We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend break”
Review of Beehive Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beehive Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 5 Oakamoor B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend break”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago with friends while we went to alton towers..then we came back for our first wedding anniversary.. Lovely and quiet for a nice getaway with welcoming hospitality. Breakfast was great nice rooms with no noise from the other rooms.. Will come back in the near future..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs M Hogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last year with My boyfriend whilst visiting Alton Towers (or the "towers" to the locals)
This lovely little B&B is a 5 minute drive away, we found it to be clean & well serviced. The owners are really friendly & make sure your stay is as best as possible, brekfast in the morning was fantastic and plentiful, just what we needed to set us up for a day of fun at Alton Towers!
I would recommend the Beehive & would return again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is located in very quiet place close to Alton towers about 5-6 miles. Clean with big dining room. Nicely decorated. Very kind and helpful owners. Enjoyed staying there. Recommend to people who are looking for nice quiet break.

Room Tip: better to call and talk to owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olga011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Another brilliant weekend stay at this lovely guesthouse. It's perfectly located for Alton Towers, and you will beat all the traffic in the morning to the park too! It has peaceful surroundings and there is plenty to do in the local area, just ask for recommendations of where to go from the owners. The room was lovely and spacious, and the breakfast is yummy too. We'll definitely be staying again next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we chose this b n b as it was only 5 mins from Alton towers,. we Deffinatly made the right choice. we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The, rooms were very clean, felt like home from home. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and they bent over backwards to accommodate everyones requirements. Defiantly will return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiaDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend away with my girlfriend to visit "The Towers". Great B&B in a lovely little village, great value for money and the owners Colin and Ruth were lovely, very warm and welcoming. In addition, their living quaters were in a seperate part of the house which made us feel that we had privacy.

The B&B was ideal for our weekend away as was lovely and secluded and had everything we needed for a little relaxation and a break away from the hustle and bustle of city life! With only a 5 minute commute the Beehive Guesthouse was in an ideal location.

The breakfast (which we had on both days) was lovely; there was plenty of choice of cereals and juices and the full english breakfast was cooked to cater for individual tastes with local produce.The portion sizes were very generous too!

The room was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. You also have a small flat screen TV in the room with free view so that you can crash out after a long day if you wish. The only down fall was that the shower wasn't a power shower, but it would have no impact during a short stay.

Whilst there is a limited choice of places to eat in the village Colin and Ruth provided a variety of alternative choices from take-aways to nearby pubs/restaurants in close proximity and all of the locals were very welcoming of those visiting "the towers" as they call it.

All in all a 'bee'-autiful weekend away and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to those considering a trip to Alton Towers. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Myself and my husband went to Alton Towers for our honey moon last week, 24th Sep 2012, we stayed at the Beehive for the first and last night of our time away with one night in-between in the Alton Towers hotel.

This is the second time we have stayed here and each time have felt very welcome and at ease. The rooms are ample size, clean, bright and airy and offer everything you would require for a couple of nights stay. Even Menus of local restaurants and takeaways which we found very helpful! (hungry horse,great value for money!). The owners are very welcoming and very helpful. The beds are also all four poster and are very comfortable.

In the morning they offer a lovely full english breakfast, the mushrooms were the best mushrooms i had ever eaten!. The Beehive has lots of cute little touches of Bees around the place to add to its character, it is situated next to a local pub which is great for a drink and a game of pool. the setting of the Beehive in also in a lovely little village which was very easy to relax in.

On our Final night after many hours walking around the Alton Towers park, to which the owner knew, we were put in a room with a bath (not all rooms have a bath) which was heaven to relax in after 2 full days getting soaked by the rain!!

]After experiencing many problems at the Alton Towers hotel the middle night we were away we now wish we had stayed the whole three nights here, it would have cost us so much less, also it would have been a whole much nicer experience.

I would definitely recommend to family and friends. Thank you Colin and Ruth for a lovely stay!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a four poster bed and we have stayed in 3 out of all the rooms and all are lovley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakamoor
0.2 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 5 in Oakamoor
250 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
192 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#1 of 2 in Froghall
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
YHA Dimmingsdale
YHA Dimmingsdale
#2 of 2 in Oakamoor
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Beehive Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beehive Guesthouse

Property: Beehive Guesthouse
Address: Churnet View Road | Oakamoor, Oakamoor ST10 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Oakamoor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakamoor
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beehive Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing