We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining at its best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakala Beach Club

Sakala Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open lunch and dinner, this expansive beachfront establishment comprises a refined indoor dining room with dramatic decor plus the open-air sky deck. Both confer palm fringed Indian Ocean views and accept reservations from hotel guests as well as outside diners. Reserve a private Kul Kul room for intimate gatherings among friends overlooking the Indian Ocean, or takeover the VIP lounge to party into the tropical night.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This venue is awesome! I have been a member of an excellent food and wine club in Australia for over 10 years and could not fault this restaurant. I first dined here in January 2012 and returned on 13th January 2013 for my wife's Birthday only to find the same great service. Whether you try the epicurean degustation menu or just choose from the menu this place is a gastronomical delight! Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Myles B,

What a pleasure it is to hear that we have successfully impressed an experienced foodie! Thank you so very much for sharing your comments and we hope to see you again on a next visit.

Sincerely,

Janick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    117
    29
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been told that this restaurant is a MUST DO for someone like myself who loves her food, so my birthday seemed the perfect chance to visit Sakala for the first time. We went all out and chose the Epicurean Menu of 9 courses, and it was simply sublime. Everything was amazing, service, staff, setting, ambiance and most importantly, the food. 9-courses can seem a little over indulgent, but they were all perfectly balanced, portions just right, so the finale was not 'forced'. You will need at least a couple of hours to fully appreciate this culinary sensation. I have recommended Sakala to all my friends, and will definitely be back for more, as a couple once again, and with a fun table of friends. Thanks the Sakala team.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJaneScrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, General Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear SarahJanScrase,

I am very happy to hear that we were able to make your birthday one to remember. If you do decide to visit us with a group of friends, please contact me directly and we can arrange a private room for you.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Janick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacKay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had an evening meal here and went the full monty ended up costing as much as a semi decent meal in Aus but the quality and service here was far beyond what one would expect back here.
Well reccommended

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, General Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear JBC101,

Thank you very much for recommending our restaurant. We are quite proud of our product and are very happy to be compared with the best of them!

Best regards,

Janick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Lunch in Sakala”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

That is huge restaurant with nice design.
Good:
- location from our hotel (10min walk)
- restaurant enviroment and view
Ok:
- food quality was perfect but size is very tiny, so it's perfect as a snack place vs lunch/ diner place.
Hint: take x2 main course for a "normal diner" :)

Average:
- Expect to get creme brulee as a desert but it wasnt on menu..
- Stuff had clean our table (located outside) from dirt and sand only upon request..

Hope some improvements, that place have a lot of potential.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Konstantin T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our restaurant with other travelers.

I am sorry that our lunch menu portions were not satisfying to you. Our lunch portions are standard size (wrap, croissant and baguette), but are conceived to suit a lunch appetite, in very warm climates. They are not meant for dinner. We consistently receive comments that our dinner menu is very rich and satisfying, and I am convinced that you would have felt the same.

Also, I am sorry that you expected to order Crème Brulée, but we have never publicized offering such a desert. We try to stay away from the obvious choices as much as possible. We focus instead on innovative and creative dishes inspired by the classic French techniques. The deserts that we do offer are all made fresh, using only the best ingredients and are meant to surprise and excite your taste buds :)

Finally, although your table not being clean at all times is not acceptable, we only open our Sea Terrace during dinner time because of the heat, which is why your table was not appropriately set up upon your arrival. I do apologize about it not being done automatically and will make sure this does not happen again in the future.

Best regards,

Janick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fine dining at it's finest! We ended going there for most of our stay in Tanjung Benoa, we just wanted to try everything on the menu! Great atmosphere and amazing staff, they new our names and made us feel at home. The pool was amazing to hangout at during the day and they had a very affordable and tasty lunch menu as well. And the cocktails/martinis.. don't even get me started! A must if you're in the area :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tipooh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Tipooh11,

Rarely do we get reviews from guests who have managed to try everything on our menu! Thank you so very much for choosing to spend your holidays with us.

All of the team here sends their best wishes to you and your family. They all look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Janick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakala Beach Club also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sakala Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing