We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class, class and more class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakala Beach Club

Sakala Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open lunch and dinner, this expansive beachfront establishment comprises a refined indoor dining room with dramatic decor plus the open-air sky deck. Both confer palm fringed Indian Ocean views and accept reservations from hotel guests as well as outside diners. Reserve a private Kul Kul room for intimate gatherings among friends overlooking the Indian Ocean, or takeover the VIP lounge to party into the tropical night.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Class, class and more class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked this restaurant on the 26th December for my fiance and myself and then also on the 2nd January for a small group of 6. The management, staff and food are out of this world. French cuisine dining at it's finest. This restaurant is expensive for Bali but you would be paying double the price for the same service and meal back in Australia which is why we treated ourselves twice for dinner at Sakala.

They have an amazing designed wine cellar situated alongside restaurant which they are happy to show customers. I don't personally drink wine however my fiance was impressed with the variety of wines they had and also the design of the cellar. I tried the Espresso Martini and Chocolate/chilli cocktails that were very smooth.

The food and service is above any standard we have come across in Bali. Upon each dinner visit we were given a complimentary platter of hot home made breads and home made butter. Each of the various types of hot breads were enough to eat as a meal in itself. The starter, main and desserts all came out beautifully presented with flavours never experienced previously at any other restaurant.

We were staying at the Ramada Resort (not recommended), across the road from Sakala. The staff of Sakala informed us that we were welcome to use their infinity pool overlooking the ocean and sun lounges on any given day on the basis we buy at least one drink from them. We took the offer up each day and made a point of trying their lunches also which were also mouth watering to say the least. Their wagu beef panini is to die for and once again to our surprise we were presented with the complimentary hot bread platter prior to receiving our wagu beef panini.

When visiting the restaurant for dinner you have a choice of sitting inside or outside. Outside seating overlooks the infinity pool and also the ocean. Lighting outside the restaurant is beautiful. If the weather suddenly changes and you are sitting outside, they are very quick to get you setup inside at a lovely table.

Highly recommend this restaurant for very special dinner occassions and highly recommend spending a day around their pool and trying one of the delicious snack lunches with a cocktail or two. We look forward to visiting this restaurant and pool to do some more sun bathing n the very near future.

Keep up the good food and service Sakala.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobbos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Dobbos5,

We are pleased to learn that you and your fiance have enjoyed our beachfront venue very much - your choices of beverage were two of the perfect cocktails at The Sakala !

We wish to welcome you again on your next visit to Bali. Should you wish to stay with us at our hotel right across the restaurant - Chedi Sakala, please feel free to advise us accordingly.

Best regards,
Anna Roemokoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    117
    29
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tapas, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had an amazing meal here, every single dish was superb. The sweet potato gnocchi was definitely one of the best dishes I've ever had. Cocktails and tapas were also very good. The staff were extremely attentive (we were the only ones there at lunchtime) and went out of their way to show us around the hotel grounds, said we could use the pool and even took some photos of us at the beach.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kace26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear kace26,

Thank you for your compliments - I will share this with the rest of the team.
Look forward to welcoming you back to The Sakala on your future visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa dua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food. Not so much for service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to the restaurant on the night confirmed to us by email from the manager.
Therefore I was shocked that the girl at the entrance didn't have my name down.

In addition the fact that she made us wait outside the restaurant and not inside as proper guests made me feel angry.
I don't care if there was a large group that came in unannonced. I reserved and got a confirmation that the date/time was good for them.

We finally made ourselves in, explained the situation to the Maitre D who also didn't have my name as a guest. While he over viewed the situation he them only offered us a glass of wine at the bar.

Once we got a table, it was inside, when clearly there was place on your terrasse, we know because we went to have a look while we were waiting outside.

We asked your Maitre D to be place outside he went to check and left us hanging 20 minutes.
He came back and sat us down in the corner with the view on the brick wall topped by smelly drifts, the worst of the whole restaurant.
Also from there we could see a table avalaible just one level below under the palm trees viewing the beach.

Once again we asked to be moved to an other table when it was freed.

We are not people that complain often, but there you just to ask for everything.

After that 45 minutes confusion, at a nice table, by the pool with the view of the restaurant and the beach we finally got to enjoy the delicious food. We ordered the degustation menu, as confirmed by email. Lots pf different ideas presented by the chef. Fresh, tasty, and not small bites.
The staff is very nice, just noy proactive so much.
They all are extremely polite, well educated on the menu.

In and all we had a lovely evening that started on horrific first impression that the food balanced perfectly.

I sent this email also to the manager, no response until this day.

Helpful?
Thank Paulinesvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the management team at The Chedi Sakala, Bali, we would like to thank you for your constructive review and apology for the inconvenience caused on your New Year's Eve dinner booking at our Sakala restaurant.

Pleased be informed that we have held a meeting on this matter with the related staff and rest assured that we have taken necessary action to avoid similar cases in the future.

Should you plan another visit to Bali particularly to Tanjung Benoa area, please do give us a call, we would be pleased to be able to express our further gratitude.

Look forward to hearing from you, in the meantime, we wish you a successful New Year ahead.

Sincerely yours,
Evan Pavlakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“5 star dining at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Visually stunning and deliciously tasty food, attentive wait staff and pleasant ambience makes this restaurant a must visit. We will be back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Clare D,

Thank you for experiencing The Sakala and our gratitude on your generous compliments towards our beachfront fine-dining venue.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Anna Roemokoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"mouth watering french tapas, spectacular degustation and fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this restaurant called 'Sakala' (meaning the real thing) walking along Nusa Dua beach. The first thing we noticed was the beautiful architecture with two towers made of limestone and timber and in between an inviting rectangular pool, which diners can also use. On our first lunch visit we were blown away by the tapas menu which served foie gras, rabbit terrine, pulled pork, and a frothy cappuccino truffle concoction which tasted divine! all for $3.50 AUD a plate. We loved it so much we ate there again the next day and ordered more tapas. We also looked at the degustation menu because we got disappointed with the degustation at 'Kayaputi' at the Regis which was meant to be the best in Bali. So we decided to bite the bullet and enjoy another degustation menu at Sakala and had one of the most romantic experience ever! We requested a setting in one of the towers overlooking the ocean as our trip was to celebrate our 10yr wedding anniversary. If you can imagine a generous square size room with double story height, large timber doors on all sides with white sheer curtains and a large chandelier in the middle of the room, some candles lit around the room and a two person table setting in the middle of the room. It was very romantic, we were greeted by our sommelier Mr Nyoman who has a wealth of knowledge about food and what type of drink to match with the food. He took us on a journey around the world with matchings of top shelf vodka, port, wines from Australia, Portugal and Italy. We learnt a lot from his recommendations and really brought the flavours of the dishes we were eating. The hostess Aris, was a great host friendly, attentive and knew when to give you privacy and when you needed attention. Alex and Wishnu who brought the food to the table with an extensive knowledge of each dish were very attentive too!. My husband and I will never forget this experience as each dish was like heaven on a plate that you kept on wanting for more and the service and attention to detail made it feel like you were royalty! My husband and I are lovers of food and have eaten around the world, and yes we ate the tastiest food in Sakala than we did in Paris. Definitely recommend this place to all our friends and family and definitely come back when we come to Bali again. If you don't try the degustation, try the tapas lunch menu and the dessert menu is a must, try the dessert called the 'bounty' it will blow your mind!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank foodielover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear foodlover79,

Thank you for your valuable time in sharing your wonderful moments with us, we have been blown by your complements… It is our honor to be at your service for your 10th wedding anniversary – congratulations once again and may all the best be granted upon you and your family all the coming years through !

The Sakala team as well as Executive Frederic Boulay and his culinary team would like to express our gratitude and wished to be able to welcoming you back on your next visits to and anniversaries in Bali !

Best regards,
Anna Roemokoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakala Beach Club also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sakala Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing