We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great villas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
ajaccio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great villas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

In transit on Bali for 2 days before going to Lombok, I choose the Santrian.
As we like luxury boutique hotels, this one seemed to be a good choice (with the Balé).

So, it is located in Tanjung Benoa /Nusa Dua (surounded only by 4 or 5* resorts). Safe, quiet but don't expect any "authenticity" around here.
Anyway, we didn't care to much because we just wanted to rest during these 2 nights.

Everything was 5*: Welcoming, bottler & staff, HUGE GORGEOUS villa, private pool, restaurant, main pool, beach, facilities, private car...
Yes everything except the 5 floors building under construction sticked all along the third row of villas. (Find it on google earth)

The means they used to hide the building is Sophisticated too.
The face overlooking the villas is completely covered with a green net covered itself with climbing plants.
Excellent work but still privacy at all... We didn't saw the workers but they definitely saw us behind the net.

This very close building under constuction is a shame for the environmental protection and a terrible blow for this gorgeous resort.

However it's still a place to be. Just read the other reviews!

My opinion: Avoid the villa's third row because you'll have no privacy at all and a strange feeling that somebody hidden is watching you all day long and It will be worse when the building will be finished (balconies).

No problems with the others rows! (BTW: even with the third row if you don't care about privacy...)

5* still.

Room Tip: Avoid the third row of villas, you'll have no privacy at all because of the building overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casanile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    47
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
321
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice environment with the friendly bottler & staff, always feel at home whenever back to here.
Sophisticate service and equipment,especially the swimming pool, capture my heart~

Really nice place for a rest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterlin636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We went with a group of 15 people, and had 6 villas. From the airport pickup, to housecleaning, to room service our return to the airport, in all aspects the service was excellent. The pools are well maintained (public and each villa's pool), the grounds are kept pristine, and the food at the restaurant was fantastic.
The only 2 blemishes are that the beach is not as nice as some other places (but what you would expect in Bali), and there is only 1 restaurant on the premise (though the food was fantastic).
I would recommend this place to anyone looking to "get away". We had kids with us, but there are limited activities for kids on the premises. Also, if you are looking for someplace to party, don't stay here.

Room Tip: They are all villas, and as near as we could tell, all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderSA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Royal Santarin. We checked in on 2nd January, very early in the morning thanks to a 7am arrival in Denpasar! Upon arrival at the hotel the staff could not have done anything more to make us comfortable, as our villa wouldn't be available until at least 2pm (due to the hotel being full and us arriving at stupid o'clock!).

The staff on reception provided us with welcome drinks and let us use the bathroom facilities to freshen up & change - which was really helpful. Our room was cleaned and prepared much faster than anticipated and we were in by midday.

We stayed in villa no. 208. The hotel consists of private villas with pools. There are only 22 in total so this is a very small, intimate hotel. The villa was huge! It is a big space with a giant bed, indoor & outdoor shower, huge bathroom and lots of storage space for luggage, shoes, clothes etc. The villa was incredibly clean and very well-maintained. I've stayed in several high-end hotels throughout Asia and this was one of the best.

There is also a seating area and day bed next to the pool (also 2 sunloungers). We didn't use this space as it was fairly rainy when we were there and on other occassions we were out sunning ourselves in Uluwatu! It's a great space to lounge about should you have the time.

The grounds of the hotel & the buildings (i.e: restaurant, bar, shop etc) are kept immaculately clean and ALL the staff are incredibly friendly. Every single member of staff take the time to say hello when you walk through the grounds, it is so nice.

The infinity pool is lovely and it has a jacuzzi in the middle of it - which is very hot! I sat in there for a few minutes on a fairly rainy overcast day and it was really nice.

Breakfast - the breakfast menu takes a day or so to get your head around as it's quite vast and everything is cooked to order. There are all sorts of options from toasted museli to eggs to asian omlettes. Oh - you should try the waffles with ice-cream and dark chocolate sauce, they are great! The waiters also make fresh juices so do ask as they are very good. Breakfast is served at a leisurely pace, it can feel a little slow at times but that is typical "Indonesian" style. If you are in a rush I would suggest letting the waiting staff know!

We didn't eat at the hotel during the evenings but the restaurant/menu always looked very good.

The location of the hotel is at first a little surprising. It's on a very busy "main" (only) road through the town. This is typical Bali so please trust me and just go with it! To the rear of the hotel is the pool and the beach. If you follow the path along the beach, or just walk on the beach itself you will reach Nusa Dua, the neighbouring resort. Nusa is full of large high-end hotels like the Westin & Mulia. The walk to the end of Nusa Dua takes about 45 minutes but it's well worth doing as you pass all the hotels and the beach gets MUCH nicer the further you go. We walked to Nusa and back one sunny morning and it's a great way to tan!!

We walked to a few hotels in Nusa for lunches/dinners. The hotel will take you for free in the shuttle but if you like to get the excersise in then I suggest walking. The staff have 2 or 3 cars and will take you anywhere in the local area for free. Just call reception or go and see them to arrange. Be prepared to wait up to 20 mins for a driver to be available though!

I highly recommend getting out of the hotel for a day and taking a driver (roughly $40 for 8 hours) and go to Uluwatu Temple, Jimbran (for a seafood dinner) and Seminyak for shopping. It's so worth getting out & about. If you want to experience the 'cool' side of Bali do go to Single Fin bar in Uluwatu on a Sunday night for their party - it's really fun! The bar is situated on the top of a cliff (but it's easy to get to from the road) and has amazing sunset views, think Cafe Del Mar type music and you're set! The party goes until around 1am. Our driver waited for us and we were driven home and in bed by 1:45am.

I would recommend this luxury hotel to anyone. It's small, chic, boutique & the best in Tanjung Benoa.

Special mention to ALL the staff - they are all amazing.

Vanessa & James - UK

Room Tip: A standard pool villa is just a little smaller than one of the luxury ones. Room 208 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Perfect for honeymoons and couples who want to have privacy and avoid hustle and bustle of larger hotels and kids. Villas are well maintained and staff is very helpful. Breakfast is great and afternoon tea with free beer, water and juice stocked daily in your rooms fridge are definitely a plus. Only negative would be that shuttle service to all parts of Denpasar should be complimentary (ie to Jimbaran or Kuta) considering it is a 5 star resort. Other then that I would highly recommend for a relaxing vacation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

For those who love exclusive resorts with a great service this is the place to stay in Bali. Everything was just perfect, the staff , the villas , the restaurant , the pool .
This hotel is a jewel let's hope that it will remain like this. For sure we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omkleinParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Love the place so much! Memorable place with the best services and friendly from the staffs. Highly recommended place for you who want to get lost or for honeymoon. Best villas, best foods, best views. Really want to go back real soon! Thank you so much The Royal Santrian!
:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raflie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
0.8 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
2.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.6 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 30 in Tanjung Benoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas

Property: The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas
Address: Jl. PratamaTanjung Benoa | PO Box 64, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort paradise on Bali's captivating Nusa Dua Beach is truly a haven for those looking for a luxurious getaway from the city. The Royal Santrian Luxury Beach Villas offers a wide range of infinity main swimming pool and Ocean View Dining Experience. Nearby attractions include Bali Collection Shopping Mall, Bumbu Bali Restaurant and water sports, which are approximately 5 minutes drive away. Kuta Town and Ngurah Rai International Airport are both within a 20-minutes car ride from the property. Guests may also utilize the shuttle service, which provides access to Nusa Dua and Tanjung Benoa area. Each spacious accommodation features Wi-Fi connection, iPod dock, satellite flat-screen television channels, a bathroom with separate bathtub and rain shower. For a perfect ending to your day, head to the Allspice Restaurant, serving a variety of Japanese, Thai and Western cuisines or have a cup of cool beverages at the Martini bar. A private BBQ can be arranged on the villa or beach. The Royal Santrian Luxury Beach Villas truly is a perfect lodging choice for those looking to unwind while enjoying the lavish lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Santrian Hotel Tanjung Benoa
The Royal Santrian, Luxury Beach Villas Bali/Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing