We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marketing and Presentation”

Bumbu Bali Cooking School
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Marketing and Presentation”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The food was quite good and the presentation was excellent. The service was attentive and quick. I liked the concept of the open kitchen. What particularly impressed me was the way Balinese cooking was being marketed as a distinct cuisine. There is some serious thinking going on behind this enterrpsie and I would not be surprised if restaurants popped up in London, New York, Sydney (if not there already!). Watch this space. Not cheap but worth a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank slagathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    24
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Traditional Balinese Cooking”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was not sure what to expect but the day was fantastic. Our lesson did not include the market but started with a delicious breakfast. Heinz is passionate about Balinese food and you get caught up in his enthusiasm and he challenges you to think differently about the way we cook. Our group of ten sat around the preparation area and watched Heinz work his magic. Two of us helped him with each dish. All the ingredients had been previously chopped by his staff as we covered 20 recipes and there would not have been time for us to do it all from scratch. The class cooking area is outside with overhead fans. Beside this is a large professional kitchen which among other things , makes the basic curry pastes, stocks etc. for Heinz's 2 restaurants. Cold drinks supplied throughout the day. We finished off with a huge lunch sampling most of the 20 dishes. You are also given the recipes and information on how and why he cooks the way he does. A fabulous day for both men and women. It also helps to like chilli, from mild to hot as you like it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AustraliaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab cooking class”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a very enjoyable day doing a cooking class and market visit with Bumbu Bali. The market was really interesting and the fish market was amazing - not as smelly as we'd feared!

The cooking class itself was really interesting with a focus on cooking techniques as well as the actual recipes. The lunch at the end of the class was delicious!

This cooking class stood out as one of the highlights of our holiday.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ml1sat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a cooking course, not hands on, its a demo class”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

They are very friendly but you don't cook the dishes yourself, we were a group of 8 and there was only one dish prepared as a group. Disappointing

Helpful?
Thank davebennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
450 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“It can not get any better”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This was an amazing experience for the whole family. We went to the market and fish market and learned so much during the whole day. Heinz is a fantastic host and the recipies are awesome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumbu Bali Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Bumbu Bali Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing