. Didn't like all the rubbish and seaweed floating in the sea and being washed up onto the beach, for that reason we didn't go into the sea at all. The spa had some renovations going on so didn't feel comfortable sitting in robe and slippers with workmen popping by every couple of minutes but had no choice also drilling going on so massage was far from relaxing. Found drinks expensive so bought at local shop and kept cool in the rooms bar fridge. The positives far out weigh any negatives of this hotel and overall had a great stay and will definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We spend here our honeymoon, and we did not regret that. Arrived just before the seson start.. it meant that almost no one was at the hotel. So all the emloyees were waiting our wishes. Very good stay for relaxing.

Rooms, beach, swimingpool, spa...everithing was excelent!!! I want to go bak as soon as possible!!!!!

Only disadvantage is that the main center of Bali (Kuta) is far away (20 minutes by cab).

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuzmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
3.8 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,856 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort & Thalasso Spa - Bali
1.7 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Bali Benoa
#6 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pratama no. 68x, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bali Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range: $115 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort This beachfront spa resort is an ideal retreat to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. The resort's spacious and luxurious, 187 rooms and suites are decorated in a Balinese contemporary style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. The hotel located only 20 minutes away from the airport.The property has four versatile restaurants and three bars serving Western, Asian, Italian and Balinese cuisine to ensure epicurean enjoyment for everyone. The resort features an impressive lagoon pool with a swim-up bar. A large range of water sports activities are accessible right on the private beach. At the Biwana Spa, skilled therapists are poised to restore harmony to the body and soul with a tempting array of massages, rejuvenation treatments and yoga classes. Celebrate a memorable customized wedding ceremony, experience romantic private beach dinners and enjoy the ultimate in indulgence and heartfelt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Bali Beach Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Aston Bali Beach Resort And Spa
Aston Nusa Dua
Aston Bali Hotel
Nusa Dua Aston
Bali Aston Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing