We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surprise”
Review of Novotel Bali Benoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Bali Benoa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife and I had booked 3 nights there to recover from the long flight before heading to central and northern Bali. We usually prefer small charming hotels over bigger resorts and didn't expect much from this Novotel (even though Accor is a reputable chain).
We had booked one of the tropical rooms (and were upgraded to the better Beach Cabana) and....what a pleasant surprise!

Lovely big wooden room, nice furnitures, enormous bathroom with outdoor bathtub, front garden with our own sun loungers, a few meters away from the pool and the beach (but no noise problems). Daily little treats brought to the room (fruits, pastry) was really enjoyable.

This resort is obviously not the Tour Operator type and you can feel that guests here have booked themselves, they're not the typical Aussie-UK-German-Dutch organized trip customers (sorry for them, but they usually do not behave properly ).

Even in-house activities do not feel "cheap", so that we even took part (Yoga lesson is given by an experienced master).
Generally food is excellent, and you can feel the Accor french touch in the outstanding bread and pastries served.
As usual in Bali, grounds and gardens are manicured, pool is huge and clean, common areas are architecturally gorgeous.
Two iMacs are available freely in the lobby for internet.

A real incentive to try other Accor resorts throughout Asia.

PS: Wifi would be great, and better lighting in the bathroom (shaving was a bit difficult)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddymunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    1,134
    322
    99
    58
See reviews for
1,211
1,176
87
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I decided to book Novotel for our honeymoon and it was indeed a memorable experience.I booked a tropical terrace for our stay at Novotel. Room was pretty spacious & even more luxurious bath room.......Room was located on this wing, which was very close to the beach. The resort is pretty spread out with nice gardens, swimming pools & restaurants. I found this place a complete value for money.
We were given a warm welcome even though we reached really late at the resort. There was a small problem with the ac but it was promptly addressed to, even at 1 in the night. The bathtub was quite a pretty thing. We ate at the beach side restaurant and were pretty delighted with the cuisine & the prices offered as well. The balinese dance organized at the hotel in the night was quite a delight......... I would definitely love to come back here. Thanks Novotel for a memorable honeymoon

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishPuri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

After deliberating for a couple of weeks on where to stay in Bali, my friend and I made the choice to stay at the Novotel Benoa, and we were overwhelmingly happy with our decision! We were looking for somewhere quiet, relaxing, but still within a taxi-ride to all the excitement if we wanted. I booked online on www.wotif.com a couple of days before travelling, and got a very reasonable rate including breakfast. I even emailed them to organise an airport pick-up, from the airport before boarding the plane, and to our great relief, there was a smiling face on arriving, waving a sign with my name on it!

After reading online reviews, we decided upon the topical terrace room. It's definately worth the extra, this way you are on the beach side of the resort (the resort is separated by a main road, patrolled by a crosswalk guard) and you don't feel like you are living out of a generic shoe-box for your holiday. Each of the tropical terrace rooms has it's own garden courtyard with an outdoor shower, huge free-standing bath, and very comfortable king size bed.

The rooms, courtyard and whole resort are kept immaculately clean; every morning we could hear someone sweeping up our courtyard - even the sand was perfectly raked! The room was spotless and everything in perfect working order. Great shower pressure from a huge shower-head.

There are several restaurants at the hotel, all a very good standard and so cheap! Our favourite was right on the beach, tables and chairs in the sand, under a grass-thatched pavillion, surrounded by palm trees. The lychee mojitos also became a favourite! We also ventured out to the restaurants down the street, all vying for your business and offering specials. Try to book in to "Bumbu", we couldn't get in but apparently one of the best traditional indonesian food restaurants you can visit. They also have their own cooking school if you are interested!

There are 3 pools at the resort. Everyone tended to gravitate towards the main pool, overlooking the beach, which included a kids pool. Being two single girls, we sought out the pool bar and made ourselves very comfortable there. Order a pina colada (served in a coconut shell) and you will definately feel like you are on holidays!

If you are looking for a cheap massage, simply walk out of the resort, across the road and about 100 metres to the left, and you will find "my home" day spa. If you book direct they give you a discount.

Finally, if you get the chance, take a taxi to Ayana (formerly the Ritz Carlton) in Jimbaran Bay on one of your afternoons, walk around the gardens and stay for the sunset at the Rock Bar. You'll feel like a celebrity, and swear you'll stay at that resort when you win lotto. Meanwhile, the Novotel Benoa is the perfect affordable choice for those wanting a relaxing holiday away from the crowds of Kuta. Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpo_honk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin Waters
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed at that Novotel Bali Benoa for 5 nights and highly recommend staying here. We had a family suite which was wonderful it really catered for us as we have 3 children , the kid’s had there own separate area complete with living room and bathroom, and our ensuite was huge it was great. The resort is right on the beach and Cocos Beach Restaurant was a favourite for us, we ate there every lunch and dinner as the food was so good and the kids were happy to play in the sand with the buckets and spades provided. The pool was really nice we spent most of time there and I recommend you get a massage by the beach it was very special. The resort is quite at night time but after spending 6 nights in Kuta it was just want we needed. The staff were friendly and very helpful we will defiantly be back to stay at this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glennaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We spent 3 weeks in Bali this summer: half at Novotel Bali and half at Bali Hyatt, which are both marketed as 4* hotels. We have been using Accor hotels and Hyatt hotels since many years, first as a couple and then as a family. The Novotel Bali was a big disappointment. We booked 2 non-smoking (I am allergenic to smoke) communicating rooms (the kids are too small to stay on their own) in what was presented as a 4* resort hotel. This hotel is not a resort - a resort is a place where you do not have to cross a dangerous road to go from the restaurant to your room. This hotel is not a 4* - it could be a 3*, at best. The booking was wrong - we got non-communicating rooms + the rooms had persistent tobacco smell. We were moved the next day to other rooms, which were communicating but smelling from humidity. The rooms are nice but poorly maintained. The rooms are very noisy, notably because of staff pulling squealing trolleys in the corridors from 0700. The rooms and corridor smelled of "black water" and nobody seemed to care. The hotel is very poorly maintained - even basics like putting oil on fans and trolleys, or fixing broken stairs, are not done. The result is that fans make noise in public spaces day and night (excellent effect when you get to reception and the fan looks like it hasn't been maintained for years...) and that kids cut their feet when simply taking the pool's stairs... The food was excellent, especially on the beach. Unfortunately, we saw big black rats 3 times during our stay, and one time we saw one of them entering in the kitchen. No staff even raised an eyebrow (let along react) when we reported this. Maybe that they use it to make food tastier...? In summary, this hotel is a shame for its management (most of the issues that we faced could be solved easily if someone was putting a bit of effort in trying to solve them) and for the Accor group. We used to be blindly confident that we would get good service in Accord hotels, but we will certainly not anymore.We strongly advise anyone going to Bali to go to Hyatt, which was GREAT: good rooms, very good service, fantastic garden / beach!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilippeandPascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novbenoa, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
It was a great pleasure to welcome you at Novotel Bali Benoa and we appreciate you sharing your feelings about your stay with us.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

After investigation, please be advised that we didn’t find any remarks or request from the reservation you made to get an interconnecting rooms during your stay with us. Interconnecting rooms are unfortunately limited and subject to availability.

Concerning the cross road, a security staff is always present 24 hours a day to ensure the safety of our guests. We can assure that no accident occurred since the opening of the hotel, 20 years ago.

Your remarks on the bad smell of “back water”, the noise of fans and trolleys as well as the broken stairs have been well noted and please rest assured that we have instructed our Chief Engineering to rectify these matters immediately.

Novotel Benoa is an open air resort where our clients enjoy a tropical climate all year round. Rodents and pests, although part of natural habitat, are unfortunate occurrence for our guests and we do try our best to control this with regular pest control.
We always take food handling and hygiene procedures very seriously not only at our hotel, but within the Group, and continue to monitor our procedures and policies to ensure strict compliance.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Stayed at this hotel,over the school holiday. I got a great deal on the Novotel website.
Kids loved the hotel.Staff and activities were great.Always something to entertain them.
Food was great. Everything was great, although it did get very busy around the pool and the lounges around the pool and on the beach were very hard to get unless you saved one early in the morning.This did become a bit annoying, but it was school holidays.The room we were given was over the road and quite old although was very clean.I think they are renovating some of the rooms.Beach not very good in benoa, lots of seaweed, but apart from this I would highly recommend thishotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hughesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Even thought we were only in Bali for a few days, we really enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Benoa... the pool villa was worth the upgrade fee and the spa is worth a visit. We booked on a really good promotion that the Novotel group ran earlier in the year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
3.1 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
620 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
2.5 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bali Benoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bali Benoa

Property: Novotel Bali Benoa
Address: Jl. Pratama 70, Tanjung Benoa 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Bali Benoa 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Benoa Bali is located at the edge of Nusa Dua, overlooking the golden sands of Tanjung Benoa beach. The resort has been created using traditional Balinese architecture which provides a unique atmosphere set within luscious tropical gardens.The hotel has 179 rooms each with a coconut wood interior design and either a balcony or a garden. There are 8 villas designed in a magnificent tropical style, each with a private swimming pool, an open-air living room, a bathroom with a whirlpool and a rain shower, an espresso machine and a spacious dressing room. Moreover, the luxurious 2-bedroom beachfront villa has all of the above facilities as well as an amazing view overlooking the ocean.The resort offers a variety of dining options including a daily theme buffet dinner, a beach restaurant, a pool restaurant and 3 relaxing bars. A daily entertainment program is provided all day through until the evening. Activities are available everyday for children at the Kids Club. Sport facilities include 3 swimming pools with 2 whirlpools, a tennis court and a fitness center, beach activities including volleyball. Specially designed indoor and outdoor beachfront "bale" spa for rejuvenating. Water sports are available nearby. A free shuttle bus gives access to Bali Collection shopping center in Nusa Dua. Parking and Wifi in the lobby area are also complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bali Benoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bali Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Novotel Hotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Novotel Nusa Dua
Novotel Benoa Bali
Nusa Dua Novotel
Novotel Bali Benoa Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing