We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dinner experience in Bali!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sakala Beach Club

Sakala Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open lunch and dinner, this expansive beachfront establishment comprises a refined indoor dining room with dramatic decor plus the open-air sky deck. Both confer palm fringed Indian Ocean views and accept reservations from hotel guests as well as outside diners. Reserve a private Kul Kul room for intimate gatherings among friends overlooking the Indian Ocean, or takeover the VIP lounge to party into the tropical night.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best dinner experience in Bali!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This restaurant is superb! It is not that easy to find a gourmet restaurant in Nusa Dua (without having to turn to the high priced St Regis hotel restaurant). This fine restaurant is nearby located in Benoa and they even provided complementary taxi service. Dinner was so good we went twice. All my four dishes were beautifully presented, and almost equally tasty and satisfying (foie gras, wagyu beef; jumbo shrimp and duck/foie gras). The second time I had desert and it was also delicious ("bounty"). Prices for dinner are reasonable for the quality of food and are correctly displayed on the restaurant website. Compared to Europe it is still cheaper. If this restaurant were located in my hometown (Antwerp) I would be a frequent customer. The only downside is that the restaurant was really quiet, only few tables were booked, despite it being high season. Having said that, the nice music and friendly service more than make up for that.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio D, General Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Michael W,

Thank you very much for the fantastic comment on Sakala Bali Restaurant you have shared with Trip Advisor community. It is our utmost priority to deliver bespoke service to our valued guest and we are happy that the team’s hard work has been recognized.
We do hope that the time spent in Bali was as good as our dinners, and will bring you back to Benoa in our restaurant or in our resort just across the street for another amazing experience.

Best Regards,
Giulio D’Alberto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    120
    30
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We loved it here so much, we had lunch 3 times! While the prices are higher than your typical Bali restaurant, the value/quality trade-off is more than worth it - particularly for lunch (the prices on the dinner menu do seem to climb fairly high). From the complementary artisan bread to the stunning tapas (including beef cheek spring rolls that were to die for) to the stunning setting, this is definitely a restaurant worth visiting. I had the gnocchi which was sublime, and my wife is still raving about the Bounty chocolate desert.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bradbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio D, General Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Bradbox,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip advisor, moreover we are very delighted to learn that you were satisfied with our cuisine and the ambience of the venue. We are pleased to learn that you and your wife have become one of our best supporters.
We are proud of our Chef Frederic that with his passion for “haut cuisine”, has created for Sakala Bali a culinary experience that made it one of the best fine dining restaurant in Bali.

We do hope to see you again back soon, I am sure you would want to try a dinner, you will find that the quality and presentation of the dishes is excellent and worth an extra effort.

Best Regards,
Giulio D’Alberto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Absolutely Exquisite, Decor and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Sakala in the Chedi Hotel is a modern Restaurant with very up-market settings and a Menu to match.
From the time we arrived for lunch to the time we left we felt treated royally to the most exquisite cuisine with impeccable service.
One would thing very expensive, but no, prices were very reasonable across the board.
It is worth the visit to see their Wine Cellar and the view over the Infinity Pool outside the windows.
A lovely afternoon's sojourn.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio D, General Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Allan C,

We thank you very much for your kind words following your dining experience at our Sakala Bali restaurant and for posting the feedback on Trip Advisor. It is truly an honor to learnt that your experience with us at Sakala Bali Restaurant was great and as as much as the ambiance of the venue.

As Sakala Bali Restaurant, we always do our utmost to ensure that our guests feel satisfy with our products and services and we are glad that once more we have been successful. We are proud that the cuisine met your expectation and that our staff was attentive and friendly.

We certainly looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our restaurant.

Best Regards,
Giulio D’Alberto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Design over substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The cocktails were certainly enjoyable but the restaurant failed to appeal. There is only one asian option on the menu (Javanese prawns) and we certainly were not impressed by the choices available.

The food we chose, Javanese prawns and ham pizza were hardly tasty and pleasant.
The service was a bit slow though friendly enough. We have had good meals at Chedi and being lovers of design and architecture, thought this Chedi in Bali was worth visiting.

The hotel main building is away from the beach with the restaurant being closest to the beach. The design looks very generic apart from the reception building. I failed to see why Chedi would choose such an unremarkable sight for one of its properties.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio D, General Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear John SINSG,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking your time to write a comment of your dining experience with us. I have personally spoken to our Director of Food & Beverage who will share your feedback with their team for their further review. Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and it is thanks to our customers feedback that we are able to maintain and further improve our service standards.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sakala Bali Restaurant in near future.

Best Regards,
Giulio D’Alberto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We first went to Sakala in Feb 2012. It was amazing. We have been back 6 times since. We were there in March and it was still great. Sadly, when we were there yesterday, it was a big disappointment. The food was not quite as good as usual. Mediocre to say the least. The service.... it was a big letdown. The staffand the service they provide has always been of the highest standard at Sakala, but yesterday everyone appearred to be having an off day. The waiter got our order wrong initially, then he came back twice and asked us again what our order was. He then came back 5 minutes later and told us that what we had ordered was not available that day. We chose something else off the menu but when our food arrived it was the unavailable dish. When we went to pay we were told the Credit Card phone line wasnt working .... this is not a fault with the restaurant S this can happen anywhere at anytime, it was just a bad end to a bad experience. I really hope this was just a bad day at Sakala as it is our favorite restaurant in Bali and we recommend it to everyone. Prepared to give it one more go though as they have never disappointed us before.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio D, General Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Trish T,

It is our great pleasure to read such a remarkable comment from our guests posted on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to learn that you have become one of our most loyal guest and would like to express our gratitude for your support upon our restaurant. That is why it was with sadness that we have learned that this time your experience was not as satisfactory as the previous ones . As you have testify in previous occasions our level of service and attention to guest needs has always been at the top, with the food playing the best part of the experience. Therefore I welcome you to come back soon, I would be glad on that occasion to meet you personally and listen to your opinions, as returned guests are playing a big role in the success of a location.

Best Regards,
Giulio D’Alberto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakala Beach Club also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sakala Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing