We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B and nice and friendly owner”
Review of Gasthof Schonegg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gasthof Schonegg
Ranked #1 of 2 Goldswil B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B and nice and friendly owner”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I fall in love with this B&B the moment the bus drove passed it. It is cosy little place with a traditional Swiss style well kept premise. The owner took pride in running the place. Breakfast is generous. She even helped us to plan places to visit based on our schedule and weather. She also gave us the bus schedule and reminded us not to miss the last bus. The only thing is that the pillows are soft and I find it uncomfortable. Nevertheless, it is the best B&B during our 5 days stay in Switzerland. Will return to this lovely B&B if I have another opportunity. Thank you very much for the nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Would recommend anyone going to Interlaken to stay in this cosy little place.

We were greeted by the nic lady owner who upgraded us from a room with shared bathroom to a room with a view. Really thankful. The room had a nice view of the mountain and a portion of Interlaken as well.

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was bread and ham but the view was fantastic.

This guesthouse can be reached easily by Bus no 102 from Interlaken Ost station.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limstephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A quintessential-looking guest house come B&B. The hotel is around a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the Interlaken from Goldswil.

A bus can take you here upon arrival at the train station - Interlaken Ost. Find the information display board for hotels - press button for this hotel and all will be revealed (distance, location on map and bus number).

Upon arrival, you are checked in the regular way... a free 3 days bus ticket is given for each person (keep it as you'll find prices for anything minor like a bus journey are über expensive!).

The hotel is very Swiss! We stayed in the top floor - very nice! A key is given to let yourselves in and out of the main and side entrances. The room has a comfortable bed, t.v. (no point in watching it as the scenery outside is breathtaking), sink and storage. You'll have to share the bathroom with 2 other rooms - remember to take things out of the bathroom and clean it down before you leave.

The B&B serves food and drink - we didn't try it this time but will next time.

I recommend that you stay here, it's budget but didn't feel like it at all!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed for two nights in August. The hotel appealed because of the traditional look and feel when booking and this didn't disappoint upon arrival with red & white checked bedding, over stuffed pillows, pretty flower boxes and lots of wood. The hotel is just across the bridge from Interlaken in Goldswil with door to door bus connection from the train station.

We arrived very early in the morning after our train from Zurich but even though it was only 10:00am we were able to leave bags etc in the room. All of Switzerland is "poisonously" expensive and Interlaken is no exception. We weren't informed whether breakfast was included or not. Our room was on the top floor looking out over the car park and road, but even this gave a pretty view of the houses opposite and the surrounding mountain.

The price is a bit expensive (hence my value score), although all of Switzerland is extremely expensive - think £23 for two Mac Donalds meals at lunch time. There is loads to do in Interlaken but pack your credit card to pay for it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDave25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
349 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Schoenegg is in Goldswil, just across the bridge from Interlaken. We had stayed there twice before over the years, and were happy to be returning. It is now a Bed and Breakfast. Our room was on a lower level with a fantastic view of the valley and mountains. The accommodations were simple, but very Swiss, with red and white check quilt, pillow covers, and curtains. The owners speak English well and are very lovely people. It is an excellent value, compared to Interlaken hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Just a few miles from Interlaken, overlooking the canal between Thunersee and Brienzersee, Gasthof Schonegg is a friendly family run guest house, ideally placed for you to explore the surrounding Alps. We arrived on 2 motorcylces and were quickly offered the use of their family garage...greatly appreciated. They have a nice balcony to sit out having breakfast/drinks, which offered fabulous views of the mountains and Interlaken. I think this place offers something for every traveller, young or old, skier or motorcyclist. The rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable, clean and well maintained. This is our second visit, last trip was 2005, and although little has changed with the decor, the hospitalilty and standards are second to none. The only negative side to the trip was that Switzerland is very expensive, and any excursion very costly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenrobo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at Gasthof schoenegg for 2 nights. The rooms are very clean and the view from the rooms overlooks a canal and parts of interlaken. The Gasthof is easily connected with Interlaken by bus and its only abt 2 kms from Interlaken ost station. the downside of the place is that it has no balconies and is also a little steep in price. However i think in peak season in swiss the rates are in any case higher than normal. The owner was very friendly and also gave us a table fan and conversion plug on request. Overall, I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goldswil
1.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Schonegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Schonegg

Property: Gasthof Schonegg
Address: Hauptstrasse 2, Goldswil 3805, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Goldswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Goldswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Schonegg 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Gasthof Schonegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing