We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Nafferton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brits in Bali”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Compact hotel with great staff always very happy, and willing to go the extra mile. The hotel is very clean, well maintained and the gardens are small but beautiful. The beach is small and very clean, adequate number of umbrellas and shade, loungers very comfortable with clean beach towels available daily.The entertainment is low key but of good quality. The shows are colourful and cultural outside in the garden and sometimes on the beach, with buffet dinning. Went on a few trips arranged by a local Wayan Wena ("Dogs Bo**ocks" tour operator) who works from the beach, he is a lot cheaper than many tour operators and very knowledgeable & friendly, he is willing to arrange trips to suit your needs.
The beach is worthy of a mention in that it is not good for swimming at low tide. The beach is maintained daily and kept clean. Staff that are worthy of a mention, Marde the porter, Annie & Pradi in the El Patio Resturant, Agostini in the beach bar Resturant, Aryani in the bar is excellent. Good food from three different locations, Italian Resturant, El Patio Resturant and Menega (beach) Resturant with a choice of buffet and al a carte.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyDicky48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    590
    180
    49
    29
See reviews for
349
1,001
68
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nafferton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I am staying at this hotel now for another week, and so far the food has been generally very good if limited on choice, my biggest complaint is when laying on the beach, the noise from kites flying is really annoying they have some sort of mechanism that makes them sound like a low powered engine, they seem to be flown most of the day and can number from 2 to 6. Theses kites are flown from outside the hotel complex but hang over the hotel grounds, this does not make it very good for relaxing. I am not sure what the hotel could do but this is very annoying. Also we have been moved on the beach twice by hotel staff once when they were setting up for a wedding and then another time"today" to lay the beach for the evening entertainment, the beach I'd not the biggest so why not located the entertainment elsewhere or at least corded the beach off in the morning?
The staff are exceptional and I have no other complaints, but these are annoying
The hotel is really clean and tidy

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyDicky48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Secretary-Melben, GM Secretary at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs. TrickyDicky48,

Greetings from Melia Benoa All Inclusive Resort,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with everybody in Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you and give you our best service, and we are delighted to see that you feel happy with our property. However, we would like to apologize if you found some unpleasant experiences or something might bother you during your stay, your comments are great assistance in order to identify problems that may exist and taking corrective measures that deemed necessary.

In the end, we would like to convey our gratitude for staying with us and remember that you are always welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest regards from Bali

Brigita Monteiro da Santo
GM Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you are booking with Melia Benoa in Nusa Dua, Bali, you should probably book throughou the hotel website, as opposed to Agoda or some other aggregator. Why? Because Melia Benoa reservations treat you as a second class occupant if you book thru a third party.

The inclusive package is a very good value if you are a glutton and/or a drunk. Or maybe traveling with a large family. The beer included in the inclusive is absolute rot - "Bali High." This is a travesty in a country like Indonesia with some first rate brews (Bintang), to name one.

If you are going for the beach ....DON'T. It reminds me os some of the trashiest beaches in the shipping channels off Singapore (hint: if you see a constant parade of freighters and oil tankers passing off at close range, expect the worst in wash ups). The "sand" at Melia Benoa has the consistency of bad concrete aggregate. And the water is so filthy I am sure beaches in Indiana and Chicago are nicer.

Medrin, the main guy in the pool bar, is awesome. Most staff are nice; NOT the reservations Dept. If you go for all inclusive, choose carefully. The differences among rates (blue, silver, gold) seem to mostly to have to do with only snob appeal. Gold does get you additional menu choices, and imported liquors. I cannot see that silver gets you anything except a more expensive stay and a silver wrist band.

The food is generally good and of high quality and variety.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is quite nice. A free upgrade is worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Secretary-Melben, GM Secretary at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs. csundseth,

Greetings from Melia Benoa All Inclusive Resort,

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Melia Benoa to accommodate your holiday and for taking your valuable time to share your recent experience with everybody in Trip Advisor as well.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you and give you our best service. However, please accept our sincere apology for the unpleasant as well as your expectation that could not be fulfilled during your stay. We have delivered your comments to the department involved and your comments are great assistance to improve our service since our guest satisfaction is become our main priority. We are also very grateful for your willingness to take part to review our property.

Finally, we hope that your recent experience in Melia Benoa that had not completely satisfied with your expectation will not impede your to visit any other Melia Hotel International worldwide.

Kind regard from The Island of Gods

Brigita Monteiro da Santo
GM Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

HOTEL - WHAT WE LIKED
Proximity to the beach (right outside the hotel)
All Inclusive package - good if you enjoy drinks by the bar (in the swimming pool).
Supper on the beach - Every second day the hotel serves a bouffet dinner on the beach with tables in the sand. I was really happy to dine this way, but if you want more than that, for $30/person you might also arrange in the reception desk to prepare such dinner especially for you with candles leading to your table. Very romantic :p. A bit of sarcasm, but I truly enjoyed it :)
Tip* Massage price - Instead of having a massage in the hotel (starting from $15/pax/1hr), go outside of the hotel, 20 meters left where you will find a better package i.e. full body massage for $5/1hr
Market - Next to the hotel you will find a small market with all you would need to but from Bali (i.e. magnets, really cheap clothes i.e. skirts for $5-$8, indonesian wooden-carved souvenirs, and of course, all branded watches ($5-$10): Breitlings, Patek, Rolex (got one for myself but it didn't make it through waterproof quality check on a 3rd day :D:D:D).

HOTEL - AREAS OF DEVELOPMENT
Service - basically good, but the staff could have been more keen to assist you. Usually they are surprised with the tips as it's not common on Bali
Complimentary mineral water - Maybe it's not the hotel, but the taste of the local water springs, but I couldn't drink :) (I was going to the shop on the opposite side of the road to buy 2-3 mineral waters)

SIGHTSEEING
Take a walk along the beach to the right when leaving the hotel, on your way you will find the following...
1. Temple on an island/peninsula (depending on the tides)
2. Visit other hotel by Benoa located approx. 10 mins. walk (with squirrels running over the tables). Just don't try pointing fingers at them... I should have known that earlier :)
3. Water Blows where sea waves cumulate in one point and flush over tourist deck (real fun, I suggest to check it out on youtube)

Island...
The best option is to hire local driver from one of the travel agencies along the road where the hotel is (turning right when going to the road side). We paid $45 for a whole day of driving (12 hours) to the places of our choice (i.e. Ubud, Monkey Forest, Temples, Birds+Reptile Parks, Rice Fields, Volcano). Generally, I would suggest not to take any organised trips from the hotels or agencies recommended by your tour operators, only through the local agencies - 1/2 price.

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Secretary-Melben, GM Secretary at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs. Bp84,

Greetings from Melia Benoa All Inclusive Resort,

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Bali and take some times to write a thorough review in Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to know that one of our valued guests enjoy their stay with us since our guest satisfaction is the most important thing for us in order to make your holiday memorable. Your comments and suggestions are great assistance as our effort to keep improving our service and facility to our guest.

Once again, we would like to express our gratitude and appreciation for your valuable time by writing nice comments and suggestions for our service improvement and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest regards from Bali

Brigita Monteiro da Santo,
GM Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading some really bad reviews i thought I would add my Views.
These are my personal opinions and not everyone will agree.
The staff are first class.
The setting is brilliant.
The gardens and beach are kept beautiful.
The rooms are big with good AC and comfortable beds
Good powerful showers and big baths.
The food available is first class, but lacks local dishes.
The pool is big but could do with a bit more cleaning.
The sun lounger cushions are not of a good quality, and have black mould on them.
A Waiter service around the pool and beach is a big miss.
I also missed the nightly room turn-down service.
I really enjoyed my stay, and with a little TLC this could be a fantastic 5 star hotel instead of a mediocre 4 star.

Room Tip: The Gold AI option is well worth the extra money and the executive rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Secretary-Melben, GM Secretary at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Derek1958,

Greetings from Melia Benoa All Inclusive Resort,

It was a delighted to learn that your stay with us was a pleasant one which left you with such a nice impression of our resort. Thank you for posting a favorable review on Trip dvisor.

We thank you for choosing The Melia Benoa as your preferred destination and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated in order for us to review our services so that the next time you stay with us, we will be able to provide you with distinctive and enriching experience. I have highlighted your comments with our team to ensure improvement is made forthwith.

Finally, we would like to inform you that we are at your total disposal and would certainly look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

Kind regard from The Island of Gods

Brigita Monteiro da Santo
GM Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Melia Benoa on the Benoa stretch of Nusa Dua is well placed along the beach and is also a good spot for water sports and marine adventures.

The All inclusive may be good only for those, who probably enjoy lots of drinks, otherwise the non inclusive is a better package. The food prices in the hotel are reasonable and even eating within the hotel may not be so expensive, though on a holiday one woulds choose to try as many different places.

We stayed at the Suite rooms and these are anytime larger and nicer then the standard or executive rooms.

Breakfast is good.

Pool is nice and the hotel always has some or the other activity going on besides the pool to keep the guest engaged.

Water sports : Hotel has a water sports center close to the hotel and after you done your research on the correct prices, best is to take the sports from the hotel at the right prices and the staff there will be pleased to give you the same prices.

Service : Good

Hotel needs to start a shuttle for the airport and the city. Most other hotel already have this service.

Room Tip: Chose a Suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Secretary-Melben, GM Secretary at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs. Seawaves,

Greetings from Melia Benoa All Inclusive Resort,

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience with everybody in Trip Advisor and for choosing Melia Benoa as a place to accommodate your holiday as well.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was an amazing one. It is always a great pleasure to hear a positive review from our valuable guest such as yours. Through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details in customer and guest satisfaction in order for us to focus our attention to constantly striving to exceed guest expectations.

Herewith, we are delighted to inform you that in our Resort we provide airport transfer based on request and we have a tour desk that will assist you to arrange your trip while you were in Bali as well.

Once again, we would like to express our gratitude and appreciation for your valuable time by writing nice comments and suggestions for our service improvement and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards from Bali

Brigita Monteiro da Santo
GM Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent two weeks at this resort with our young adult children in a Family suite in May/June. We have never encountered such hospitable and genuinely friendly people anywhere and the large majority of the staff were outstanding. I would highly recommend the family suite for a family of 4 - the rooms and bathrooms are absolutely enormous. I have seen reviews saying that the place needs a face-lift and total redecoration - but I think one has to remember that the hotel is 16 years old - not brand new. Yes - there are some minor things that could be improved, but on the whole, the accommodation was very comfortable. We did have a mosquito problem though but then we were on the ground floor - and despite using plug-in mosquito repellents in the bedrooms and spraying ourselves liberally at night, we all had numerous bites. But then it is the tropics - so best to take precautions. We had booked the gold all-inclusive package which was definitely worth it. The quality of the food at breakfast was excellent. We had all our lunches in El Patio as we prefer a-la-carte and the choice was very good. We had most of our dinners in the Amarta restaurant and whilst the food and service on the whole was excellent, we were a little bored with the menu by the end of the two weeks and a little disappointed that there were no Asian/Balinese options at all. We had expected excellent sea-food in this part of the world - but the fish we ordered was not fantastic quality and over-cooked by European standards. We tried the buffet on the beach/gardens on two occasions and were very disappointed with the quality and variety of food. The cocktails and wines included in the gold package were fine but not particularly exciting. A great bonus was the laundry service which was included. We had a special private dinner on the beach which was lovely - fantastic food and wonderful service - well worth it. We also had a some massages and other treatments in the hotel and these were very good but fairly expensive compared to outside massage places. It is definitely worth hiring a driver + car for the day to take you around the island - this can be booked through the reception/concierge. They will tailor-make a trip for you and it is very reasonably priced. The scenery in Bali is breath-taking. The pool is not big but perfectly adequate. The staff in the pool-bar were excellent - and they were extremely patient with some of the guests who spent the entire day in the swim-up bar ordering drinks. The sun-beds both by the pool and on the beach were a little tired and could do with some new covers - but the beach towels were good quality. There was no problem finding a sunbed at all though and we were not up at dawn. Finally I must mention the entertainment staff who were truly exceptional. Both our children like to be busy and thoroughly enjoyed the archery, shooting, beach volley-ball and ping-pong competitions. The cookery demonstrations were also great fun. All in all a lovely holiday in a great place!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool/garden are best. Higher floors appear to have less problems with mosquit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Willow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Secretary-Melben, GM Secretary at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs. 123Willow123,

Greetings from Melia Benoa All Inclusive Resort,

Thank you so much for taking such a thorough review of our resort and associates and for having chosen us for your stay in Bali as well.

We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and It was a great pleasure for us to give you our best service since we want our guest feel like at home in Melia Benoa.

However, please find our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience you might have found during your stay with us, we have delivered your comments to the departments involved to avoid the same things happen in the future. Your comments are great assistance in order to identify problems that may exist and taking corrective measures that deemed necessary.

Nothing is more satisfying for us to know that our entire team has taken care of you very well and leave you with such a wonderful impression. We hope that your great vacation will lead you back to us on your next visit to this Paradise Island.

Warmest regards from Bali

Brigita Monteiro da Santo
GM Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
1.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
6.1 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,492 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International

Property: Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Address: Jalan Pratama | P.O. Box 52, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Melia Benoa)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL INCLUSIVE Premium All Inclusive Blue The All inclusive Blue package includes accommodation in Premium Room, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment and more.We recommend you this package if you want to enjoy holidays worry-free, and search for an experience with great value and convenience in the Balinese paradise.Premium All Inclusive SilverThe All inclusive Silver package includes accommodation in Premium Room with view over the lush Tropical Garden or Pool, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, 1 time daily minibar refill, laundry with restrictions, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Choose this package if you want to add some more value to your holidays at small extra cost. Enjoy the spectacular views from your balcony and the recently renovated new rooms with all the luxury, comfort and Melia amenities.Executive Jr. Suite All Inclusive Gold The All inclusive Gold package includes accommodation in Executive Suite, all meals plan with buffet and wider a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, minibar, Room service, laundry with restrictions, 1 hour Spa massage for 2 adults, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Experience a higher level of service in our Executive Suite with the ultimate luxurious accommodation, designed for couples, honeymooners or guests looking for a Romantic getaway, who appreciate the importance of attention to details combined with the highest personalized service and VIP treatment. If you want to be pampered this is your best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Melia Hotel Benoa
Melia Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Melia Benoa Bali
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali By Melia Hotels International Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing