We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd Path to garden at rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd
Path to garden at rear
Briscoe Mill bridge over the River Ehen
Lounge with TV, dvd player
Kitchen with fold away dining table, microwave, oven, fridge
Twin room with toy box and trundle for 3rd child - bedding provided
Picnic bench over beck
On Briscoe Mill Bridge looking north up the River Ehen
Great place to set off on your cycle ride, close to the Coast to Coast route
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Egremont, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
stokiejan...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay at this beautiful cottage was fantastic, Sean & Sarah were the perfect hosts. On arrival there was a welcome basket of goodies which was very useful, they gave us lots of tips on where to visit, including a hair raising trip Sean recommended over the Rhinos the views were amazing!!! The cottage had everything you could need and very well equipped. Would love to go back, the only down side to our holiday was one of our dogs broke her foot so water was out of bounds no lakes for us!!! Thanks Sarah & Sean for a great stay

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Hi there, really sorry this response is so late and thank you so much for your thank you card - it was a lovely surprise. Hope all the dogs are doing ok and hope to see you soon, thanks again Sarah and Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Cottage nestled by the river”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was exactly as described on the website. Ideally situated close to Egremont and the main coastal road but tucked into a peaceful valley next to the River Ehen. Footpaths beside the river lead you to the town in one direction or a small lake in the other.

The cottage was well equipped for a small family and dog with two good sized bedrooms and a cosy lounge. The kitchen although small, offered enough room to cook and eat, and the bathroom which was off the kitchen was suitably equipped. The storage heaters and electric fire created sufficient heat in the cold evenings.

The welcome pack was very much appreciated and the information folder and local books very useful.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom being downstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. Please recommend us to your friends and family and if there is anything we can/should be doing differently, please do not hesitate to let us know. We are always looking at ways to improve.
Kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinet...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely week at Briscoe Mill cottage. The cottage is of a good standard and we enjoyed the welcome pack provisions left for us on our arrival.
Wifi made sure sure our teenage son was happy ! and we found the cottage very peaceful and comfortable for our stay.
The owners have very tastefully ensured that this cottage an ideal holiday cottage destination by retaining the feel of a quaint old cottage in the bedrooms and living room whilst ensuring the bathroom and kitchen are both up to date and with a modern feel -an ideal combination
We enjoyed the surrounding area very much. This area is a quieter side of The Lake District away from the bustle of Windermere, Coniston and Keswick and we enjoyed amazing walks along the coast path from Whitehaven to St Bees, a high ridge walk above Buttermere (High Stile etc) and walking around Ennerdale - a beautiful lake and almost deserted even in the middle of August.
Lots of places to eat nearby if you don't want to cook. We enjoyed a lovely meal at The Manor in St Bees and The Briery in Workington (a little way up the road). We also used the local Star Takeaway in Egremont (only 1 mile away and do delivery!) which all are to be recommended.
A fantastic little cottage and as our daughter lives locally we shall almost certainly be returning

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: having to go home !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thank you for review its very much appreciated. We hope to see you again if you fancy more walks this side of the Lakes. Cheers Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros H
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week with husband, teenager and two dogs. Greeted with a lovely hamper including a treat for the dogs ! Beautiful gardens with a 'Fairy Glen' by the stream which my daughter loved not least as the chickens kept her company! Owner is close by but not intrusive and the cottage is exceptionally clean and modern. I would highly recommend this to everyone. We had a great time, Thanks Sarah and Sean and children. :-)

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Nothing,loved it all
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your trip to West Cumbria and to Briscoe Mill. Hope you get many more miles in with the camper! Very pleased the Fairy Glen got used, its a lovely peaceful spot and next time please light a fire and toast marshmallows. All the very best, Sarah and gang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPattison...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated cottage situated perfectly for easy access to lakes and coast.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has been renovated beautifully so as to give a contemporary appearance whilst utilising many original features. It was immaculately clean throughout, with a well kept garden and outside seating, and had everything needed for your holiday. The welcome pack of bread, milk, biscuits, wine and gorgeous fresh eggs laid by the resident hens was a lovely touch. The cottage was situated in a lovely quiet spot within easy access to the amenities in Egremont and also the lakes and the coast. Would definitely stop here again.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review - it is very much appreciated and really helps us as we a trying to encourage more people to make the extra few miles to experience the quieter side of the lakes. We're glad you and the dogs had a fab time and hope you were able to get onto the beach with them. Best wishes SSD&L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spatz2014
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful cottage in the lovely Lake District”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a perfect stay in this lovely cottage with its peaceful garden. It is a very nice cottage and you can find so many visitor attractions quite in the near. We liked most hiking on a few pathways on the top auf some mountains or around some quiet and natural lakes in the lake district. It was perfect for the children, too, and they loved their stay in Egremont.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2014
What a wonderful family you have, our children thoroughly enjoyed playing with them and sharing in the memories. You also inspired Daniel to climb Scafell and he loved it. Hope you are enjoying the rest of the summer. All the very best from Cumbria!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bubbles75...
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting great hosts”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed here about two weeks ago. First impressions were gorgeous cottage set in a pretty garden on the edge of the River Ehan.
We were greeted by Sarah and Sean as old friends.
The cottage was beautifully provisioned with farm eggs (Sarah is happy to buy in anything you may need ahead to save you shopping if you are arriving from overseas or cannot get to take provisions with you). We were delighted to find our wonderfully stocked fridge and cupboards with all we had requested and more.
The setting idyllic, our hosts we now feel are in fact friends, a feeling of coming home. That is rare. Would definitely go back. Thanks Sarah and Sean

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the care by our hosts
Liked least: A little smell of mustiness on first arrival which improved with warmth and open doors
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so glad you were able to experience some of the area where your mum grew up. And thank you so very much for the bottle of No1, extremely kind of you. Good luck to you and your family with the vineyard and we will certainly call in when we head down under. Warmest wishes SSD&L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing