We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated and quiet”
Review of Royal Bay Kavarna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Bay Kavarna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A place to restore your forces, to be lazy or meditative.
You need a good book and UV protection cream.
Maybe larger sun umbrellas, mosquito net and a hairdryer were suitable.
Rich breakfast, nice bartender on the beach bar

Room Tip: Apartment 205 is very quiet, not too close to the swimming pool or bar area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irinairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Royal Bay Kavarna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 63 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited the Royal Bay Hotel for a business dinner during a project meeting. We didn't have the opportunity to visit the hotel rooms, but the setting of the tables of the restaurant was enough; located next to the swimming pool, one could have his lunch/dinner with a lovely view.

The dishes were well-prepared and tasty, including mostly seafood (oysters and fish). Even though I am not a big fan of fish, I have to admit that I enjoyed my meal. The only drawback was the dessert: Serving a yoghurt-based dessert after seafood is not always a good idea (many people are allergic to this combination. I would prefer something with chocolate in order to leave this nice and full taste in the mouth.

Service was nice but rather slow. For example, the water bottles were only once refilled while at the same time wine kept coming to the table.

I am not sure about the cost of the meal, but it must have been mid to slightly-high range, due to the quality of the settlement and the classy atmosphere. Overall I left with good impressions from the restaurant of the Royal Bay hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vprot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived at Royal Bay for a short holiday-3days-. Is a very special place in a very special location:just a meters by the sea. Is a new resort with all the balconies overlooking the sea -and what a wonderful rocky cliffs-, it has a fine pool ,the water was a litteele bit cold but very clean, and a very special restaurant by the pool and by the sea. We had an apartment with one bedroom , a little cosy kitchen and one bathroom. We also had a nice balcony over both rooms . The rooms were decorated in white and blue with marine theme. The retaurant is beautiful, with fine and calm music , with good meals also with fresh seafood and fresh fish and a fine selection of wines. The waiters had a good behavior and if -in the night- while you are staying at a table outside and it is cold they can take you a...fleece blanket.
This location is very close to Dalboka -mussel farm and you can very esy rich it.
Definitely we shall come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jinxy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent an excellent 8 days with our child (11 mounths old) in august 2012. The rooms are very clean, and the staff are friendly. Best choice for family with children, beacouse of the location (positioned on the beach, and relative isolated from the crowded area). The hotel has a nice pool, and all the rooms have sea view. A big advantage from our point of view, every room has a refrigerator with freezer and a small kichinete. The restaurant is ok, and the menu is generous. The price for food served from the restaurant is ok. The breakfast was ok, (do not drink the coffee from the free coffeemachine and the juice (;-)) - they can offer you for ~0.75euro a nice real coffee).
The minus: - the hotel offers no entertainment (such as water activities at the beach, a.s.o). Also lack of showers for the beach area is forcing you to use the only one built pool shower, or the room’s showers.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool or bar area are a little more noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vlad_age34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very nice hotel, clean rooms, amazing view over the Black Sea. Big pool and also a small private beach near by.
The breakfast was ok, not too generous. Do not drink the coffee from the coffee machine :).
Very close to Balchik (15 min by car).

Room Tip: Choose a room not close to the outdoor bar if you want silence during the night.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The location is perfect, directly on the beach, with a superb view of the sea on all apartments. The view is simply astonishing. Also, what I personally liked was the fact that is isolated, far from the noise and bustle of the classical resorts. A perfect escape if you are in the mood of a quite relaxing time with the ones close to you.
A little warning is that it is not so easy to find at first, as it is not actually in Kavarna, but between Kavarna and Balchik. Still, there are traffic signs on the main road and after to guide you to the hotel.

Accommodation is good. We booked a one bedroom apartment and it is according to a decent 4 stars standard. Nothing to complain here. The rooms are pretty well sound proofed, which was a plus, as we had some storms and extreme windy conditions with a toddler sleeping in the living. All rooms have sea view and the price was ridiculous low a 31 EUR per night for the apartment.

Nice pool area next to the beach. The beach is really really small, but at least it is private and you don't get to worry about your belongings, you won't be disturbed by different vendors or any other inconvenience of a public beach.

The staff was nice, but in the restaurant I would recommend to make sure they understood your order, as not all of them speak English. There were some confusions there during our stay.

The food is good but I think here they compensate for the low accommodation price, as it is a little bit expensive. Breakfast included - continental breakfast with five choice. They only have expensive wine, from 18 EUR up - unless you like the very sweet Bulgarian wine.

For kids I am not sure it is such a perfect location as there is little to do there for their entertainment. It is ok for a family week-end, not so for a family holiday, as the kids would get bored easily. Special attention to toddlers as the pool has no protection and it is on the terrace of the restaurant.

To sum it up, it is a great location at a great value for money for a week-end escape, if you want to run away from the bustle and just relax, with or without family.

Room Tip: There is little difference between the price of a studio and one bedroom apartment. Choose the apart...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ElaReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
5  Thank Ewa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavarna
0.4 mi away
White Lagoon Beach Resort
16.8 mi away
Estreya Palace
Estreya Palace
#30 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
48 reviews
15.3 mi away
Sunshine Magnolia & Spa
Sunshine Magnolia & Spa
#58 of 110 in Golden Sands
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Briz Hotel
Briz Hotel
#87 of 110 in Golden Sands
50 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Aqua Azur
Hotel Aqua Azur
#16 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
58 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Beach
Hotel Astoria Beach
#84 of 110 in Golden Sands
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bay Kavarna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bay Kavarna

Address: 7 Apolonia str. | Sea Coast Area, Kavarna 9650, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Kavarna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kavarna
Price Range: $40 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bay Kavarna 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Bay Kavarna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing