We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Aston for our honeymoon, couldn't have asked for anything more. Fantastic rooms, friendly staff and the pool and nearby activities are all amazing. Not to mention the food (Especially breakfast, this was a daily highlight). Absolutely recommend.

Room Tip: Not worth paying the extra for a honeymoon suite as the rooftop spa isn't heated, we never used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, GM Secretary at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Chris M.,
Knowing that we successfully pampered you with our rooms and food is a great pleasure for us.
Our friendly staffs are always ready to assist you on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are planning to go to Bali. We cannot wait to be a part of your holiday again.

Best Regards,

Stella Gradiana
GM Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    651
    212
    76
    46
See reviews for
417
882
51
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon in December 2011.Beautiful beach property, nice ambience and good breakfast variety. Highly recommended.

If you are an Indian and miss Indian food in Bali, try 'Queens of India" which is a 10 mins walk from Aston. Tasty food and quick service

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poornima0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, GM Secretary at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Poornima0724,

Sunny day from Aston Bali Beach Resort &Spa!

It is a great pleasure for us that you are happy with your honeymoon here. We are going to open our new breakfast restaurant next year with new menu. We do hope that you will come back again next time to taste the new menu. Thank you fro recommending our hotel.

Best Regards,

Stella Gradiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our upgrade to a much better room and the service here is really good. We got smiles and greets everywhere we went, male and female staff alike, EXCEPT the spa.

The food was not great, although the breakfast spread improved each day as they varied the menu quite well. Food at Giorgio's needs much improvement - my grilled tuna was so dry that i left 75% of it untouched. The bibimbap at Bali Luna was more like Singapore economic rice all mixed together and the beef was overcooked in both ordered dishes. It's weird that the breakfast (included in the room rate) was actually better than the full-service restaurant.

Amenities @ location-wise - shopping is easily available in the stretch opposite the hotels and along the beach. There is some decent shopping just opposite the hotel and we got some nice pieces of decent quality beach / sleepwear at the Bali Emporium (about USD 50 for 7 pieces of cotton clothing and souvenirs). Coco Bistro (opposite side of the road, not part of the resort) provided beautifully prepared food and excellent band music, fabulous service and a happy ambience. We went there 2 nights in a row (1st for convenience, 2nd because of its decent food quality). However water sports and diving offerings are just 1 minute away with abundant choices as you stroll along the beach.

Downside 1 - the resort is still undergoing renovation (Cafe Melati still under construction). From our 4th floor room, we could hear soft construction noises in the day.

Downside 2 - for a resort that offers a table tennis table, spa, yoga classes, pool table, beautiful big pool, the spa is a real let-down. We didn't get what we asked for, and at first chalked it down to miscommunication by the Front Desk staff and the spa (we booked our experience upon arrival for Day 2). We had asked for the couple package and had chosen our individual treatments beforehand but upon arrival, we were told that they would be charged separately and that they did not book us the couples package (which entitled us to the VIP room). Which was fine, because it actually cost us less without the VIP room. However, they had the cheek to ask us "do you want to do your massages in the same room" - and when I replied "yes" (although in my head I went "duh, did I not JUST ask you for the the Romantic Journey package like 5 minutes ago?"), they had the 'oh why do they have to be in the same room" look on their faces as they scrambled to usher us into an ill-prepared room. The massage bed smelled like a well-used boxing glove and my masseuse was not good. As she massaged me, the strength increased and I had to tell her several times to go 'soft'. Finally, we were short-changed by 30 minutes. My experience was 1.5 hours while my husband's was slated for 2, but he exited the spa no more than 10 minutes after me. The standard of care here is certainly NOT worth the average USD 50 per treatment price. The fact that the spa staff ain't as friendly or smiley as the non-spa staff flummoxes me.

Downside 3 - Although we were really glad with being upgraded to a much bigger room with a beautiful view, we were dismayed to find that the four-poster bed mattress was saggy in the middle. Though we slept rather well, we woke with aching backs each morning. Which was such a waste because the linen was nice and soft and made us want to lie in bed to relax most of the time.....

Saving graces: a) beautiful view of the sea when one relaxes by the pool for a tan and plenty of deck chairs and amply supply of towels; b) Knowledgeable and uber-friendly pool staff who shared much better information than Guest Relations; and c) upgrade to bigger room with private jacuzzi.

This resort is a little old, has areas for improvement, but I see great potential for it to do well. It would be good for them to solicit more feedback - we weren't asked to fill out a feedback form upon checkout either. I would say that this place currently falls rather short of expectations of a cocooned resort where you can stay for a few days straight and get everything you need in one location without having to lower your expectations below sea level. However, it is decent enough to be considered "value for money" in my books.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minisquirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Minisquirt,

Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your room and appreciate your kind comments on our staff and service.



I do apologize for the dish you had in our Giorgios Restaurant, I have checked our restaurant records and can find no entry of this being mentioned it at the time which is a pity as we could have replaced the dish or taken some other action to have made things right.



On your Spa treatment, there was a miscommunication between the Front Office and the Spa with regard to your booking, which led to the one room normally used for that package to be unavailable when you arrived. I do apologize unreservedly for that and if the attitude of the Spa staff was anything less than their normal friendly service.

The treatment you had booked, the Royal Flush, and the one booked by your husband, the Green Tea Body Treatment, are both one hour and forty five minutes as is on the Spa menu, so that you both finished at around the same time would be correct.



With many thanks again.
Ian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here and the service was excellent, and very friendly.
The ambience of the hotel was good, and the facility also very good.
I like the facility in the beach, the hotel provice sofa, and sunbathing chair.
My nephew really enjoyed the the swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgungI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, GM Secretary at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Agung,

Good day from Aston Bali!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed our facilities. Our lagoon style swimming pool is one of the best that we could provide for our valued guests. We do wait for you to come back again soon.

Best Regards,
Stella Gradiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in the Beach Front Suite and did not find it worth the price.

The Resort: The resort is not very big, quite small actually, shaped as a C with the pool in the center of the C. It does not have any open spaces or gardens and from the inside gives the feeling of a hotel rather than a resort. Besides it was under massive renovation and no prior information was given to us of the same at the time of booking. It was something that would have definitely changed our decision of booking this hotel.

The Room (Ocean Front Suite): Our room was definitely at the front of the hotel facing the sea but we had to walk the most to get to the beach. The room just offered windows facing the sea which had partly obscured (by the trees) view of the beach and a small balcony facing the pool which probably offered the same view as the other rooms.

The Beach: One round on the jet ski on the sea showed that Aston Bali perhaps had the worst beach compared to the other nearby resorts. Just a small beach area with huts of local residents on either side gave the beach a very small, ugly, dirty and unsafe look.

The Hotel Staff: The resort staff were excellent. They were very pleasant, helpful and always smiling.

The Pool: The pool area was quite good, the pool was big enough with lots of sun chairs. You could spend an entire day lying by the pool relaxing and enjoying the pool bar.

Food: We being vegetarians had very limited options and the food was not great for us, but it would not be fair to blame the resort for it. Still the buffet breakfast served was quite repetitive and boring if you chose to stay for long periods of time.

Activities: The resort organizes daily buffet dinner with some music, but otherwise there is nothing much to do. It has excellent water sports options right at its beach.

I would have given it 2.5 stars our of 5, but since I cant I gave it 3. Do look for other resorts and hotels before booking Aston as much better options are there at Jimbaran, Nusa Dua and Benoa itself for the same price range.

Room Tip: Do not go for very high category rooms, they might be large but the view is not really that great, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, GM Secretary at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Nilesh01,

Greetings from Benoa Cape!

The beach covers the entire frontage of the hotel and has more than enough sun loungers for our guests. We do clean our beach everyday.
Glad you otherwise enjoyed the facilities of the hotel.

Best Regards,

Stella Gradiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here one night only but had booked for 5 nights. We were extremely disappointed with the hotel, facilities and general ambience and overall presentation.

Our room was of a generous size with large bathroom and clean; however the hotel was under renovations which we were unaware of prior to our booking. The noise was intrusive, with power tools and drills going well into the night. The entire hotel is in poor condition and the photos shown here on Trip Advisor do not reflect the true appearance of the facility.

The pool area had no shade or umbrellas and the beach area was unkept; jet skis rode in too close to the beach/sand and fumes drifted over to the pool area which was unpleasant. There was no pool service and eventually we had to walk over to the pool bar to order our drinks; the pool bar staff frankly were unfriendly and it seemed too much trouble for them to bring over our drinks.

Upon our checkout the following morning we asked the reception staff to order a taxi but were advised that we had to use the general phone to call one and then were required to pay for the phone call. I was utterly disgusted at the lack or service and eventually we lugged our bags down to the street ourselves. No assistance from the staff.

I would not recommend this hotel for your trip. The entire experience was unpleasant. We booked into a nearly hotel, the Conrad which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DAWN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Dawn T,

Greetings from Aston Bali!

We do apologize for the renovations- all our travel agents one advised of this work as we do not want guests to arrive unaware of this. The service issues you mention at the pool is certainly not typical and I do apologize for these. These comments have been taken up with the staff concerned to ensure better service in the future.

I can only imagine there has been a misunderstanding with regards the taxi. We will always call a taxi without any charge to the guest

Best Regards,
Ian Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Could not fault a single thing. Service outstanding , staff cannot do enough for you, cleanliness great especially in our room, setting and pool area wonderful. Renovations going on and our room was right next to it and the noise did not interfere and was not disruptive at all (and I am quite picky about noise etc) Our room was also close to the front/road and heard no traffic at all.

Breakfast every morning was very good in regards to taste and variety. Loved the welcome drink. I found the beauty salon expensive, so we didn't try it, but it was lovely inside. We took the free bus shuttle to Kuta once (took 30 mins to Kuta) and got collected on time in a lovely new car, thought that was great.

We had room 310, would not take that again as the balcony faces the passage walkway so less privacy, maybe the balcony should get a screen to block off the view into the room as people walk past (we just kept the door closed and large window/curtains open) The room right next door would have been good.

Nusa Dua/Tanjung Benoa SO much better than Kuta or Legian if you prefer quieter/more peaceful!!

Definitely going back to this hotel and area !!

Room Tip: Would not pick room 310 again as balcony doors face walk/passage way so there's less privacy. Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skips123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliPRManager, GM Secretary at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Skips123,

Warmest Greetings from Aston Bali!

Thank you for staying with us. Knowing that you have had a nice holiday really pleases us. We would let all the staffs know all the good points you have mentioned. Besides that, we would note your suggestion regarding the screen on the balcony. We do apologize if there there was something that bothered you.

We are waiting for you on your next holiday, Skips123!!

Best Regards,
Stella Gradiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,506 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
1.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Bali Benoa
#6 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Property: Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pratama no. 68x, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bali Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort This beachfront spa resort is an ideal retreat to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. The resort's spacious and luxurious, 187 rooms and suites are decorated in a Balinese contemporary style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. The hotel located only 20 minutes away from the airport.The property has four versatile restaurants and three bars serving Western, Asian, Italian and Balinese cuisine to ensure epicurean enjoyment for everyone. The resort features an impressive lagoon pool with a swim-up bar. A large range of water sports activities are accessible right on the private beach. At the Biwana Spa, skilled therapists are poised to restore harmony to the body and soul with a tempting array of massages, rejuvenation treatments and yoga classes. Celebrate a memorable customized wedding ceremony, experience romantic private beach dinners and enjoy the ultimate in indulgence and heartfelt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Bali Beach Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Aston Bali Beach Resort And Spa
Aston Nusa Dua
Aston Bali Hotel
Nusa Dua Aston
Bali Aston Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing