We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous - Just what a B & B shoudl be like”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakamoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crowtrees Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Oakamoor B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fabulous - Just what a B & B shoudl be like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here about 12 years ago and then returned last year because we enjoyed it so much. The first time we stayes we wre 5 of us in one room, this time teh family expanded so we had 3 double rooms.
Everything was perfect & the breakfast absolutely delicious. The couple who run it are delightful.

It is so close to Alton Towers - just fab.

Room Tip: The new barn conversion rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Womble422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here while we visited Alton Towers for a couple of days. I'd booked a double room for me and my 12 year old daughter but my husband got some time off and was able to tag along. When I phoned to explain the situation Dianne the lady who runs the B&B was very accommodating and it was no problem at all to add an extra. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and greeted warmly, not only by Dianne but by the goat who is named Billy and is so friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable and had an en-suite bathroom. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room was equipped with a large flat screen digital TV and a fridge. We were greeted in the mornings by Chris and Dianne and seated at a table with lovely views of the gardens and hills. The breakfast was really tasty and I would go so far to say the best sausages I have ever tasted. Crowtrees Farm is a magical place to stay and I wouldn't even consider booking anywhere else next time we go to Alton Towers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night before visiting Alton Towers.
The owners were lovely, so friendly and helpful, we were a small group and had Rooms 7 & 8 which have there own car parking space with a picnic table area and a BBQ (old and needs a clean but its there).
The rooms were really great, big with comfy beds, lovely and clean, great en-suite bathroom with a fab shower.
Really nice homecooked breakfast.

On the evening we ate at The Queens which is about 4 miles away, avoid it !! Definately go to the Ye Old Star Inn which is in Oakamoor about 2 miles from the B & B.
You can't walk to any pubs etc as its on quite a dangerous narrow road.

Would definately recommend and will stay here again.

Phillipa & Dave
Co. Durham

Room Tip: Rooms 7 / 8 would be my choice again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed for three nights at thus b&b as a family so that we could visit Alton Towers and the surrounding area. Both Diane and Chris were first class hosts and the accommodation was faultless. The b&b is located in peaceful countryside with fabulous views yet is only about 7 mins drive from Alton Towers. We love the freedom of the outdoors and you can still experience this given the way that they have made the gardens/yard accessible for sitting, eating or even barbecuing. Local pubs are welcoming and I would take up diane's recommendations for evening dining/eating which we enjoyed. We will plan to be back on our next visit to the area or even as a welcome stop over between Scotland and visits far south.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the place - UK!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Crowtrees Farm while visiting Alton Towers for the first time. To be honest Alton Towers was OK but the highlight of our stay was our accommodation. We arrived late on the evening and were warmly welcomed by Diane. We stayed in a family room in the barn which was lovely, spotless and spacious and even had a fridge which enabled us to take a packed lunch to Alton Towers. There was an area outside where you could sit and enjoy the evening sunshine and even a barbecue to use if you desired. There was just a great feeling of space and freedom in such a lovely setting which we really enjoyed. The breakfasts were delicious and of such good quality which set you up for the day. And not forgetting Billy the goat whom our son tried to convince us had to come home with us. What a character! Crowtrees Farm was a really lovely base for our visit and we will return in the not too distant to enjoy the warm hospitality of Diane and Chris and to visit the other numerous attractions in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Nothing was to much trouble for Diane and Chris our hosts. We immediately felt at home at Crowtrees Farm, we all fell in love with Billy the dog, sorry goat that thought he was a dog! Best cooked breakfast in the UK.The views were spectacular, proximity to Alton Towers was perfect, overall you couldn't want more.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkhair1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The purpose of our visit was to spend time at Alton Towers and we booked Crowtrees Farm as we didn't want to travel far, to and from the park. Crowtrees is in an excellant location as it took us less than 10mins to get there by car!
Crowtrees has been awarded a 4 Star by The AA but in my opinion it should be a 5, the accomodation is lovely, well cared for and in a stunning location. The couple who run it, Chris and Dianne Bickle do a fantastic job making you feel very welcome and are on hand to give you advice on the local area!
We stayed in a family room(2 Adults ,2 kids aged 7 & 9) and the room was very spacious, spotless and tastfully decorated. We had a kingsize bed(The bedlinen smelt wonderful) and the kids had a bunkbed which they described as their den and loved sleeping in it!
We all enjoyed a cooked breakfast each morning which was delicious and well cooked using the freshest and local ingredients...Mmmm!
We can not praise this little B & B high enough and if you are looking for a place near Alton Towers that is well priced, beautiful scenery and very welcoming...then look no further!
On another note we also can recommend eating in Ye Olde Star Inn, Oakamoor and Sneyd Arms, Whiston, both are bery close to Crowtrees but you will still need to travel by car to get to either of them...but the food is lovely!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanticWeekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakamoor
2.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 5 in Oakamoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beehive Guesthouse
Beehive Guesthouse
#3 of 5 in Oakamoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
YHA Dimmingsdale
YHA Dimmingsdale
#2 of 2 in Oakamoor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Crowtrees Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowtrees Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crowtrees Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Crow Trees Eaves Lane, Oakamoor ST10 3DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Oakamoor
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakamoor
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowtrees Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer traditional bed and breakfast facilities on our working farm in the stunning Churnet valley in the Staffordshire Moorlands; an area for couples and families alike to enjoy walking, cycling and peaceful countryside whilst still only 3 miles from Alton Towers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing