We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Surroundings”
Review of Novotel Bali Benoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Bali Benoa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

(Note the travel date: 10/8/2010 - 10/11/2010, am compiling my reviews on agoda to tripadvisor as well)

I love the look and surroundings of this hotel. We were at the other annex of this property, there's a few annexes i think and we had to cross a tiny little road to get to our annex (opposite the main reception & breakfast area). I liked the stillness and quietness of this place in the evenings, and you can smell the charcoals / some burning smell in the evening, reminding me of days in the kampong when i was a little kid :> However, there are quite a fair bit of mozzies if you sit out too long at the balcony!

This hotel is situated in a more "atas" area i think cos the restaurants etc seems to charge higher than those at say kuta/seminyak areas which i also stayed in. Benoa is quite a short stretch of area to explore as compared to kuta/seminyak/oberoi. As i did not like the beach at the hotel itself, i mostly went to a nearby beach that offered the blue waters n white sandy beach at nusa dua (just a few minutes cab ride away, easily arranged by the hotel).

Room was not big (Deluxe Located In The Garden Wing) but it did come with a balcony and was overall clean and very acceptable standards.

Room Tip: Do not be lured by money changers advertising v low rates, we got fleeced at Benoa and recommend tha...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLEE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBB1922, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear GLEE76,
thank you for your review on your stay with us in one of our Deluxe Rooms. It seems you liked the quiet surroundings of our Garden Wing and the room lay out and balconies.
Sometimes during low tide it is not possible to swim all day and this goes for most of Nusa Dua and Benoa as well as for Sanur beaches. Guests still can enjoy the beach and our three pools on such days :).
Thank you for warning future travellers not to use 'money changers' on the street. We also put an information in our in room TV information and our newsletter. We recommend to draw money with a credit card from ATMs - next one would be 50 minutes from hotel at CirlceK Mart (open 24/7), of course you can also change money securely at the hotel or bank branches.
With best regards
Alexander Poindl
General Manager
h1922-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,979)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Bali Benoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,402 - 1,408 of 2,979 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

there's nothing lacking about this property in terms of misunderstanding where you are when you arrive. you know you're in a Balinese style property. It just feels right. They speak multiple languages and the property is very lush with touches of culture, comfort, and luxury. it's not luxurious per se' but they make the most of it!

It's a very active property. Plenty of opportunity to do things there. you're surrounds by a row of hotel properties so you have access to many restaurants, spas, and local flavor. it's not in the plush area of Bali, but you feel like you're in the midst of the people of the island more so than Nusa Dua. The food was pretty good and the rooms are very clean. You definitely feel the indonesian style and decoration throughout the property. I will say be aware they have property rooms across the street. we initially got booked there but requested to be moved into the main property area. We were able to do so without cost increase, but it was during low season. so know your room before you go - call before you book.

This is an above average hotel for sure. you'll enjoy it if you like to immerse yourself within the culture. the beach activities are decent. you can negotiate pricing, so dont take face value. :) you can book excursions from the hotel like most properties and you'll be inundated with pamphlets on what you can do! DO NOT DO A "bali in a day" style tour. you will NOT get to do everything on the tour... break it up if you can and start early in the day. research the tours because a lot of them overlap, are redundant, and some are flat out not worth it. we did NOT enjoy our late night dinner show as the shows all tend to be the same or lacked effort in the later evenings. The best show was at Uluwatu if you can do that show. locally, they will suggest doing all these shows, but again, they're essentially the same...

the property is close enough to walk to grab lil essentials from local stores. it's very cheap and convenient relative to the stores on property. the massage spa was awesome. we did ours on site. we didnt do anything off property as some can look a little suspect.

Overall - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. great room. pretty good and sometimes awesome food, great location and staff. they were always willing to help and make suggestions (to a fault sometimes). :) great pricing and again, make sure you stay in the main property rooms and not across the street. it's a beautiful country with great landmarks. take it all in. oh yeah, they will pressure you to tip! if they seem TOO helpful, they will pressure you for tips for sure! (and most times more than they deserve! dont be shy to say "no")

Room Tip: always establish price BEFORE you commit to anything. they will overcharge you if YOU allow it. and...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBB1922, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear tonyshelton,
thank you for your fair and positive review on your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays in our resort.
Our best value rooms (Deluxe Rooms) are situated in the Garden Wing, in the Beach Wing are our Tropical Terrace Rooms, Beach Cabanas and Pool Villas. Thank you for your understanding that we normally offer an upgrade (if rooms are available) at favourable rates for our guests staying with us. But actually many of our guests like the Garden Wing with our quiet pool and our third pool with beach bar and restaurant.
For the shows during our dinner buffets we are are trying to offer a variety - Balinese Dances at the Balinese Night, Fire Dance at the beach at Seafood BBQ, Indonesien Dances from Sumatra at Indonesian Night, etc.
For the tips I assume you refer to 'Bali in general' and not the hotel - hotels add service charge to the revenue which is distributed equally to our staff, therefore staff at our hotel is not allowed to ask for tips. But I agree that it can happen with tour guides, taxi drivers etc., and I also agree to bargain prices for transportation (when taken on the street) beforehand.
But you could also take the services from the hotel, prices are decent and fixed, cars insured and you don't have to hazzle about bargaining or tips :).
Best regards
Alexander Poindl
General Manager
h1922-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had secured a good deal with a secret on line booking so we were not expecting the greatest room. Although the room was good the outlook over a chook yard was not, and we were woken at all hours by chooks and roosters crowing. It was obvious that there were other rooms available at this time but we are not offered.We did not ask to be moved as thought we would not spend much time in the room. However as the days went by we found this was not the case. The hotel has nothing to offer after dark. Even Happy Hour lacked any atmosphere...no music,entertainment,people...nothing. Then after dinner down the street to come back to the hotel in darkness with nothing happening.
Although the hotel layout is great we found it was really only for people with young children who are all in bed by eight
Breakfast was great and could not fault.We did not have other hotel meals so cannot comment on them.
The area has some truly wonderful restaurants within walking distance which we enjoyed. However we found Benoa/Nusa Dua overall too boring with no atmosphere and not for us. The Bali Collection has nothing to offer with no different attractions.
I would not go back to Nusa Dua as there is much more to offer in Sanur and other resort areas away from Kuta.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool areas would be more pleasant..definitely not rooms upstairs overlooking vacant...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needabreak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBB1922, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear needabreak12,
thank your for your review which shows that you were not happy with the area of Benoa and Nusa Dua. I guess you were looking for some night entertainment venues, these can more be found at the Kuta area. Actually many of our guests choose to stay in our resort and in this area because it is a more tranquil resort enivornment. When going out for some fun they take a taxi to Kuta and Seminyak and happily return to Nusa Dua/Benoa for some rest and relaxation.
Some of our rooms are adjacent to local villages with roosters. I am sorry that this disturbed you and we would have been happy to move you to another room.
Unfortunately you were not enjoying one of our theme dinner buffets (5 times at the main restaurant, 2 times at the beach) with daily live entertainment (for example authentic Balinese or Indonesian Dances or Fire Dance on the beach). Also we have our quartett acoustic band 5 times a week at different venues of our hotel until 22.00.
Thank you for your positive comment on our breakfast, I am happy to read you liked it.
Best regards
Alexander Poindl
General Manager
h1922-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We started our latest Bali trip with a few nights at the Novotel Benoa and we were really pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay again. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a sweet front garden with outdoor shower, although right next to the lobby the sheltered front garden gave privacy and noise protection. The hotel was generally quiet anyway away from the party crowds around Kuta. Definitely stay on the beach side of the hotel, I would not really have liked to be across the road. Restaurants around the hotel were easy walking distance, good value and reasonable food options.
Best part of this hotel was the wonderful lady in kids club - Septiani who was beautiful with my children and constantly played games and entertained them. We stayed at a few places with nicer facilities in the kids club but Septiani made the Novotel the favourite for my kids :)
I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay on the ocean side of the road
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBB1922, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear sheido,
thank you for your review on your family stay in our resort. We are pleased that you recommend our hotel and the more quiet area of Tanjung Benoa to future travellers. I will share your positive comment with Septiani and she will be happy to hear your kids loved her.
Looking forward to welcoming you again and with my best regards
Alexander Poindl
General Manager
h1922-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a split stay . 3 nights before flores and 4 nights after.We arranged all our airport transportations with the hotel.( 12 E each way ). The hotel is divided in 2 sections , a garden wing and a beach wing. If you stay in the garden wing you have to cross the street helped by a security man. The hotel has 3 pools. Please do something about people laying their towels at the pool and than leaving for hours so the chairs seem occupied but they are not. Rooms are very nice and clean.Breakfast was very good aswell as the Indonesian buffet one night. We stayed room only and found prices of food reasonable. On the beach left side is a big water sport complex so when you sit on the beach you have quite a lot of noice from jet skies ,etc. ( this is private operated has got notthing to do with the hotel.) Benoa has some nice place to eat close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scubadave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBB1922, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear scubadave1
thank you for your detailed and positive review on your stay with us and for recommeding our hotel and the Tanjung Benoa area.
We are currently producing wooden signs explaining our 'towel policy' (which is also mentioned on the boards next to the pools and beach): We will remove towels and personal things from abandoned sun loungers after one hour to make them available for other guests again. Personal items can be claimed at our pool desks. Thank you for mentioning this as this is encouraging us to continue with this fair procedure.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our resort and
best regards
Alexander Poindl
General Manager
h1922-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our first time staying in Tanjung Benoa and it was great.
MUCH quieter than Kuta/Legian. Great location on the beach. Plenty of nice restaurants near the hotel. Hotel buffet was particularly good value for families with 1 child under 12yrs eating free with a paying adult.
Lovely staff and grounds. 3 pools - one a quiet/relaxtion and the other 2 for all.
Lovely buffet B/F which changed slightly each day.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBB1922, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Bec412,
thank you for your kind review on your holidays with us and recommending our hotel and the area. We are pleased to read you had a great stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alexander Poindl
General Manager
h1922-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel to stay if you do not want to be in the busy Kuta area and still enjoy the short distance to it. The hotel has two wings with a road in between. We stayed in the more quiet Gardenwing with is own swimming pool and shade of palm trees. The Beachwing has also a pool and of course the beach.
Friendly staff everywhere and nice comfortable rooms with a nice bathroom with seperate shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric85283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBB1922, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Eric85283,
thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. It feels good that you could enjoy a lovely holiday at our resort and in Tanjung Benoa.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alexander Poindl
General Manager
h1922-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
3.1 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
645 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort & Thalasso Spa - Bali
2.5 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bali Benoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bali Benoa

Address: Jl. Pratama 70, Tanjung Benoa 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range: $93 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Bali Benoa 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Benoa Bali is located at the edge of Nusa Dua, overlooking the golden sands of Tanjung Benoa beach. The resort has been created using traditional Balinese architecture which provides a unique atmosphere set within luscious tropical gardens.The hotel has 179 rooms each with a coconut wood interior design and either a balcony or a garden. There are 8 villas designed in a magnificent tropical style, each with a private swimming pool, an open-air living room, a bathroom with a whirlpool and a rain shower, an espresso machine and a spacious dressing room. Moreover, the luxurious 2-bedroom beachfront villa has all of the above facilities as well as an amazing view overlooking the ocean.The resort offers a variety of dining options including a daily theme buffet dinner, a beach restaurant, a pool restaurant and 3 relaxing bars. A daily entertainment program is provided all day through until the evening. Activities are available everyday for children at the Kids Club. Sport facilities include 3 swimming pools with 2 whirlpools, a tennis court and a fitness center, beach activities including volleyball. Specially designed indoor and outdoor beachfront "bale" spa for rejuvenating. Water sports are available nearby. A free shuttle bus gives access to Bali Collection shopping center in Nusa Dua. Parking and Wifi in the lobby area are also complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Bali Benoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bali Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Novotel Hotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Novotel Nusa Dua
Novotel Benoa Bali
Nusa Dua Novotel
Novotel Bali Benoa Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing