We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4d3n stay at a good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A 4d3n stay at a good quality hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nusa Dua offered better quality resorts than Kuta where I had stayed 20 years ago. Bali is a nice place for diving and resort fans. As for me, I don't really enjoy Bali that much from the first visit and not convinced from my last trip made in March, 2012.

Room Tip: If you like swimming a lot, get the nearest room to pool or you need to do a lots of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yolanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliGM, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Yolanda H

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Benoa to be a nicer part of Bali.. It is quiet but not far from Kuta if you want to take our free shuttle bus of course. Thank you for staying and your review.

Regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    651
    212
    76
    46
See reviews for
417
882
51
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Aston Bali was the fifth and last resort that my friend and I stayed at during our recent Bali visit. The grounds are amazing. I was able to take many beautiful photographs.
Breakfast buffet was sensational, delicious, and filled with variety.
The pool was so relaxing and beautiful.
The staff was helpful; but because of the size of the resort, we didn't receive quite the personalized attention that was evident at the previous, smaller hotels.
The room was very nice and comfortable, but the smell of furniture polish bothered me a few times. I wonder if there isn't a 'green' natural product that might do the job without the smell.
I'm so glad that we ended our visit to Bali at this beautiful resort in Nusa Dua. It was convenient to many local shops, restaurants, and tours.
I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay at Bali Aston again for a future visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and would hear fellow guests 'stampeding' down the hallway dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookieB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliGM, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear CookieB7

So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Aston and found it to be the perfect way to end your holiday in Bali. Our gardeners do take extra care to maintain the plants, flowers and lawns so that you can enjoy the exotic feeling of visiting this part of Indonesia. We are happy to hear you found the resort with it's 'ancient palace' type atmosphere some thing to give good memories of your holiday. We do hope to see you again someday.

regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at this hotel, which is in a great position on its
own beach with lovely pool area. The staff were genuinely friendly and so happy at all times
it made our stay. The food was very good with plenty of choice. The room was pleasant and
well fitted, though it did not have the garden view that was mentioned in our brochure, it
did not look out on the main gardens but looked across to another wing of the hotel
with some palm trees in the small area between. A sea view room at the reasonable extra
charge well worth saving for! The hotel is really lovely with traditional reception area and
a smart coffee bar, but it could do with slightly tidying up decoration-wise, though it must be
difficult in a damp climate. Overall an excellent holiday venue.

Room Tip: Make sure your room actually has proper garden view or go for ocean view. Our room 227 didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliGM, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Angie L

Warm greetings from Benoa Cape. Thank you very much for your review. It seems you had a wonderful time here in Bali and were satisfied overall. That is great! The private beach and gorgeous pool are of course everyone's favourite places during the day. You are right, like almost all hotels and resorts we do have different room types and views. Our Deluxe room is our best value money wise but has no particular view. However the size of the room and bathroom style is the same and of course all rooms have balconies. Some people are happy to spend most of the time by the pool and so the room type is not so important, but if a pool or sea view is preferred a modest additional charge is perhaps worth the effort. Our Honey moon suites up high on top of the hotel and our special 'family ocean suite' on top of the northern wing offer the most amazing views over the Indian Ocean. maybe you can pamper your selves next time in one of these special suites.

we hope to see you again soon

regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This resort was fantastic. It is right on the beach and the pool was perfect! Beautiful surroundings and even better service. Every single member of staff walked around smiling and everyone was polite and friendly! The food in the restaurant was great and there are loads of shops and restaurants on the road outside the resort. This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we hope to return there soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kay33k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliGM, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear kay33k

I am very very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. You mentioned how friendly and happy the staff seemed to be and that is certainly a bit part of the charm of staying here at the Aston. We hope to welcome you again soon!

regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had three nights at the at the Aston. Some good things and not so good things to say.
The hotel on the whole for price is good. We enjoyed ourselves generally. We have a child so wanted somewhere quite. The pool is in full sun, we think it should have a sail cloth across half to give some shade like other resorts in bali. As usual people put their towels accross chairs early to reserve the chairs in the shade so the only ones left are in full sun. 8am and all the chairs in the shade are taken, by non existent guests who go back to their rooms or shopping.
A sign says towels removed after 30 minutes if no use, but we watched people not returning for 3 hours and still the seats stayed reserved. Terrible if you have children as you cannot escape the sun.
We mentioned this to the resort staff and nothing happened.
We made sure when we booked the hotel that we could get wi-fi in our room as we needed to check some emails and other matters. We were told yes for an extra cost. We bought a two hour voucher but could not log into this for the first day. Asking receiption we were told their was a problem with wi fi so use lobby.Lobby works but is slow, and you must sit down in the lobby to do this. Later that day we were told wi fi was fixed. (we had to ask) so we tried again for the next hour. Still it does not work. Again receiption say it is broken. Second day receiption still selling wi fi cards to guest without telling them the whole system is down. This probelm persisted for the thrre days we stayed. My husband works in IT so when resort staff said maybe 'your computer' this was not the answer. You simply could not log in. Hopeless.
Day two it works for one hour then gone the rest of the day. The staff did not understand when we ask for a refund on the wi fi card as it never worked. For this reason we could not stay at the hotel as it was a simple request we asked for upon booking. Trying to get a simple refund for a few dollars involved 3 phone calls and much drama, so in the end we said forget it.
The shower in our room had a smell coming from the drain like you smell in the street. The shower head sprayed sideways, the bathroom sink would fill full as the drain plug had to be forced open to make it drain. Why the staff never fix this when it is so obvious when cleaning is beyond me.
The rooms are nice on the whole, 4 star quality, but the bathrooms that need work.
Coffee served in the lobby pretty bad, and costing a lot. I actually dont expect good espresso in bali, but when you pay a lot of money you should get one. Presentation is lovely but the coffee terrible. Walk into the street and still get terrible coffee, but at least it costs half the price.
breakfast was good.

GOOD Points
nice staff
nice breakfast
nice pool (except lack of shade)

BAD
hopeless internet
smelly bathroom, fittings not working, shower spraying sideways
receiption on tv bad (snowy picture) (simple fix as others said their receiption was bad, just needs technician)

If some basic maintenence was done the hotel could be a lot better. The pool not having shade is a simple fix, and more chairs also in the shade would help.
A good technician could improve the quality of the picture on the tv's, we looked into another room and they had a snowy picture also.
We would stay again only if some repairs were made and other reviews said the internet actually worked, We have tried other resorts in bali and the internet is great so I dont understand why it is so difficult.
air conditioning needs work as other reviews have said. Their is a control panel next to your bed. it is very old, and the letters dirty and we could not read them. Still basically seemed to be warm or freezing, no in between, and at night a very noisy fan on the return vent in the bathroom. This control unit which runs the lights and air conditioning needs replacing. Their is a second control panel for the lights at the door, also old and dirty needs replacing. A do not disturb sign or make up room sign would help as the electronic one does not work and labelling faded.
3.5 star Hotel, but room is 4 star except for the bathrooms. Potential to be a really good hotel if the feedback was listened to.

Room Tip: dont rely on internet when booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliGM, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear jennifer t

thank you for a detailed review of your experiences here in Bali. We were happy to welcome you and your family and glad that over all you enjoyed your stay. Your comments for improvement are always welcome and I trust that you will continue to see our efforts to make our guests stay better and better. We have upgraded our coffee to the famous European brand 'Illy' in the last 2 months so I am sorry to hear this was not to your preferred taste. Most of our guests have been very happy with the taste and quality of this imported coffee. Noted about the pool and internet and other comments too. thank you and best regards from Bali.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for five nights, over the Easter long weekend.
We were in an ocean view room on the fourth floor so had a great view over the pool area and out to the beach.

This is a good hotel if you are planning to spend your time lazing by the pool for most of the time. The pool area was large and service around the pool and at the swim up pool bar was attentive. It is annoying to see people 'reserving' lounges that I sometimes did not see them lay in for up to 2 hours so they could do with being more vigilant on the '30 minute rule'

Not a good place if you want to be out and about rather than lazing by the pool as its location is far away from more popular areas of Bali eg Jimbarin Bay, Kuta & Seminyak.

Breakfast buffet is definately aimed at the asian guests but plenty of variety and we certainly did not starve.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, staff were friendly and everything met expectations, without going over the top.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megandragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliGM, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Megandragon

It is good to hear from you about your stay. I am glad that generally you enjoyed your stay and break away. Our location is a favourite as we are in a 'village' type area and on a private beach. yes a bit more quiet and that is great in our minds! but of course, Kuta is only a short free shuttle bus ride away and can be enjoyed as desired. We hope to see you again here on the Cape.

regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was at the Aston Bali for 4 nights and most of all I enjoyed my stay. I've stayed in 4 hotels in Nusa Dua during my 2 weeks in Bali (see my reviews on Bali Tropic, Grand Mirage and Club Bali mirage if you wish to compare). First of all, the check in process was very long. There were not so many people, but we've been waiting in the lobby for I would say 30 minutes... By the way, you have to give a security deposit on your credit card upon arrival, I think it was around 50$ US. The room was very nice, modern, well decorated, with a balcony but we had no view. I was travelling with a friend so we had requested a twin room but were given only one huge bed. We had some difficulty with AC and it was really frustrating ! It was working all the time ! We couldn't adjust the temperature, it was either on or off ! When it was on, it was too cold... And when it was off, it was too hot. We were getting up in the middle of the night to open, close, open, close ... Regarding the food, it was good (we had breakfast only) with many choices. We tried the italian restaurant and it was less than average and quite expensive. However, Coco Bali restaurant right accross the street was very good and quite cheap. Also I suggest you try Bumbu Bali which is not very far but you should make a reservation prior.The pool was huge and amazing. There's a pool bar where they also sell ice cream! Staff was very nice. Beach was ok but we didn't stay on the beach at all as we had many excursions planned to tour the island. The hotel offers a free wi-fi connexion in the lobby bar but it was very slow. Nusa Dua is a quiet place so after dinner, if you want to do something else, you have to take a taxi and go out of the resort, otherwise there's nothing to do. The hotel is located on the main street of Nusa Dua but even then, you have to know that there's not a lot to do in Nusa Dua. Yes, there are a few restaurants around but there's no shopping, no nightlife, etc. You should go to Kuta or Jimbaran for nightlife, or Sanur for shopping for example.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picouline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonBaliGM, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Picouline

We have read your review with interest. thank you for your time to tell us about your experiences in the Nusa Dua area. Yes it is more quiet than the Kuta area but that is part of the charm we think. I am glad the staff took care of you well and you enjoyed the icecream by the pool. A great way to cool down. Thank you for the feedback on things which could improve. we will take it to heart and do our part to improve. This year we will have 2 of our restaurants upgraded and very very stylish. Also our rooms will be refurbished over the next 12 months to bring them back to their glory. did you know that we have the biggest rooms of any resort on the peninsula? Makes a difference when staying for extended periods. Quebec is quite far but I hope we can welcome you again sometime to see our developments here at the Aston

regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,506 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
1.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Bali Benoa
#6 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Property: Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pratama no. 68x, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bali Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort This beachfront spa resort is an ideal retreat to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. The resort's spacious and luxurious, 187 rooms and suites are decorated in a Balinese contemporary style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. The hotel located only 20 minutes away from the airport.The property has four versatile restaurants and three bars serving Western, Asian, Italian and Balinese cuisine to ensure epicurean enjoyment for everyone. The resort features an impressive lagoon pool with a swim-up bar. A large range of water sports activities are accessible right on the private beach. At the Biwana Spa, skilled therapists are poised to restore harmony to the body and soul with a tempting array of massages, rejuvenation treatments and yoga classes. Celebrate a memorable customized wedding ceremony, experience romantic private beach dinners and enjoy the ultimate in indulgence and heartfelt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Bali Beach Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Aston Bali Beach Resort And Spa
Aston Nusa Dua
Aston Bali Hotel
Nusa Dua Aston
Bali Aston Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing