We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but not what was expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Before arriving my husband contacted the hotel direct to ask for a quiet room and we were offered the honeymoon suite at an additional cost. We both jumped at the chance and agreed to pay for the room on arrival as requested by the hotel and the hotel sent a confirmation email stating it was reserved for us. When we got to the hotel we produced the email only to be told they had let someone else have the room and it may be free later during our stay. We were very disappointed to say the least. We had been allocated a suite with our original booking and we had this for the duration of the holiday; the rooms are spacious if a little dated but comfortable.

Apart from this the food was great, the staff are excellent and will do anything to make your stay the best ever. A special mention to Mendrin at the pool bar and also patek in el patio, plus trainee No7 and trainee No 17, you were all so very lovely and went just that little bit further to make things special.

The one thing I would say about the staff though and this is constructive critisism is that the higher management are incredibly rude; unless you are spanish! Not once during the whole stay did the General Manager, Operations Manager or the young girl trainee manager smile, say hello or even acknowledge anyone unless they were Spanish. Most days they ate in the same restaurant as the paying guests and ignored everyone. Never have we stayed at a hotel with this obvious difference between the staff levels and a nod or a smile or a good morning would go down very well will guests, I am sure.

The pool is very crammed with sunbeds and they are close together, if you want a tan, go to the beach because the pool is quite shaded.

The spa was a worthwhile visit and we had the hour long massage that came with our holiday and enjoyed it so much we went back and experienced the 3 hour hot tub, sauna, massage with volcanic ash and it was brilliant and aided us getting a really good tan as it gets rid of the dead skin.

The beach was the thing that most surprised us both as we expected it to be private and quiet and relaxing. This was not the case as there is a public walkway between the hotel and the beach and people from the hotels along the beach could walk through at any time. They could even pay to use the sunbeds and buy drinks from the hotel bars. The Melia Benoa advertises itself as an all inclusive hotel so how is this possible? If I pay for all inclusive, I expect exclusivity and not any old person coming into the hotel from outside. The other thing about the beach is that it is not quiet! It has constant speed boats pulling along inflatables, jet skis zooming by with the lovely smell of petrol hanging in the air and also paragliders and wind surfers. More like Benidorm than Bali!

The lack of evening entertainment in the lounge bar was noticed by all. The main entertainment was outside and lasted for an hour while you ate your meals adn then that was it except twice a week when singers came into the lounge bar. These evening were great and they should have something along these lines all the time; maybe a person just playing a guitar or something.

All in all the holiday was nice but not as expected as per the title of this review. It was a long way to travel and we expected so much more so disappointing. Would we go back? No Would we recommend the hotel? On the basis of the food and the general staff - yes but I would also mention the downsides.

Chris and Jo

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinders28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Benoa_Resort, Guest Experience at Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Mrs. Cinders

Thank you very much for take your time to share your experience with everybody in tripadvisor, your comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

First, I would like to apologize about the problem during the check-in, those days we were full and we did not have honeymoon suites available, though we gave you an executive suite room, which have similar conditions and we are very happy to see that, despite the problem, you have felt comfortable in that room and you could relax during your holidays.

In one hand, thank you very much for your nice comments about the staff, all the team work very hard to give our guest the best experience in Melia Benoa hotel and they are going to feel very proud to see that their service met your expectations. Also, we are happy to see that you enjoyed our SPA, since we think is the best way to spend a relaxing time.

In the other hand, we are very sorry to read that you felt we treated you differently that other guests, it was never our intention and our deepest apologize about that, we believe all our clients deserve the best service possible from all the staff, since the satisfaction of our guest is the most important thing for us.

Also, I would like to inform you that in Bali, by law, all beaches are public, and we cannot forbid the entrance to anybody, sorry if that did not meet your expectations but, we have the quietest and relaxing beach around, since we are a small hotel and is never too crowded. Regarding the all-inclusive, in the hotel we also have some guest in bed and breakfast, so it is possible for them to pay if they want to have any meal at the hotel.

Finally, we are going to take very good note about the lack of entertainment in lobby bar and we are going to see how implement more activities in this area

I wish that, though this experience in our property, we have the occasion to welcome you again in the future and make your stay unforgettable.

Best Regards from de Island of Gods.

Sonia Monroy
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Service was friendly and helpful, very good value for money. It provided everything we needed for our holiday. The front desk was particularly helpful in introducing us to a driver who we booked for the day for about £30 & who acted as our guide while we visited the many sights of Bali. Didn't make much use of the spa but my one massage was great & again the service was very friendly.

Room Tip: Blue rooms are probably smaller than silver or gold but were comfortably ample for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Benoa_Resort, Guest Experience at Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Mr. Will

I would like to thank you very much for have chosen the Melia Benoa for your honeymoon, first of all, congratulation for your recent marriage.

Also thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and the staff, we are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations, I will transmit your comments to our staff to keep on the great job, they are going to be very glad to see our guest leaving the hotel happy since we always try to give our client the best service.

Hoping to accommodate you again in the near future

Receive a warm greeting from Bali.

Sonia Monroy
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently stayed at melia benoa with our 3 kids and two other families . I found the hotel to be extremely well presented the rooms were nice. The staff were really friendly all the kids had a ball with ADitya (eddie) who was in the sports activities section he was brilliant . My only negative regarding the hotel is that they have a brilliant swim up bar but it lacks atmosphere, music around the swimming pool area , a couple of beer nuts at the bar and a few more sporting activities would make the hotel from good to brilliant in my opinion, this was also noted by other guests. Overal we all enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Benoa_Resort, Guest Experience at Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Mr. Jones

I would like to thank you for take your valuable time to share your comments with everybody about your recent stay in Melia Benoa.
We are very glad to see that we met your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us.

Regarding the pool, as you know, this is a very quiet hotel, where people come to relax and to be quiet because of that, we cannot do so many activities, however, we are planning to include speakers with quiet music in this area, to give just a little more atmosphere; and also, we are thinking to include different activities to do.

Thank you again for your nice comments about the hotel and the staff, and we hope to have soon the occasion to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards from Bali.

Sonia Monroy
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I have just come back from Bali and had 2 fantastic weeks at the melia benoa the staff were very friendly and just could not do enought to help you special thanks to patek in the el patio restaurant sorry we did not get a chance to say good by but would like to say thank you from Linda and John and hope to see you in the future .As a couple we have traveled quite a lot through out the world and would say this is properly one of the best hotels for food , and verity of food,staff,and lay out of the gardens and the rest of the hotel.All in all we could not fault this hotel in any way thanks again to every body at the Melin Benoa for a great hoilday all the best to you all .linda and John .

Room Tip: Ask for pool view 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 499john414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Benoa_Resort, Guest Experience at Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Mr. John

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your nice comment about our hotel and staff; it is a great pleasure to read reviews like yours.

I will transmit all your words to our team, who are going to be glad to see that we exceeded your expectations in terms of facilities and service and that we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

Your positive comments will helps us with our continuing effort to improve the service, and also thank you for recognize the good job of all the staff, who works very hard to give our guest the best experience in the hotel.

Thank you, one more time, for chose Melia Benoa for your holidays and we are looking forward to have again the occasion to welcoming you.

Best Regards.

Sonia Monroy
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, was overall happy with the hotel and its service. Upon arrival, we were instantly serviced with a small welcome drink and staff were polite and friendly. Service during the stay was good too, with timely return of drycleaning and attended your issues quickly when you call for assistance. .

If you intend to stay in this area, this is a good value hotel, if you want to stay in the Tanjung Benoa area but not pay the price of other similarly located hotels. Located by the beach and close to the Nusa Dua area as well. There is a convenience store across the road and a money exchanger within 5-10min walk. However, having stayed at Seminyak before, I personally prefer to stay in Seminyak which has more restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizard_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Benoa_Resort, Guest Experience at Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear. Mr. /Mrs. Elizard

First of all, thank you for your nice words about the hotel and the staff, it was a pleasure for us to welcome you in the hotel and give you our best service. We are happy to see that you found our property with a good relationship between value and money.

We are sorry, to read that during your stay you had little issues, but proud to see that our staff fixed it quickly and you could continue enjoying your holidays.

Regarding the location, as you know, the hotel is very quiet and is perfect for people who want to relax their vacations, in a Balinese ambient and with the best service from our staff, because of that we think that the location is perfect, since Nusa Dua and Tanjung Benoa, are very quiet places, where you are far of the noise of Kuta or Seminyak.

Hoping to accommodate you again in the future

Receive a warm greeting from Bali.

Sonia Monroy
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My fiance and I went to Bali to celebrate both our birthday. We chose to stay in Melia Benoa and we were glad that our stay was hassle free. Nice and friendly staff, all our request were provided promptly and the place was very conducive for relaxation and rejuvenation.

We will surely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Benoa_Resort, Guest Experience at Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Mrs. D

Thank you for your confidence in Melia Benoa hotel, we are very glad to see that you chose us to celebrate your birthday, as we think that the all-inclusive package give you the opportunity to enjoy just the moments and relaxing, without worries. We are happy to see that everything went well and that you found relaxation and tranquility that you were looking for.

Also, thank you for take you time to share your experience with everybody, me and the staff, are very proud to see that our guests leave the hotel very happy

We are looking forward to welcome you again one more time in the future.

Regards from Island of Gods!

Sonia Monroy
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a lovely hotel and met our needs for our honeymoon, fantstic rooms, good quality food, well kept grounds, would recommend this all the time. Only down point was when we checked out at 12 noon, we were informed that they would be taking our all inclusive bands, we were not aware that this would happen and it was disappointing, a lunch voucher was provided when we complained, but with a 4pm pick-up we still needed drinks while we sat in the lobby. If you are a sun worshipper we were unable to find a sunbed that had the sun all day long due to the lovely grounds and trees by the pool, however there is the beach which is at the end of the hotel complex.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyTSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Benoa_Resort, Guest Experience at Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Mr. /Mrs. Salisbury

Thank you for have chosen Melia Benoa hotel for your holidays, it was a pleasure for us to accommodate you here in such an important moment like is your honeymoon, so congratulations for your recent marriage.

First, I would like to apologize for the problems that you had during your check – out, we understand the inconveniences when you have a flight late and you have to spend one full day in the hotel without drinking something, because of that I would like to inform that from October onwards we are going to start keeping the bracelet until the guest leave the hotel, although you leave the room at 12h.

However, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in Bali and that you felt good in our hotel, since all the staff work hard to keep the hotel clean and care, and give a good service for the best comfort of our guests.

Finally, I hope to have soon the occasion to welcoming you again and enjoy your holidays with us.

Best Regards

Sonia Monroy
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 26 in Tanjung Benoa
704 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 55 in Nusa Dua
2,043 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#14 of 55 in Nusa Dua
5,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Tanjung Benoa
1,828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort & Thalasso Spa - Bali
1.6 mi away
Novotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Bali Benoa
#6 of 26 in Tanjung Benoa
3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International

Address: Jalan Pratama | P.O. Box 52, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Melia Benoa)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range: $90 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL INCLUSIVE Premium All Inclusive Blue The All inclusive Blue package includes accommodation in Premium Room, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment and more.We recommend you this package if you want to enjoy holidays worry-free, and search for an experience with great value and convenience in the Balinese paradise.Premium All Inclusive SilverThe All inclusive Silver package includes accommodation in Premium Room with view over the lush Tropical Garden or Pool, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, 1 time daily minibar refill, laundry with restrictions, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Choose this package if you want to add some more value to your holidays at small extra cost. Enjoy the spectacular views from your balcony and the recently renovated new rooms with all the luxury, comfort and Melia amenities.Executive Jr. Suite All Inclusive Gold The All inclusive Gold package includes accommodation in Executive Suite, all meals plan with buffet and wider a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, minibar, Room service, laundry with restrictions, 1 hour Spa massage for 2 adults, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Experience a higher level of service in our Executive Suite with the ultimate luxurious accommodation, designed for couples, honeymooners or guests looking for a Romantic getaway, who appreciate the importance of attention to details combined with the highest personalized service and VIP treatment. If you want to be pampered this is your best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sol Beach House Bali Benoa by Melia Hotels International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Melia Hotel Benoa
Melia Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Melia Benoa Bali
Sol Beach House Bali Benoa By Melia Hotels International Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing