We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of Bumbu Bali

Bumbu Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $55
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Serving Bali's flavorful cuisine: Recognized as the leading Balinese Restaurant on the island and the recipient of numerous awards, Bumbu Bali is your guide into the many culinary treasures our island paradise has on offer. Our daily fish and vegetable market visits are a guarantee that we serve you only the finest ingredients found on Bali
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This place is magnificent. From the personalized pick up and drop off service to the warm welcome when you arrive by the kitchen staff, to the food, the cocktails, the enchanting garden setting and the wonderful wait staff, everything was wonderful.

Authentic Balinese food with a home style touch. It is a must if you are in Nusa Dua or Tanjung benoa area and even if not its worth traveling to.

If you're lucky there might even be a Balinese dance show on as we experienced.

Just a beautiful dinner and a fantastic way for us to end our 2 week stay in Bali. We will certainly go back on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JK_family_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,883
    732
    203
    51
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Touristic diner place to discover spicy balinese cuisine”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you look for some truely authentic experience don't go there: the food is good if you already know asian food ... But we booked in advance and had a good time dining even if the place was packed with tourists ...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merewether, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Balinese Experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Friendly, good service, excellent food. Very busy - you need to book a few days in advance. Balinese food - recommend the mixed satay.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Exceptional food, exceptional service and atmosphere make this a 'must do' whenever we visit Bali. So delicious the memory of our meal here lingers. On this occasion I had the pork ribs with accompanying sauces and sambals. Sublime. Thank you for once again lifting the bar on Balinese cuisine, hospitality and panache.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 99kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not just dinner, an experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Background: I had read a few websites, and trip adviser listing this restaurant as one of the best i the area of Benoa - where my hotel was situated. The area is pretty quiet at night, forcing most people to retreat into their resorts, the restaurants of other resorts, or into nearby Kuta. This restaurant is a hidden gem among the resorts and a nice reprieve from the resorts and a peak into true local food and culture.

Atmosphere: Once arriving, we were welcomed by a cheer from the whole staff- chefs included. (Similar to Moe's Mexican restaurant in the states, if you're familiar). We were seated at a table in the middle of what seemed like an indoor restaurant but was actually in the middle of 4 separate structures with open air sides.

Service: The service was probably the best part of the evening. The staff and all servers were helpful and knowledgeable of the menu and on accommodating for their clients tastes. When the menu said it was spicy, we asked for it to be mild, and the accompanying sauces were placed on the side. (Still super tasty!)

Food:Ordered a mie goreng- a local dish with noodles as its main component followed by accompaniments of meat satay, salads and sauces. It not only was delicious, but was miles ahead of any "local" food we had tried in Bali yet so far.

Overall: Would I go back? Absolutely!! When are you sending me on a flight back to Bali? But yes, if I was back in Bali, I would go, and would recommend anyone spending any time in Bali (lucky!) to go there, enjoy the kindness of the Balinese people and enjoy their flavorful food.

You're welcome :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumbu Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Bumbu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing