We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding in Bali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a week staying at this luxury resort the staff are so friendly and polite. We were staying here for a friends wedding. The wedding was amongst the gardens with a beautiful archway of flowers and a pathway of frangipanni petals. The buffet was really tasty with a good range of food.The ground and beach are doctored immacuately each morning, all the leaves and flowers cleaned up. The lovely pools are a delight. The restaurants and bars are a reasonable price. As we are older residents we enjoyed seeing the young ones engaging in all of the water activities next to the resort. Others have mentioned the traffic but if you leave in good time and allow for this you can still see other parts of the Island. The local restaurant "The Tree" was a good eating place to experience the local flavour. For a relaxing place for a holiday we would recommend the Aston.

Room Tip: Room number 460 was close to the lift with good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Terry,
The pleasure was indeed ours to be a part of your perfect day! For your future references, I am delighted to recommend you to try our Indonesia themed buffet dinner every Monday at 19.00 pm where you can savor your taste buds with ‘local flavor’ menus from our experienced Chef.
Thank you for recommending us to other travelers. Looking forward for your next stay with us!
Kindest Regards,
Ian Cameron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    635
    206
    75
    46
See reviews for
400
855
48
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

After staying at the Puri Raja and the Kunja Villa we all looked forward to staying at the Aston,we were all disapointed. somwhat..
Firstly the sea view ment we had to hang out of the window to see the ocoean.The room was very musty,and the air con had been leaking for some time as the floor boards had become soft,The unit was fixed when we told the front desk.The first day in the pool started by finding 16 plus smallmoasic tiles that were loose in the pool.Quickly followed by a very sharp pain in the ball of my right foot.Another tile had become loost and was stuck in the ball of my foot..Iwent to the first aid post were the lady in chargge pulled the wound apart and poured alcohol into the cut,wich stung more than a little .This was followed by pouring Iodine into the cut and covering it with a plaster ,a good start to our stay.The following morning it was redressed by the nurse and I was told not to go no yhe beach or in the pool,agood start to our stay.
The room was ok but not a patch on our previous hotels,also the staff did not seem as helpfull,especially in the pool bar.As compensation for the cut to my foot the manager gave my wife and I a free ticket for the buffet the following night.I I was unable to eat as Ihad caught a bug in the hotel and had been on the loo for most of the night .My wife and son had the buffet which they said was less than good ,and not worth the price.Overall not a very pleasent stay, and drinks were much dearer than the other hotels.I would not go there again as it did not represent value for money,Not the cleanest hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: on the sea side to avoid the odour from some of the drains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you want to hang out on a good beach or by a good pool on your own, with friends or family then this is the place for you! The staff were wonderful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and vast. And around the resort, there were some great other restaurants and bars.

The downside
- for our Deluxe Ocean Room the literature promised a "spectacular view' of the Indian ocean "if … look out of the bedroom’s window". If you crane your neck you'll see a glimpse. If you tell the staff that it does not match the brochure they smile (clearly we weren’t the first to have raised this).
- the hotel needs a face lift, especially the bathrooms
- i struggle with any hotel that take a deposit on arrival to cover any incidentals then argue that it will take them two weeks to return the money.
- the hotel is located south of the action and going north for day trips. The traffic in bali is savage. so put this into you hotel choice consideration.

Room Tip: Dont pay for the ocean view, it's not worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Regarding our room's view, I would recommend you to reserve Ocean View Suite in your next visit to ensure you will get unobstructed view of Indian Ocean.

On the point of it taking two weeks to return funds to your credit card this is the procedures of the bank. We process the release of funds held by the bank to guarantee expenses immediately on the day of departure, it is the banks that can take up to two weeks to make the funds available to the credit card holder. Certainly guests are best to pay at the end of their stay with the same credit card that was used to guarantee payment on checking in as this reduces or fully uses the amount held, alternatively a cash deposit can be made to the hotel which is obviously returned on check out if not used, or you can have the hotel block your account so that any purchase in the hotel would have to be paid cash or credit card at the time.

Looking forward for your next stay with us!

Kindest Regards,
Ian Cameron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bar, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for 8 nights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were greeted every time we left or entered the hotel. Close to an impressive selection of unique cafes and restaurants across the road. Breakfast selection was tasty and fresh. Close to the Mini mart with three levels of clothes and souvenirs as well as food items all reasonably priced. Clothes were cheaper than Kuta.
Would definitely stay here again. Also close to Jari Menari - a must for every traveller!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anda11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback that can be our guidelines to improve the effectiveness of our services. For your future references, I am delighted to encourage you to book ‘free super saver’ program on our website which will give you certain benefits including complimentary airport pick-up and foot massage. I sincerely hope you will plan another Balinese experience with us.
Kindest Regards,
Ian Cameron, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Aston, in one of the Deluxe Ocean View rooms on the 3rd floor. The resort is lovely but parts could do with a re-vamp, particularly the bedrooms and bathrooms ~ they just look a little worn, and therefore probably quite difficult to make look clean and fresh (perhaps the renovation is about to go ahead, we forgot to ask). We have already mentioned the balcony and 'sea view' under room tips; this was disappointing for us but in the grand scheme really didn't matter too much. Just frustrating that you are not really getting what you paid extra for! We did approach the Reception staff about this ~ clearly they get similar queries all the time as they had a laminated floor plan of the different class of rooms and what views they have! Shame they don't put that on the website . . .

We only ate at the breakfast restaurant (very good), although we would comment that pancakes are better made upon request, not at 6.30am and left to be taken as and when. We also had a couple of bar snacks by the beach (very good, especially the excellent spring-rolls).

We also ate twice at the Coco Bistro restaurant across the road- a great selection of food and really good live music and nice, friendly service. We also treated ourselves to Bumbu Bali 2 (as couldn't get into 1!). This was sensational except that we ordered way too much food; this could have easily been avoided if we had been advised a little more wisely. Otherwise, we couldn't fault it.

Altogether a pleasant, family-friendly resort, and if you are not too fussed about travelling from A to B to C, Nusa Dua is a quieter part of the island. But if you do want to go elsewhere you must pick your travel times carefully ie: between about 11-3pm, as the traffic in Bali is appalling. Just as a benchmark, it took us well-over two hours to get to Ubud for a bike tour (and that was early morning driving with little traffic).

Room Tip: The Deluxe 'Ocean View' rooms are lovely, but the view is mainly of the courtyard and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked Aston for a 3 nights stay thinking that I would be paying a little bit more than local prices for the convience of having it all on one resort. But they charged me for internet when I picked up the free wifi from public areas in my room. The front desk charges $25 USD for an airport transfer when the taxi desk next to reception charges $9 USD and the spa has treatments for $27 USD that are $5.50 directly across the street. The beach and pool are amazing and so many good activities throughout the day. I just felt like I was looking at ways I was being over charged rather than enjoying a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrpayyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,
I am very glad you enjoyed our pool, activities and hotel so much. On transport pricing, we do charge for an airport transport at US$25, but this is for a private car that will take up to four persons. It will always be cheaper, perhaps not as reliable, clean or relaxing, as hailing a taxi from the street.

With regard to Spa prices you will again always find that the massage places on the street are considerably cheaper than a hotel Spa and may well be adequate for what you are looking, but they cannot be compared to the levels of hygiene, cleanliness, comfort, staff training and quality in general.

Thank you for considering staying with us. Looking forward to arrange your next trip to paradise!

Kindest Regards,
Ian Cameron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 6 days at the Aston Bali in January.It was an excellent stay to say the least,the view from the rooms was soothing with the swimming pool and sea all in front of you.The pool area and the lounge around it is a very comfy place with very nice sitting arrangements.The pool itself is very different with the waterfall and bar.The restaurants are very good and you also have a wide choice of eating places just outside the hotel if you need a change or something different.The staff was very friendly and helpful and always there if you need any assistance.All in all a very good holiday and would definitely go back.Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a great experience...

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view are very nice as the standard rooms you could end up facing the service area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodguy7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,
It was indeed my pleasure to have you as our guest. Your accolades are surely the most rewarding part of our job. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your very kind comment. Looking forward to welcoming you back as our extended family!

Kindest Regards,
Ian Cameron, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort
Grand Mirage Resort
#9 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#15 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
1.6 mi away
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Bali Benoa
#5 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Property: Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pratama no. 68x, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bali Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort This beachfront spa resort is an ideal retreat to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. The resort's spacious and luxurious, 187 rooms and suites are decorated in a Balinese contemporary style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. The hotel located only 20 minutes away from the airport.The property has four versatile restaurants and three bars serving Western, Asian, Italian and Balinese cuisine to ensure epicurean enjoyment for everyone. The resort features an impressive lagoon pool with a swim-up bar. A large range of water sports activities are accessible right on the private beach. At the Biwana Spa, skilled therapists are poised to restore harmony to the body and soul with a tempting array of massages, rejuvenation treatments and yoga classes. Celebrate a memorable customized wedding ceremony, experience romantic private beach dinners and enjoy the ultimate in indulgence and heartfelt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Bali Beach Resort And Spa
Aston Bali Beach Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Aston Nusa Dua
Aston Bali Hotel
Nusa Dua Aston
Bali Aston Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing