We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, superb staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bumbu Bali

Bumbu Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $55
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Bali's flavorful cuisine: Recognized as the leading Balinese Restaurant on the island and the recipient of numerous awards, Bumbu Bali is your guide into the many culinary treasures our island paradise has on offer. Our daily fish and vegetable market visits are a guarantee that we serve you only the finest ingredients found on Bali
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, superb staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The food here is fantastic. Three of us shared the seafood banquet (IDR500,000 each) and one had suckling pig. There was so much food and all delicious. The staff are absolutely marvellous; very friendly and helpful. We drank Two Islands Cab Merlot which tasted better here than elsewhere, because it was chilled. Thoroughly recommend travelling to Benoa for this.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank petcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,799
    699
    191
    49
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Touristy but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I'm not really sure what an authentic Balinese restaurant experience is since it seems that most locals wouldn't / don't eat in places like this. That said, for a tourist like me, it does serve very tasty dishes that I would associate with being Indonesian. If Bumbu Bali is artificial and exists solely for tourists it's no worse for it.
The reception you get as you enter the restaurant is fantastic in a slightly over the top way that makes you feel special. Our hotel had made the reservation and whether it was a mix up on their part or the taxi driver's that took us we ended up at the wrong one (there are 2 less than 1km apart on the same road). In any case we waited only a few minutes and the restaurant's car took us to the right one.
Once seated the service was vey good and the food excellent - every dish was very flavoursome and the portions generous. While I didn't think it was particularly expensive for what we had I suspect it is by Bali standards - there are certainly many, many less expensive places - 3 course dinner including 2 cocktails and 3 beers for 3 people was just over 1,150,000 rupiahs.
Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pros: local style, outdoor seating, excellent presentation, tasty food, clean premises and rest room
Cons: slow service, bit overpriced

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"authentic & delicious"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Only a short taxi ride from our resort in Nusa Dua, we took a chance by not booking. Very accommodating staff found room for us on the proviso that we could finish by 7pm (leaving us an hour - importantly, enough time for a great mojito!!) Our meal was delicious, our children (aged 13 & 11) happy to share in "Bumbu's" specialties (especially the pork) - great flavours! We were impressed with the service - possibly the best in Bali(?!). This was a really enjoyable experience for us. Next time we'll book & linger longer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leydons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good place for local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

A friend picked this restaurant for dinner one evening for our group of four adults. The restaurant sent a car to pick us up from our hotel in Nusa Dua.
Upon entering the restaurant, you are greeted by friendly good evenings and a scented frangipani flower for your hair.
We ordered the mix sate and a selection of 3 other dishes including the seafood soup. The food was excellent and service very quick and professional.
The dishes come served with rice and the usual Balinese condiments on the side.
We had a few beers and a cocktail together with our meal. Shared one serving of goreng pisang (fried banana in batter and served with the local palm sugar syrup) for dessert. All in, our meal came to just under one million Indonesian Rupiah which is about US$80.
After dinner, the restaurant obligingly organised a car to take us back to our hotel. What a great evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoequeen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumbu Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Bumbu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing