We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kavarna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

great resort! very nice accomodation, great apartments, very clean, very big rooms, nice furniture, great services, cozy beach, transportation to the beach, restaurant on the beach, sea sports. great personal, very prompt and responsive! just great, from many points of view! i will defenetly get back. stayed with my family, my child 8 nights.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_TC, Manager at Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Vali,

Thank you for choosing Thracian Cliffs Resort for your holiday and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    46
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
44
55
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have never, ever seen or played on such a magnificent golf course. Every shot a challenge with the first 8 holes on the cliff edge. When the gentleman at the pro-shop asked if I had enough balls and I answered "yes, I have 20" he shook his head and said "well, I hope you'll be OK". I am a 16 handicap and often needing a 150m carry to reach the fairway, I can definitely say that this was a thriller. Green fees are high but worth every penny! We did not sleep at the resort, rather at Golden Sands that is a 30-40 minute drive away.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a tee-time. Go when the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_TC, Manager at Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your visit at Thracian Cliffs Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round of golf and the spectacular Gary Player Signature designed golf course.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just a few years old, Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort was host to the European PGA World Match Play Championship this year. We have stayed there numerous times and it is, quite simply, our favorite spot in the world.

The Gary Player designed golf course defies description -- breathtaking sea views at every hole and green and dramatic cliffs make this golf course one of the most spectacular in the world. It was just names 2014 European Golf Course of the Year by IAGTO.

The resort is a 45 minute drive from the Varna airport, which is accessible from many European cities and with cheap flights from Sofia. While it is an "out of the way" place for many people, especially Americans, it is well worth the trip for an unforgettably memorable experience. I traveled to Thracian Cliffs this spring with a couple of friends and my one friend, a life-long golfer, proclaimed it the best course he has ever played. I asked him what the best one was before playing Thracian Cliffs, and he said "Pebble Beach." You will not regret visiting this place!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is very nice, but there are just little things that are lacking which could make this place so much better and I will tell you exactly how we saw it. This is just a golf resort, so don't expect a plush 5 star hotel with a grand reception, marble trimmings or numerous bars.

Reception: Doubles up with the pro shop.
Rooms: Suites are very nice with balcony and furniture. Kitchen area with dishwasher, fridge, washing machine, coffee maker, toaster, oven and cooker. Marina Village suites are closer to the reception, pro shop, restaurant and spa. Hillside suites are just that bit further away.
Restaurant: Food and staff is good. Found out from another guest you can order omellettes, poached eggs and eggs benedict at breakfast - we weren't told about this.
Spa: Very nice and has a gym. Treatments and massages excellent value. Jacuzzi (fits 3) and small steam room. Staff excellent.
Golf Course: Superb, fantastic views - holes 6 and 7 in particular are a treat to play.

Just a few niggles, there is an Aldo supermarket on site but this closed for the season 3 days in to our holiday without any notice. There are supposedly other shops but they weren't open and looked derelict. Majority of the staff are very good, just had a problem with the atitude and manner of a couple male members of staff on daytime reception and in the pro shop which I won't go into, but if the management of Thracian Cliffs are reading this and want feed back, then I will, whereas, the female staff were great and very helpful. There is a shuttle service to ferry you around the resort, when and if it turns up, we gave up waiting a number of times . Unless you have a car the resort is quite isolated and if it rains, which it did, there are no other activities to turn to ie: games room, pool/snooker table, indoor swimming pool etc. Oh, one more thing and it's probably just me, but you get 2 single and very thin duvets on the double beds.

There is serious potential here and is a great place to play golf but when the world matchplay moves on to it's next venue, this place will need to do a bit to get people to come back as slight issues need to be addressed and they need to start on it now.

Room Tip: Marina village room 129 - fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A group of us stayed at Thracian Cliffs and had a ball. The rooms are outstanding with every amenity. The resort is lovely. The climate in September was also ideal around 25C. Food and overall catering at the resort was excellent and the breakfasts extremely enjoyable sitting under the pergola with delightful sea breezes blowing in.
There golf course is amazing and the choice for this years's World matchplay. The course was spectacular and the practice facilities fantastic. We also played another Gary Player course nearby and a Woosnam course also (not so good, must have been Ian's off day!).
Local hostelleries not so amazing but generally I would wholeheartedly recommend this resort for anyone who loves their golf but also their creature comforts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having golfed in various parts of the world, a wary group of 8 of us spotted that the 2013 World Matchplay was going to be played here. So we decided to try it for ourselves. To our relief and great satisfaction we have just spent a week based at Thracian Cliffs, playing their course, and the nearby Blacksearama, and Lighthouse courses. The hotel was excellent, very high quality. We stayed in the large two bedroom apartments on a complex literally on the cliffs. A beautiful setting. The restaurants, bars, clubhouse and beach were really high standard in terms of food, and the service was most friendly.
If you're golfing, Thracian Cliffs runs right along the cliffs and is a monster of a course, and should be played off the friendliest tees - we were told to expect to lose as many balls as half of your handicap! Lighthouse is a lovely golf course, overlooking the sea, but the development itself is dull, with disappointing architecture; Blacksearama is the best course, again overlooking the sea, but with a beautiful setting.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PresidentSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We travelled to the Thracian Cliffs from Veliko Turnovo - we could not believe it would take 5 hours as suggested on our suggested route from Michelin - we already knew the route to Varna, which was very easy driving, but somehow if did take nearly five hours - the last few miles from Varna seemed to take ages, so would definitely fly direct to Varna next time.
I am not a golfer, and have never been tempted to become one - but I did envy the golfers out on the greens at this hotel, what fantastic views they must have had.
We had a one bedroom apartment, very comfortable and very spacious. The kitchen was well equipped, and if we had stayed for more than one night I might have been tempted to cook, or at least make breakfast. There is a supermarket on site for basic groceries. Wish I had taken some coffee to make use of the brand new coffee maker.
There was a washing machine too!
It was the delicious food that was the high point for me - probably the best meal we have had in Bulgaria, probably the most expensive too, but worth it, very friendly staff in the restaurant. My husband would love to go back with some golfing friends for a long weekend, I would be quite envious if I did not get to go back with them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tryavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavarna
2.2 mi away
White Lagoon Beach Resort
14.5 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
6.6 mi away
White Rock Castle Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lighthouse Golf & Spa Resort
15.0 mi away
Grifid Hotel Arabella
Grifid Hotel Arabella
#2 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Arabella Beach
Hotel Arabella Beach
#22 of 31 in Albena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort
Address: 9656 Bouzhuretz Village | Cape Kaliakra, Kavarna 9656, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Kavarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kavarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The much-lauded Gary Player designed Signature Golf Course Thracian Cliffs is one of the most dramatic golf courses on earth. Framed by rugged coastal cliffs and the vast blue of the Black Sea, which can be viewed from each and every hole, it has also been called the "Pebble Beach of Europe". You will feel as comfortable as at home, in the spirit of famous Bulgarian hospitality. In this luxury high class resort you can spend your vacation in many ways - face the challenge of the golf course, enjoy the sun on the beach, relax and revive at the Spa.LUXURY ACCOMMODATION - CULINARY DELIGHTS - SPECTACULAR GOLF - AMAZING PRIVATE BEACHES - THRACIAN SPA & FITNESS - SMART BODY CHANGE CAMP (HYPOXI TRAINING & AESTHETIC DERMATOLOGY) - AND MUCH MORE.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Hotel Kavarna
Thracian Cliffs Golf And Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing