We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I was lucky coz I've been upgraded from Deluxe Ocean View to Suite.
The only thing I can say is great! Love the room, love the view, love the beach!
But it will be perfect if there is a jacuzzi instead of a bath tub. ^_^

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my_xile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    610
    203
    74
    44
See reviews for
378
814
46
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta,Indonesia & Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We were two weeks in Bali and one week we stayed at the Aston Bali. I must say that this hotel is absolutely beautiful and top value for money. The first week we stayed at Legian Beach Hotel in Kuta. That Hotel was very nice, too - although very busy with shops and bars around.

But if one is looking for a quite and relaxed place and neighborhood, then Nusa Dua is the place to go. I do recommend this beautiful hotel, because it has huge rooms of excellent quality, and we found that the room rates were much cheaper then in Kuta. Also this hotel is not so far from a whole range of restaurants nearby.

We reserved a deluxe ocean room. At first we did not get a room with an ocean view, although they said it would be an ocean view. But after we raised this issue to the reception (we had to go to the balcony of the room and only then could see the ocean), we were given a better room and that room was great! it was newly renovated deluxe ocean room with brand new furniture and BIG plasma screen TV. the room was nearer to the ocean with great view from window and balcony- so make sure to request a room closer to the beach, and a RENOVATED One if you book an ocean view! Also, the restaurant had always those amazing buffet nights, at prices which matched the normal restaurants outside. I would say not a lot of five star hotels offer prices that cheap! Also the private beach right in front of the hotel was very nice, although it had a lot of seaweed in it. another downfall was that if on low tide one can not swim there, whereas in Kuta one can swim both at low and high tide.

I also found that all of the staff of this hotel were super friendly, especially the housekeeping staff always had a big smile. There was one lady at their reception (the only one) , who every time we saw, had a grumpy face .

Also one definitely need to try their Italian Restaurant - the steak with that Italian mushrooms sauce was great!

Overall - I will definitely come back again to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schoenes_bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

we stayed at the Aston Bali for 10 nights and enjoyed each and every one of them. the staff was very friendly, even though their english wasnt very good, they tried to accommodate us in every way. the rooms were spacious and clean. (there was a lizard incident in the kids room, but it was quickly sorted out. they do a mosquito fogging routine every few days, but they give you advance warning so you can get out.)
you must try the massages, they are fabulous. if you're a couple, they give you a couples room where you can get massages together. a little pricer than outside, but 9-11am is 1/2 off.
the swimming pool was very clean and had lots of things to do, like a jacuzzi seat, bar (happy hour is 3-5pm), waterfall, volleyball, basketball, and even a shoreline within the pool. there are daily activities to keep you entertained.
the in house tourist desk offers great deals on sightseeing, be sure to bargain for it. everything has a bargaining price, which is about 40% off the listed price.
the buffet breakfast is excellent. as is all the other food.
the only thing that was not too great was the distance from Kuta.(the main shopping center). it costs rp.70,000 (rs. 350/-) one way and takes about 1/2 hr. but the hotel offers a free shuttle in the morning and afternoon. make sure to book it, there are only 12 seats on it.
i would definitely stay there again if i ever get the chance.

  • Liked — beautiful and clean
  • Disliked — distance from shopping center
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank asha314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The Aston Bali is a sorry excuse for a "resort"! When we got to the hotel after spending 3 nights at the Le Meridien Nirwana, we were ready for another 10 days of paradise. But it wasn't to be.

Our first room (#324) smelled like dirty feet, and there were pubic hairs around the toilet base. The shower head was clogged and filthy. The whole room had cracked and stained plaster walls that the maintenance staff had obviously attempted to paint over. And the latch on the balcony door was warped and looked as though someone had recently broken into the room.

So we went to the front desk to advise them that the room was not at all satisfactory, and were immediately upgraded to the Ocean View Suite. It seemed as though this was quite standard practice. The suite (#396) didn't smell bad, but was equally dirty. The closet door was broken, there was grime and filth along all of the baseboards and corners. And the door to the balcony had a 1/2 inch gap at the bottom where there was a pool of standing water. So there was an infestation of mosquitoes!

We went down to the internet cafe to advise our travel agent that the hotel was simply atrocious and went to dinner awaiting to hear back (there's roughly a 15 hour time difference). Dinner was average at best. The fried rice had no taste and was VERY overcooked. The drinks selection was incredibly limited, in fact they offered only 1 choice of beer: Bali Hai, the cheap local brew. We were both sick all night.

Breakfast was the same story. We were the first guests in the restaurant, and the dish with the sugar packets had jam spilled over the packets, and one of them was even partially used! We were entirely disgusted! As we were sitting there picking at our food, we watched the housekeeping staff set up the pool chairs. One of them stepped on an empty water bottle to squish it and then threw it into the swimming pool.

I have never been happier to leave anywhere in my life.

Do NOT stay at the Aston Bali!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nielsensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the Aston Bali for one week after spending a week in Seminyak. We found the resort to be exactly as it had been represented on the Website and were more than happy with value for money. We travelled with our two teenagers who loved the pool table and table tennis table along with the daily activities the Resort organises. The pool was gorgeous and we never had any problem with finding a shady spot to relax.
The Resort was in very good condition and the rooms spacious and exceptionally clean with nice decor. The breakfast was fantastic with something to please all the members of the family. All the Restaurants close by were great too. We loved the resort and will be returning next year, as it was the most relaxing holiday my husband has ever taken and trust me that is saying something!! Well done Aston Bali, we sing your praises. Looking forward to more of the great massages, Yes, Heaven.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satisfaction9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

This is the second visit to this hotel and we weren't disappointed. Large clean rooms large batroom and all the staff greeted the guests. The swimming pool is lovely as you can just chill on the waters edge and keep cool. Didn't like all the rubbish and seaweed floating in the sea and being washed up onto the beach, for that reason we didn't go into the sea at all. The spa had some renovations going on so didn't feel comfortable sitting in robe and slippers with workmen popping by every couple of minutes but had no choice also drilling going on so massage was far from relaxing. Found drinks expensive so bought at local shop and kept cool in the rooms bar fridge. The positives far out weigh any negatives of this hotel and overall had a great stay and will definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We spend here our honeymoon, and we did not regret that. Arrived just before the seson start.. it meant that almost no one was at the hotel. So all the emloyees were waiting our wishes. Very good stay for relaxing.

Rooms, beach, swimingpool, spa...everithing was excelent!!! I want to go bak as soon as possible!!!!!

Only disadvantage is that the main center of Bali (Kuta) is far away (20 minutes by cab).

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuzmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 49 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 stars 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort
Grand Mirage Resort
#8 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
2.0 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#17 of 49 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 stars 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Property: Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl Pratama No 68x, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bali Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort This beachfront spa resort is an ideal retreat to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. The resort's spacious and luxurious, 187 rooms and suites are decorated in a Balinese contemporary style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. The hotel located only 20 minutes away from the airport.The property has four versatile restaurants and three bars serving Western, Asian, Italian and Balinese cuisine to ensure epicurean enjoyment for everyone. The resort features an impressive lagoon pool with a swim-up bar. A large range of water sports activities are accessible right on the private beach. At the Biwana Spa, skilled therapists are poised to restore harmony to the body and soul with a tempting array of massages, rejuvenation treatments and yoga classes. Celebrate a memorable customized wedding ceremony, experience romantic private beach dinners and enjoy the ultimate in indulgence and heartfelt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Bali Beach Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Aston Bali Beach Resort And Spa
Aston Nusa Dua
Aston Bali Hotel
Nusa Dua Aston
Bali Aston Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing