We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous ambience and food to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bumbu Bali

Bumbu Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $55
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Bali's flavorful cuisine: Recognized as the leading Balinese Restaurant on the island and the recipient of numerous awards, Bumbu Bali is your guide into the many culinary treasures our island paradise has on offer. Our daily fish and vegetable market visits are a guarantee that we serve you only the finest ingredients found on Bali
southampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous ambience and food to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a rub place. First came here last year after reading all the ace reviews and tonight we ate here and again were not disappointed.

Traditional authentic Balinese fare at a reasonable price. We had the rijstaffel (apologies to my Dutch cousins, especially as we have just bought the decent de Jong brother and janmaat to go with penalty killer krul) a couple of beers and a bottle of decent Aussie plonk and it was just over 50 English quid.

The staff are great, they have fun and make you want to enjoy yourself too. Looking forward to going again Friday and maybe again before we head off home to the uk for the start of the football season and a new Dutch revolution at Newcastle.

If you are in the vicinity, eat at bumbu Bali - you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,797
    699
    191
    49
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food poisoning - ruined our conference”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I prefer to leave balanced reviews, especially if the restaurant only falls short in one category. But this experience was so severe that it overshadows all the good aspects of the visit.

Due to the good reviews and a great experience two days earlier at their sister restaurant I booked our conference group of 33 pax at Bumbu Bali.

We had the standard rijsttafel set menu that BB offers for these types of bookings. The service was fine and the setting is acceptable for a larger group.

The problem started in the early hours of the next day when for a number of the delegates came down with diarrhea, tummy aches and other discomforts. It included the key presenter and the whole episode disrupted our conference.
One of the delegates ended up being hospitalized and diagnosed with food poisoning.
Bumbu Bali was the only restaurant where all the delegates who fell sick had a meal together.

What really irks me is that I informed the restaurant and they reverted that they will investigate and keep us informed immediately. This was a week ago and there has been no recovery on the restaurant's side and I don't expect anything else at this point.

Bumbu Bali praises itself to with a highly trained kitchen team and only sourcing the freshest ingredients. At IDR 13 Million for 33 pax is also commands top end pricing. This certainly should not have occurred. And to top it off there was no recovery or recourse from the restaurant which is most unprofessional.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinSinSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Came here couple of time to have a dinner and everything seems to be okay. But not the last visit, i went there for lunch. Not many people, only 3 table occupied. And they were all busy to serve one table. I mean all of their attention, only for one table. Few times i have to approach the waiter or even the cashier just to ask some tissue and the bill. For me, their service are totally terrible for any reason. And the food is just average. I think this restaurant is over rated.

Helpful?
1 Thank Missy_lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enchanting Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Upon entering the restaurant all of the staff are absolutely fantastic and never missed a beat. The restaurant is owned by a caucasian man who is very hands on, which is obviously a plus as you know the food and hygiene standards are going to be immaculate.

Food we ordered was -
Mixed satay, very yummy with lots of condiments.
Pork spare ribs, which were delicious!!
Coconut chilli and lime prawns, weren't fantastic!!
Dumplings for dessert with coconut.

Pro's & Con's

Non smoking restaurant.
Decent Wine, australian grapes and bottled in bali. Were wine snobs..
Open kitchen for viewing of food prep and cooking.
Bookings essential...


Best casual restaurant in the area..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Balinese cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very impressed with the food here.Walking in off the main drag you are greeted by friendly staff and the exquisite smells coming from the kitchen and an almost surreal dining set up.Some of the best food I have had in Bali with an extensive menu,mostly traditional Balinese dishes with a hint of Western flavour.Certainly a gastronomic delight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumbu Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Bumbu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing