We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Works - Chalet Symphony

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Cote-d'Arbroz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Works - Chalet Symphony
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

If Carlsberg did ski holidys they would be with Savoir Flair, the whole experience was fab, they really did think of everything we needed to have a special time. Food 10 out of 10 and perfect hospitality

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGetalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

From the minute we arrived to the second we departed, we were made to feel very welcome and were treated superbly.

We have stayed in Morzine 3 times now and despite staying in a top chalet every time, this one is the best!

Robin is a great host and nothing is too much trouble. He thinks of everything and everyone at all times.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are great. Wonderful bootroom with heated boot rack that actually works. Lots of storage in the garage for our boards.

The hot tub is also perfect to wind down in after a day on the slopes.

The food is to die for, best i have ever had on a ski break. I'm sure I put weight on despite skiing hard for 4 days!

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with views upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed for a short break as a family. The hosts, Alex and Robin, are great to be with and really make you feel at home. Rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. Very clean and towels provided. Lounge and seating is spacious and comfortable with large sofas. Food is fantastic. All meals have generous portions as well as being very tasty. Alex prepared our son an early evening meal and he was in bed early so that we had a relaxing evening starting with canapes, sparkling wine/kir in the longe followed by a three course meal . We pre arranged ski hire, passes and ski school through Alex and Robin before we arrived. They were very helpful when sorting out the booking. This allowed us maximum time on the snow and no hassle. We were also met and delivered to the airport so all we had to do was ski. We travelled from Geneva. Travel between the chalet and the lifts is never a problem by minibus that is run to suit your needs. Fantastic. We have stayed here for the past few years and will be staying again in a few weeks. If you have found this Chalet on the internet there is no need to continue, you have found the ideal chalet. Take your trunks as the hot tub is a great place to have a cold beer when the sun is down. The honesty bar ensures that you can have a drink, soft or otherwise, at any time. Tea and coffe is available free all day.We will be returning soon. AA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The quality of the food and service exceeded my expectations, despite the very positive feedback previously provided on trip advisor.

What also stood out was how hassle-free my 4 day break was. Robin provided a transfer from Geneva, also shuttling our group to and from the slopes. Our ski hire and ski passes were also arranged seamlessly to allow maximum time relaxing!

I'll definitely be returning in the future.

Nic Devine

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devini74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have never experienced a "catered" chalet before but had always wanted to try so was keen to visit Chalet Symphony.

Well what can I say - this surpassed my expectations totally. I'm talking about the "catered" element of course as I've stayed in other chalets and hotels in ski resorts. Chalet Symphony facilities were on a par with others I've been too. We had downstairs bedrooms and I believe the upstairs ones are slightly better; there was no problem with the downstairs ones however. They were even very light because they were basically on the ground floor so lots of windows and light, I just think the upstairs ones would give you more views.

So far as the catered element of this chalet, I would say the standard was better than some good hotels I have stayed in. Breakfast was fairly standard but nice and casual. There was always a delicious cake waiting for us when we returned to the chalet (I highly recommend Robins Lemon Drizzle cake) in the afternoon and you could help yourself to tea or coffee.

The evening meal was a delight and something to be looked forward to. You would sit around the fire with beautiful hand made canapes and sparkling wine or kir. Then progress to dinner at the large table with all other guests and the standard was amazing. Always a starter, main course ( wild boar casserole, pork tenderloin etc) and dessert with wine which was plentiful, plus cheese (in abundance and of the best local variety) with Port also. Then coffee back around the fire after lots of good chats about the day at the dinner table. I had a vegetarian and wheat free friend with me and she was accommodated to the highest standard - inventive ideas to complement what we were otherwise having.

Overall a great trip and so easy to do when Geneva airport from Gatwick is only 1 hr 15 minutes.

The hosts could not have been more helpful and I will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: I think the upstairs rooms would give more views and maybe a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanMcNally18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay with Robin and Alex. Fantastic evening meals, breakfasts and cakes. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. Location is not an issue as they took us to lifts and back. Really enjoyed skiing Les Gets and Morzine as normally ski Avoriaz and Chatel etc.

Snow Conditions were awesome. Would defo go back.

Thank you!

Tony & Carrie

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fossil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

You simply could not ask for anything more from a catered chalet! We woke to the smell of coffee and bacon every morning. We got back from skiing just in time for the freshly baked cake then waited in the hot tub for our 4 course meal to be prepared by the most excellent chefs. Not forgetting the pre-dinner kir and canopes of course! Our boots were warmed in the boot warmers and there was ample space in the drying room for all our ski gear. The chalet was immaculate and very well equipped. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms spacious. There was ample room for everyone to sit down in the cosy living room by the open fire. Alex and Robin were the best hosts ever and nothing was too much trouble. They drove us to and from the chair lifts everyday free of charge and the transfer to and from the airport was very reasonable and very comfortable.We had a fantastic time and couldn't recommend it more highly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cote-d'Arbroz
3.7 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#28 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Ferme du Lac Vert
La Ferme du Lac Vert
#1 of 17 in Montriond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Chalet Chanterelle
Le Chalet Chanterelle
#2 of 6 in La Cote-d'Arbroz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Works - Chalet Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Works - Chalet Symphony

Property: The Works - Chalet Symphony
Address: La Merive | Morzine, 74110 La Cote-d'Arbroz, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Cote-d'Arbroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in La Cote-d'Arbroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury chalet designed to a high specification with your comfort in mind. We provide a warm well-thought-out, friendly reliable service. We have a very flexible approach to your stay and go the extra lengths to ensure your stay is the one you actually booked and more. All our rooms are spacious and fully serviced with their own full en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing