We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Lodge in a lovely setting for a family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakamoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ramshorn Estate
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday with my son , daughter in law, her parents and our 2 grandchildren staying in the Ellastone Lodge ( Cotton Lodge in Hoeseasons ).
The lodge slept 8 in comfort with nice fixtures and fittings and towels and good quality bedding
and was very clean. The back overlooked the pond and was very secluded with hot tub, BBQ and ample garden furniture.
As it is set in woodland there are wood chipped paths but if you stray off these there are a few Brambles but we gathered 2 large bowls of fresh Blackberries without leaving the paths.There are only 8 Lodges which are well spread out so you have your own space.
We lit the wood burner every night which gave a lovely homely feel and the free huge basket of logs lasted well. you can have your basket refilled for £4.Many thanks to Vinnie the Maintenance man who checked the Hot tub each day and replaced a broken light bulb, provided a relacement kitchen bin and cured a small leak from the upstairs shower and recoded the DVD player in the TV in our little Grandsons bedroom all within hours of being told .
Ideally situated for exploring the local attractions like Alton Towers and the little town of Cheadle is only 5 miles away and has a Morrisons, Iceland and Asda so getting provisions is not a problem.
We all enjoyed ourselves very much and hope to return soon

Room Tip: We felt that the Ellastone Lodge was in the best position. We even had a very friendly Cock Pheasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scandinavia_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 89 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in the norbury lodge for a weekend away. 11 of us stayed In a lodge that sleeps 12. We did not feel crowded. Two huge sofas seated everyone. The lodge was very clean and the kitchen well equipped. The site is under new management, he could not do enough to help us and asked for our feedback as to any ways that things could be improved. I would recommend these lodges and we will be returning for what I hope will be another fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayverdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After reading the last 2 reviews I was very nervous but wow what a fantastic time within beautiful settings and a lovely relaxing lodge. We stayed at the ellastone lodge with 8 of us ranging from 6months to 69yrs. All clean fresh bedding and towels modern deco (sofa moved as individual seats not ideal but ok) log burner makes it so cosy and very affordable large basket was only £4 hot tub maintained daily and maintenance was well on the ball. We had a blown bulb outside and it was fixed by next day then my parents shower leaked and the DVD player not working in my sons room both fixed within 1-2 hrs. Walks on site lovely, yes there is brambles but my son is only 4yrs and he managed it fine. Yes there are flys but we used fly spray nightly and worked a treat well recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andypandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, dirty, dirty.
Dust everywhere and sticky surfaces and floors. The outdoor areas past the flagged area is forest and they simply don't touch it! There is no way to explore the forest as its over run with nettles- so even the setting isn't luxury. I'm sure when this place opened everything was pristine and that where the good reviews have come from. But things look worn or are broken.
It needs better taking care of- and therefore the guests need taking care of better. Would much much rather go to center parcs!
Even our towels had holes in them!
Just no good enough- and it may say its No. 1 in oakmoor for speciality accommodation but its only competition is a youth hostel!
Beware! Would not and will not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralphpenderel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I am someone who uses Trip Advisor a lot. of all the reviews i have ever left this is by far my worst. i do not write negative reviews lightly and 90% of the reviews i write are 4 or 5 stars.

Myself and my family stayed in STANTON LODGE in August. We were so excited to go to this "Luxury" lodge. The location is good. No denying that. It's everything else that is the problem.
The vents in the patio doors were not vents. They were holes. Because of this flies were getting in all day. The only thing offered to us were two disgusting fly papers. Which were never replaced in the whole week (see pictures). Outside there was a sign for a fire extinguisher but no fire extinguisher, in one of the rooms there were no blinds- at all. So every morning as soon as the sun came up we were woken up- not the most relaxing holiday.
The outside area was dirty with party poppers and cigarette butts and the main table inside has been botched instead of replaced and badly varnished so it is sticky and horrible.
The wear and tear of the furnishing normally would be a big issue and we understand these things happen (all the leather is coming off the sofas) but when so many other things went wrong- it means the smaller things seem bigger.
On the Wednesday evening my brother was cooking us all a meal. Then the gas ran out!!!!!!! We rang the office and were given an emergency number. Over 50 mins later a man turned up with no apology just a "these things happen and 50 mins isn't long to wait" it is TOO long to wait for something that should never happen. All the food was ruined!!
One of the by the washing machine/dryer has also been botched and is illegal (see picture) when I mentioned this to the company Amos leisure- they said a previous guest must have done
it HA!!! Such a lie.
Everything I have mentioned I mentioned to them in a letter of complaint. They blamed everything on an employee who they sacked whilst we were there!! Took no responsibility for the fact he was their employee- and therefore represented them!
When I sent my letter of complaint they said they would respond in two weeks. They responded in 3 weeks- which just annoyed us even more.
They even had the audacity to say that we misused the hot tubs and threatened that they could have turned the hot tubs off!! They said the fire extinguisher, holes in doors, non replacement of fly paper, running out of gas- were all the fault of this employee that they sacked and therefore not their fault and no compensation offered.
When I said that we had paid a premium for the lodge and expected a premium service they threw the amount we paid in our faces and said "that's not that much" erm!! Who the hell are you amos leisure!!
We as a family were so excited for this holiday and when we were out of the lodge (pools cavern, Alton towers) we had a great time. But the accommodation does not meet our standards... And the service after they have your money- IS A JOKE! Would we return to the Peak District- yes.
Would we ever return to stanton lodge or any of the lodges on the estate or ever book anything with Amos Leisure- a resounding NO for all 14 people who stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KristinWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had my big birthday stay with friends here. Absolutely fabulous weekend at this lodge. Spotlessly clean and good quality fixtures and fittings. Slept 8 very comfortably. Can honestly say it was GREAT! All of us would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonneandpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in Stanton lodge and between 14 of us it was a really good price. A perfect base for a girls weekend away, plenty of parking, brilliant pub a 5 minute walk away (Ye Olde Star Inn - would highly recommend) and Alton Towers a 5 minute drive away. The lodge was clean, had plenty of space and seating for everyone, the kitchen was really well equipped and the 3 fridges were definitely needed, even had a bag of ice in the freezer, great outside space, wasn't that warm but was really sheltered, we loved the two hot tubs and the BBQ area was brilliant just outside the side door.
Everyone was really pleased but our only criticism is that although 5 of the 7 rooms were ensuite there were no doors on the ensuites which was a bit awkward and actually meant 14 girls using one bathroom at night! Wasn't too bad during the day once we had a system of bag in front of the room door, don't enter, but the bedroom doors also didn't lock so a breeze along the hallway and the doors would open anyway...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakamoor
1.8 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
1.2 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 5 in Oakamoor
285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beehive Guesthouse
Beehive Guesthouse
#3 of 5 in Oakamoor
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
YHA Dimmingsdale
YHA Dimmingsdale
#2 of 2 in Oakamoor
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Ramshorn Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramshorn Estate

Address: Ramshorn Road, Oakamoor ST10 3BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Oakamoor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oakamoor
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Ramshorn Estate Hotel Oakamoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing