We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever!”
Review of Chalet Spycat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Cote-d'Arbroz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Spycat
Reviewed December 23, 2011

What an amazing holiday. We booked the chalet based on a recommendation and we were not disappointed. The hosts, Teresa and Paul and their chalet girl Lauren were so friendly and could not do enough to make their guests feel at home. The food was a joy every night and Teresa's deserts are legendary....we will be getting a few recipes from her. The toffee cheesecake was to die for. The other guests (1 other family and 2 couples) were so friendly it was like a week long house party and we had great fun chatting with them and Paul and Teresa as the wine flowed freely at dinner. The whole week was a complete rest, Paul collected us from the airport, arranged lift passes and for the ski hire company to come out to the chalet to fit boots etc. We were taken to the slopes and collected every day. On their night off they booked a table at a local restaurant and Lauren dropped us off and picked us back up again. We had nothing to worry about other than having fun.
The hot tub was fantastic - so weird to sit out when it is snowing, drinking champagne and chatting to the other guests, feeling very chilled.
The town of Morzine is also very good with lots of restaurants and cafes and very nice artisan shops, the slopes are easy to access with a good mix of beginner to advanced slopes. We were a mixed group from complete beginners to competent skiers and we all found a good range of pistes to choose from.
We will absolutely go back again - maybe a summer trip to try out the mountain biking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlossopManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 84 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

I visited the last week of the season with a family of 5 with 3 children under the age of 8. We stayed in 2 double rooms which were of a good size and ensuite. Overall the chalet was very clean and comfortable but the highlight was the food. We are vegitarians so we worried the food might be bland but we should not have been worried.

As a huge foodie I've got to say this was some of the best food I've ever tasted. Each dish was a delight. There are too many dishes to remember but the things that stand out are the desserts including tiramsu, creme brule and an almond and pear tart.

Children were fed first with some child friendly food so the adults could sit back and enjoy their dinner.

The guys who run the chalet were extremely friendly and made the trip a very enjoyable family break so overall highly recomended for foodies with young children

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sabjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Collection at Geneva, organising skis to chalet, organising passes, accomodation, food, drink, company. All excellent. Skiing within 2.5hrs of landing at Geneva!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We were a group of 2 families, so 10 in total; 4 adults, 4 children, 2 teenagers. Chalet Spycat is THE most amazing chalet ever. Where to start....? From the moment they collected us from the airport, Paul and Teresa couldn't have done more for us. Highlights of the restaurant level meals they prepared were the Chilli Beef, and the White Choc and Rasp Bread & Butter Pud. The chalet itself is perfect. From the veranda you have fantastic views across the mountains. So at the end of the day, after a hard day's skiing, you can relax in the hot tub, looking back to where you've just been, feeling smug! The bedrooms are very comfortable, with gorgeous bedlinen. Each room has it's own ensuite so it's perfect if you're sharing with friends as we were. Bear the dog has to be seen to be believed. Don't worry if dogs aren't your thing, Bear will change that I promise! Paul and Teresa are the perfect hosts and Spycat is the perfect chalet. Go try for yourselves .... you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliaandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Where do we start...?! I've been skiing a good few times, but never has a holiday been as good as this one. Chalet Spycat is the most magnificent place to stay..
Teresa and Paul run the most amazing chalet. Molton Brown products and waffle robes in the bedrooms, drinks brought out to us in the hot tub, even an entertaining dog called Bear... Now I don't get on with dogs generally, but this is no ordinary dog. He is the biggest, cuddliest dog you'll ever find.
We were picked up from the airport by Teresa, and we talked her to death the whole way to the chalet.. When we arrived we were met by Paul with tea/coffeee and Tiffin Cake. Perfect! Paul and Teresa arranged our lift passes for us and we were out on the slopes that afternoon. We were only staying for a long weekend, so getting on the snow earlier than expected was wonderful!
It doesn't matter how much skiing you do, you will come home a few pounds heavier. The food and drink at Chalet Spycat is superb! 4 Courses dished up every evening with a lovely atmosphere make for a perfect end to each perfect day.
Thank you Teresa, Paul and Bear.. We had a great time, and will most certainly see you next year!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a few child-free days away skiing and posted a search on the internet. Over 40 companies replied but Chalet Spycat stood out. Egytian cotton bed linen, Molton Brown products, a hot tub and a dog called Bear - I was sold!

We wanted a bit of luxury and pampering and that was exactly what we got! Paul and Teresa our hosts were fabulous. We were met by Paul at the airport and during the picturesque drive to the chalet we found Paul chatty, friendly and welcoming! Teresa was waiting at the chalet and was every bit as lovely as Paul.

The chalet was gorgeous. Homely but modern and spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble and lift passes awaited our arrival. We were on the slopes by the afternoon due to our host's efficiency which was just what we wanted given we were only on a short break. They will drive you to and from the slopes at your convenience and although the chalet is a few minutes drive outside Morzine you are dropped so close to the lifts there is very little walking the dreaded ski boots!

You are met on your return from skiing by scrummy cake and tea and then a dip in the hot tub or sauna. Paul and Teresa even keep you well stocked with beer and champagne whilst you are in the hot tub!!

The food was delicious. A lovely varied menu, beautifully presented, well cooked and plenty of it! This was served with very nice wine which was plentiful! Meal times are a lovely social event!

The bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely and the whole chalet has a bright, airy feel.

I have to mention Bear - the biggest dog in the world!! He was gorgeous and so well behaved and quiet that you didn't really know he was there!

If you are looking for a catered chalet you won't be disappointed. We've stayed in a few and this is by far the best. We came home feeling thoroughly relaxed and pampered and can't wait to go again.
Thankyou Paul and Teresa for a lovely few days!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHanrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We'd booked flights to Geneva and skiing lessons in Morzine but we weren't sure where in Morzine to stay as we'd never been before and this was our very first experience of skiing.

Having read the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and spoken with Paul on the phone, I had a good feeling about booking to stay at Spycat despite the slightly unusual name of the chalet!

From start to finish the week's holiday was so relaxing and enjoyable. I think what makes it work so well is that Paul and Teresa are warm, hospitable, and professional hosts and they keep the beautiful chalet immaculately tidy, cook delicious food, and provide transport to and from the slopes. They always put their guests first.

I'm not sure what other chalets or hotels in the area offer but I'm not going to bother to find out. I'll be back at Spycat next year and next time I'll be taking friends with me!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreasKyrris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Spycat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Spycat

Address: 1916 route de la Cote, 74110 La Cote-d'Arbroz, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Cote-d'Arbroz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in La Cote-d'Arbroz
Price Range: $110 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Spycat is our privately owned and run Alpine Chalet, offering Summer and Winter breaks. Small and cosy, with just 4 en-suite rooms, it's the perfect location for your Winter ski holiday, set in Morzine, in the heart of the massive Portes du Soleil ski area. Open throughout the year, with hot tub, log burner and in-house masseur, and too many activities locally to mention. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing