We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic golf spot, unique tees above the rocks and the black sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kavarna
Certificate of Excellence
Villejust, France
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic golf spot, unique tees above the rocks and the black sea”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This village is beautiful. It is a very attractive and impressive golf spot where you play hard but with incredible view.
The staff is very kind and professional. The restaurant serves very good local fish.
Rooms are comfortable and luxurious

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    48
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
45
57
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place play golf. Really beautiful location with stunning views and good service. Wonder how they can make it work with such low occupancy rate... Hope more people will discover it soon :) stayed four nights and played golf on three courses. Good breakfast and good coffee. Nice people that work most of the time with a smile on their face. Seriously consider coming back..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie_P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

i have played all over the world, this is one of the most beautiful and challenging courses i have ever seen - it is more beautiful then Pabbel beach in California.
the apartments are great, the restaurants are great and they have a private beach as well on the black sea.
i am definitely coming back next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AM3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just went for a three day weekend and for a 5-Star resort, was not pleased. The buildings feel lifeless and cold, not warm and inviting. The layout of the place is terrible. Anytime you want to go ANYWHERE on the property you need to call for a golf cart. The staff/management makes you feel like you're inconveniencing them when you call and/or make requests. The shower was poorly constructed, and the door wouldn't close completely, plus poor drainage, and so after the first shower, the water flooded into the kitchen. We called the management to send a repairman and they sent the maid instead with a mop, who told us it was our fault. It flooded a 2nd time of course, and so we told management again, then they finally sent someone to fix. Though the door was fixed, the drainage is terrible and instantly there is a pool of water. The service at the restaurants isn't very good, and they will not greet you unless you flag a waiter down (they would pretend not to notice you). Also, one of the attractions that lured me to the resort were the beautiful sunbeds on the water from their posters and advertisements. These are a hoax! They do not exist! I imagine they were brought in for the photo shoot only and then removed because all that was there (besides overpriced cabanas with just tables underneath) were typical umbrellas and beach chairs. I was looking for something more exotic and felt that this was false advertising. The seafood at the restaurants is pretty good, was very happy with the food, the muscles and fresh fish were amazing! The spa experience was a mixture. The massage itself and the hammam steamroom were phenomenal, but the facilities weren't. My robe was too small (i'm slim and 5'5") and it came to my knees. The tie was broken and so I had to hold the robe together with my hands to keep it from coming off. I told them this, to which they acknowledged, but never brought me a new robe. Also, with the golf carting around, we once requested a cart to take us back to our room after breakfast from the reception area, and the manager told us we had to wait 20 minutes. The could use some management training! The gift shop only sold golfing materials, but nothing worth purchasing..only overpriced polo brand items with Thracian Cliffs cheaply sewn in on the side. There is an entire shopping area that would be cool if it had shops. The place was like an empty movie backlot! For what you pay to be there, this is not the 5 star experience. They do not know how to treat their guests and they make you feel like you're inconveniencing them. Also, no room service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was more than we expected, very beautiful location, large spaces, clean and quiet. We got an one bedroom apartment, with kitchen, two bathrooms living and a large terrace. We liked especially the two beaches, Bendida and Argata. The food is good, fresh and not expensive and the staff is hard working, polite and they all speak English. The wifi worked good, even on the beach.
The Geti restaurant is good, staff well trained and very nice. We don't play golf, but we passed every day by the golf course and it's superb.
The shower cabin in the main bathroom was not well isolated - after each shower, the floor in the bathroom and the bedroom (!!) was full of water (room 103 marina village). Also, the laundry machine was not working - we notified the reception about that, but nothing was done. They told us that they are all disconnected for security reasons, but we know for sure that in other rooms they were functioning!
The Geti restaurant terrace is a little bit small - in the evening, if you are not careful to make a reservation with at least a day in advance, there is a good chance you can't eat here (maybe inside, but who wants to eat inside in a beautiful summer night? we sure don't). The restaurant is open for everybody, not only for resort guests, so I guess this is the reason it's so crowded. Maybe the hotel guests should have priority eating here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Marina Village and it was great, but I think Hillside Village is good also
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pau2875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pros: amazing views, beautiful rooms with very confortable beds, panoramic pool and very nice beach (Bendida beach), very friendly staff at the restaurants and good food/service;

Cons: the staff at the reception doesn't always understand English and sometimes it's difficult to communicate;

Tips: in high season you have to book in advance a sunbed at Agrata beach (spectacular and private) - we were told that it was fully booked for the hole month but we had lunch at the restaurant on the beach just to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A family of 3 generations, we stayed at a two-bedroom apartment (we also used the rollaway sofa in the living room for the kids), with great views towards the sea from one side and the golf course from the other. The apartments are very spacious, nicely appointed, with classy, stylish furniture, all cons in the kitchen, large flat-screen TV, free wi-fi, big terrace with table and chairs for alfresco dining. Both bedrooms had en-suite bathrooms. All very new, clean and well-maintained.

There is one restaurant -- Geti -- where breakfast is served (nice, but nothing extraordinary). It is also open for lunch and dinner and features a Mediterranean-style menu, with fine selection of Bulgarian and imported wines. Dining on the terrace which is perched above the sea is a must. Service is good, albeit a bit slow at times.

The resort features an amazingly beautiful and difficult golf course, Gary Player design. All holes have a view of the sea, one (#7) has its tee box in the sea - on a small island. Golf carts are mandatory, and frankly, indispensable as the distances and the slopes between the holes would make walking the course (and towing the golf bag) almost impossible. The driving range is wide and undulating, with sand traps, flags at different distances etc., but needs some sort of a sunroof or a tent -- to provide shade from the burning sun.

There are two beaches -- one more spacious (Bendida) and also open to external visitors, featuring a nice restaurant with cabanas, the other more secluded (Argata) featuring a smaller beach bar with more limited menu. Guests of the resort get parasols, sunbeds and towels included in their room rate, and reservations for the beach are kept automatically until 11 am. As it is a long distance from the main reception area, walking to the beaches is almost impossible. Shuttle by buggies is arranged, but could be erratic or subject to longer waits at times. The beaches are sandy, with shallow sea initially, very pleasant.

There is a spa in the resort and 4 open-air pools; but getting to those can be tiresome as they are located uphill.

Overall, the resort is great for golfers and families with kids seeking more seclusion and clean beaches. Entertainment for the little ones (excluding the beach and the water sports) could be a bit of an issue, but the nearby town of Balchik should more than compensate. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in the same building where the reception and pro-shop are -- great views toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlado24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavarna
2.3 mi away
White Lagoon Beach Resort
14.5 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#2 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
14.7 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lighthouse Golf & Spa Resort
15.1 mi away
Grifid Hotel Arabella
Grifid Hotel Arabella
#1 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Arabella Beach
Hotel Arabella Beach
#22 of 31 in Albena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort
Address: 9656 Bouzhuretz Village | Cape Kaliakra, Kavarna 9656, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Kavarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kavarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The much-lauded Gary Player designed Signature Golf Course Thracian Cliffs is one of the most dramatic golf courses on earth. Framed by rugged coastal cliffs and the vast blue of the Black Sea, which can be viewed from each and every hole, it has also been called the "Pebble Beach of Europe". You will feel as comfortable as at home, in the spirit of famous Bulgarian hospitality. In this luxury high class resort you can spend your vacation in many ways - face the challenge of the golf course, enjoy the sun on the beach, relax and revive at the Spa.LUXURY ACCOMMODATION - CULINARY DELIGHTS - SPECTACULAR GOLF - AMAZING PRIVATE BEACHES - THRACIAN SPA & FITNESS - SMART BODY CHANGE CAMP (HYPOXI TRAINING & AESTHETIC DERMATOLOGY) - AND MUCH MORE.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thracian Cliffs Golf And Beach Resort
Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Hotel Kavarna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing