We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Food, Just OK”
Review of Ye Olde Star Inn - CLOSED

Ye Olde Star Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK Food, Just OK”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Looking as many do for somewhere different from the restaurants at Alton Towers, we saw this located near a campsite. Assuming its position would mean good food and good value it's a little disappointing.

The menu is very drab. Don't expect anything special. Steak, Chicken or fish is as exotic as you get. The specials are more appealing though.

The only problem is, if I'm going to have a pub grub then I expect pub prices and pub portions. Instead you get pub grub, presented in wannabe MasterChef style and restaurant prices. Ciabatta with garlic is great grilled to melt, but done in the microwave is a bit wet and soggy. And pots of veg which are all limp, also suggests microwaving. Not good.

The food is good but nothing special. We went on a Monday evening, only the local youth were present. Very nice and unoffending. A sign that said at busy times there would be a delay. There was a delay but it wasn't busy!!!!!

There are better places and not to difficult to find. We were hungry and struggling to find a local Indian!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozzer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Initially came on the Sunday for the carvery, although by the time we got there 3.30pm, there was only ham and a small bit of turkey left. Three of our party opted for the carvery and i went for the cumberland sausage and mash. All the food was piping hot and plenty of it. My daughter enjoyed her kids meal. We ate in the restaurant which was lovely although somewhat cold.
We went back a couple of nights later and ate in the bar this night. Initially there was only one member of staff on and we had to go to the bar for our drinks which we didn't have a problem with. Again, the meals were nice and plenty of food to be had. No room for puddings though which was a shame as the sticky toffee pudding looked fab.
Reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Accomodating friendly meal”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Turned up, as they hadn't answered the phone when we tried to call, with seven adults and six children, just after 6pm and they slotted us in. Fantastic pub food, cooked to order so not instant delivery and better for it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoppyCaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-sea
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Short staff poor food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We wanted an alternative to the crowds at the Alton Towers restaurant, but sadly this place didn't come up to scratch. Firstly it was very short staffed, so we were eventually shown to table, expected to be asked for drinks but we had to order at the bar, no problem with that but it would have been nice to be told it when we sat down, as it does look like a restaurant. Service was slow due to staffing, chips were well overcooked. I expect it is not always like this, but it enough for us to stay in Alton Towers and eat next time. It was also cold so wore coats in the restaurant. We have been before several years ago and had good food and service, so we probably were a bit unlucky, so take a balanced view of feedback.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food was nice but expensive.

Good service , nice wine,
Overall it was good but wouldn't return. A bit old and outdated for what my husband and I like.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sknightblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Star Inn also viewed

Oakamoor, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing