We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I just had 12 days at this resort (11/08 till 23/08 room 8122 garden view)The garden view rooms in my opinion are the better choice. On the all inclusive "blue" package
thats:-, all meals buffet and al a carte. all drinks soft, beer, wine , spirits and cocktails 24/7. entertainment and all activities!
.Food was excellent with plenty of variety,room was perfect, clean up to date LCD tV with about 30 very clear channels. and very large and well appointed as was the bathroom huge rain shower, beds are far more comfortable than i have experienced in any other hotel throughout Asia over the last several years .
Staff are all very friendly,attentive,professional and efficient.at every level.
In all absolutely more than satisfied with our stay.the gardens and entire property are maintained beautifully. Pool and swim up bar excellent .as with any hotel you have to get up before 8 am to tag a couple of pool lounges in a nice spot with some shade.
The beach is cleaned every morning and at high tide is perfect for a swim or paddle on the surf ski. at low tide you can walk the reef for hours (just wear something on your feet for the coral and sea urchins.as in all reefs) there is a small quickie mart across the road and a larger one up the road to the right out front of the resort.theres a free shuttle to the Bali Collection 3 Ks up the road where there is a SOGO department store and bout 50 restaurants and other shops ' you can walk there along the beach front past the Club Med and a bunch of other 5 star resorts. paved walkway all the way and very safe and pleasant even at night. 20 Min walk . at the second headland up that way maybe ten mins further theres a Blow Hole in the rocks which is quite spectacular. stalls all along the way selling drinks and stuff. Very good value for money this is our first visit to bali, we usually go to Phuket a couple of times a year but we will definanetly be going back to the Melia again very soon
. As an Australian couple just hitting the 50's we found this resort to be excellent value at about the same price we usually pay per night for accommodation with breakfast only in Phuket.
Theres a good mix of all ages staying here from young gold miners from WA on their week off to young families and older types. Every one having a great time in a really safe comfortable environment .
I can only say that people who have complaints about this resort in other reviews would not be happy anywhere and probably should have stayed home. watching other people enjoy holidays on TV.. We travel to Asia twice a year for holidays and this has been the best by far.

Room Tip: ask for a garden or pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are so delighted that you have had such a positive experience in our resort. I have passed your compliments to all staff. It is our job to give our guests the best experience possible and it seems that we've achieved that with you and your wife during your twelve night stay. Once again thank you for the review and all Melia Benoa staff are hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    576
    175
    49
    27
See reviews for
343
975
68
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Melia Benoa for 2 weeks. It is a great hotel with lots of activities. Traveling with 2 young teenagers is not always easy but at the Melia Benoa our sons had the chance to try out different activities; such as rifle shooting, scuba diving, cross bow shooting, ......
We had booked an all-exclusive stay, which was definitely worth the money. The hotel has different restaurants, inside and outside; so even with the all-exclusive formula you don't have to eat at the same place all the time. There is enough variation, going from buffet to a la carte or just snacks.
The hotel also has a travel agent present, in case you want to arrange a day trip or a fun activity outside the hotel (we went rafting).
We definitely recommend this hotel! Also to families with teenagers!
One small remark is the fact that free wifi is only available in the main lobby.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the botanical garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Enjay71,

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Tripadvisor. I am happy and proud that you and your family had such a good experience in Melia Benoa. I can imagine how difficult it can be to satisfy both yourselves and two teenagers. I am glad that your sons also enjoyed their holiday and that they were able to try new activities. Thank you for your compliments about the all inclusive package and the recommendation.

We are all hoping to welcome your family in Melia Benoa again in the future.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Melia Benoa is a lovely hotel, it's in a good location, we enjoy walking so tried a lot of different restaurants in both Tanjung Benoa and Nusa Dua. There's a free shuttle bus to Bali Collection, which is a must if you're staying here.
We didn't get the all-inclusive package as it really isn't worth it, especially when there's so many nice places around the hotel, that are losing business due to this fact.
The breakfasts were very good! There's free wi-fi in the reception, too.
The hotel surroundings and gardens are very pretty and the rooms were nice.
The only negative was the check-in process, one particular female staff member was very annoying as they made errors with our booking and put us in the premium, lower class room, when we'd paid for a pool view room. The woman showed us a few different rooms we could go in, but they weren't what we'd paid for, in the end, the manager put us in the room we paid for (after they kept saying there were no available rooms) although we'd spent one night in the wrong room and had to keep moving our luggage which gave us a negative feeling towards the hotel.
The art market next door is desperate for business and you can get items for very cheap (paintings, bags etc)
It was lovely, but wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool or gardens (not the art market next door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Tallulah_belle_8,

Warmest greetings from Melia Benoa! Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review.
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences upon check in, regarding your assigned room. It has never been the intention of the management or any staff to give you a negative feeling about this process. Although I fully understand the inconvenience. I am happy to read that you were satisfied with the hotel surroundings and the breakfast we offer as well as the free Wi-Fi connection in the lobby.

For a future stay, I would like to ask you to contact me personally at gm@meliabenoa.com to make the arrangements for a perfect stay.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at Melia Benoa for our first 3 nights in Bali and it was a fantastic, welcoming good introduction to Bali. We treated ourselves to the all inclusive deal which was good, we probably didnt get our monies worth, but it didnt really matter. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite and it was perfect! Huge room with the best views, just about a sea view. The pool bar was awesome and we didnt come across any barriers when we wanted a beer.

The staff were absolutely fantastic and so attentive. Cannot fault them and very helpful. The breakfast was amazing i would say the best in Bali. You can have anything you like! And theres a good variety of lunches and dinners to be had.

Only thing i would advise, if you want to plan your bali trips or where to go next, i would reccomend you do this yourself and not rely on the staff. They dont really have experience with travel plans and other hotels or reccommendations.

Room Tip: Upgrading is cheap and well worth it! Ask for the honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xintiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Xintiangirl,

Greetings from Bali! Thank you very much for this review. We are all very proud that we could give you this excellent introduction to the island of gods. I am very happy that you had a great all inclusive experience and a fabulous stay in one of our Honeymoon suites. These rooms, as well as our other suites, will give you just that bit of extra luxury against a fair price. Thank you for your positive feedback towards our staff.

Bali is waiting to welcome you again, as well as we are here at Melia Benoa.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is our second stay at this resort and will certainly be the last. Much has changed since our last visit, not all for the better though.

It seems that cost cutting has been a major focus of the new management to the detriment of the overall experience at this resort.

Whilst the cutting back of service times for alcoholic beverages bundled with the all inclusive packages is perhaps not a bad thing given the potential for creating unruly guests. It is the plummeting quality of available included beverages that we found most unappealing and not to our taste, hence making the all inclusive option bad value and expensive.

Some of the wines are listed as Australian, but, after researching a little they were actually a local wine made with Austalian fruit, they were drinkable in small amounts, but, did not live up to the reputation of the excellent Australian wine industry.

We found senior management unresponsive to communications during the lead up to our arrival which led to considerable frustration and debate on our departure over charges

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit here but were extremely disappointed this time round, we won't be returning?

As a footnote we commend the general staff for their happy, quality service, perhaps they can teach the management a thing or two for those guests who venture here in the future

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaeyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your comments.
At first I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Benoa again after your first stay. However I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your second stay.

You are mentioning the limited beverage schedule within the all inclusive packages. I kindly inform you that our lobby bar serves both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks the entire opening time from 9am-1am at night. In the rest of the outlets, alcoholic drinks are only served during lunch time(12pm-3pm) and dinner time (7pm-10pm) Beers, soft drinks, juices and mocktails are served throughout the whole opening times on each Restaurant and bar.

One of the reasons for these changes is the emergence of a fake alcoholic black market for imported alcohol, due to the extreme increase of tax on alcohol in Bali in 2010.
Our biggest concern is the availability of stock and real branded imported products. Therefore a decision was made to include only local spirits in all of our packages. This is basically to avoid any risk against public health and guest complaints.I am very sorry that our new beverage list, did not meet your satisfaction.

Regarding your comment about our ‘Two Island’ wine, I would like to inform you that this is a real Australian wine. The wine is made in Australia with Australian grapes, only bottled here in Bali.

At last I offer you my most sincere apologies for the communication between our departments, regarding your payment during check out. The email you send us before checking in was not replied to you by our reservations department. I would like to inform you that I have already investigated the situation and took corrective measures in order to prevent a situation like this, to happen again in the future.

Once again our deepest apology for the inconveniences during your stay. It has never been the intention of the hotel management or any staff.
I kindly ask you to contact me personally at gm@meliabenoa.com to make personal arrangements for your next stay to our property, to guarantee that you will have a great experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at Melia Benoa for 3 nights at the end of our trip around Bali. As we had stayed in a number of smaller places in Bali we found the hotel a bit expensive but if it was your first location it would probably seem cheap compared to your homeland.

The hotel itself was lovely, as was the room. Nice linen and beds as well as good room service and english cable TV. The breakfast was the best we had in Bali with every type of food style you could want and a huge amount of variety. It was a definite highlight.

The beach behind the hotel was ok but not really somewhere you could swim as its rocky and pretty windy, so we tended to stick to the pool. We didn't try the spa as there are far cheaper options just outside the hotel.

Overall we had a really nice stay and although the Melia Benoa isn't as impressive as some of its much larger neighbours, it is more personal and cosy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Leelou28,

Thank you very much for taking the time to put your comments on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our last year renovated rooms. Tanjung Benoa area is a great place for water sports and swimming in the Indian ocean in the morning. However you are correct that in the late afternoon we have a low tide. Perhaps a nice walk over the reef in the afternoon can be an idea for next time as many people enjoy that.
As we are, as you mentioned, a small hotel we are able to offer a more personalized service and we are very proud of that.

We hope to welcome you again in our property on Bali and thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Bali will always be one of the warmest destinations i've been to!! What made this holiday a LOT MORE SPECIAL were the warm and friendly staff we were greeted with at the Melia Benoa. This hotel is GREAT value for money and is very close to restaurant strip in Nusa Dua..the resort is great with a LOT of sporting activities in the resort...including jet skis etc (need to pay for jet skis etc) but also have a lot of free activities....i would personally like to thank the reservations manager YONA for his exceptional understanding and hospitality. thank you Melia benoa for a GREAT HOLIDAY!!!!....p.s-- a great place to eat is BUMBA BALI ...great traditional Balinese food!!! ..it's a 10 min drive from the resort.

Room Tip: the premium rooms are good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi_Abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Avi_Abraham,

Warmest greetings from sunny Bali! Thank you for writing on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure having you here and your compliments have been passed to all staff including your special thanks to Pak Yoga from reservations.
Thank you for your recommendations of activities in theTanjung Benoa area. Why don’t you try one of the all inclusive deals we have to offer during your next stay! You will have an even better experience than you already had. As mentioned in other reviews from quest the all inclusive packages are also great value for money.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and we all hope to see you in Melia Benoa again soon.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
1.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
#8 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Bali Benoa
Ibis Styles Bali Benoa
#11 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#15 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,926 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort
Grand Mirage Resort
#9 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
6.1 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International

Property: Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Address: Jalan Pratama | P.O. Box 52, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Melia Benoa)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL INCLUSIVE Premium All Inclusive Blue The All inclusive Blue package includes accommodation in Premium Room, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment and more.We recommend you this package if you want to enjoy holidays worry-free, and search for an experience with great value and convenience in the Balinese paradise.Premium All Inclusive SilverThe All inclusive Silver package includes accommodation in Premium Room with view over the lush Tropical Garden or Pool, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, 1 time daily minibar refill, laundry with restrictions, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Choose this package if you want to add some more value to your holidays at small extra cost. Enjoy the spectacular views from your balcony and the recently renovated new rooms with all the luxury, comfort and Melia amenities.Executive Jr. Suite All Inclusive Gold The All inclusive Gold package includes accommodation in Executive Suite, all meals plan with buffet and wider a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, minibar, Room service, laundry with restrictions, 1 hour Spa massage for 2 adults, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Experience a higher level of service in our Executive Suite with the ultimate luxurious accommodation, designed for couples, honeymooners or guests looking for a Romantic getaway, who appreciate the importance of attention to details combined with the highest personalized service and VIP treatment. If you want to be pampered this is your best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Melia Hotel Benoa
Melia Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Melia Benoa Bali
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali By Melia Hotels International Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing