We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to be in Guinness Book of Records for the longets wait for food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fiskebackskil
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a disaster. It started out to look promising. Waitress tells me we only have one starter and one main course - so I think - yes this should be good and start my wait.
After about 30 minutes the starter arrives - it was OK but not worthy of any prizes.
Then I endured a one hour wait for the main course..... which was very bland.
In desperation I told the waitress - if it doesn't come in 5 minutes I'm walking out
Hake - which would take a few minutes to cook.
With mashed potato - even my grandkids can make mash potato!
And with the 2 smallest carrots I have ever seen, which were quite raw, and looked unwashed.
Total cost with one glass of wine SEK 555 = approx. GBP 54.00
On the way out I looked in the kitchen - no shortage of chefs there - so can someone say what were they doing?
I arrived at 18,15 and left at 19.56 - over 90 minutes for 2 courses - totally unacceptable !
I know I should have gone to Norra Hamnen 5, in Lysekil ..... I will next time !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KeithHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 195 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Situated in a beautiful place with splendid view. The room was comfortable, yet cold. Cold stone floor in the bathroom. Very good beautifully served food. Competent staff. Several dining rooms of different size, that makes it possible to enjoy big as well as small company. However, another company had their party with loud live music until 00 in the same house as my room, and that was somewhat disturbing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egidija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Location is beautiful, the view is fabulous, the small village is very picturesque. However it is a conference hotel, designed to take care of large groups for short stays.
Rooms are 'designed', the designer has almost certainly never stayed in the rooms. Rooms are small, bathrooms are (small) closets. Furniture is limited, probably to make the rooms look bigger. Books, cameras etc. can be stored on the floor or in the window sill. If you travel with 'hand luggage' only, you have a chance to unpack, if you bring a suitcase it is simply impossible. Some of the rooms have large windows facing balconies or terraces, this is nothing for the shy. If you don't like privacy the rooms are ideal, there is none.

Breakfast is included and generous, the quality of it is, unfortunately, not.

Staff is friendly and kind, but not very professional.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were very satisfied. A recently-renovated conference hotel with everything on the ground floor spread over several buildings right next to the ocean. Minimalist but pleasing design features in the rooms and common areas. The location is spectacular and well placed for walking around the very scenic village. Breakfast was generous and enjoyable. The rooms are not large, as noted by other reviewers, but are practical, clean and modern, fully in line with Scandinavian standards and expectations, as are the prices. Service was friendly and competent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The rooms are very minimalist, no place for your suitcase other than the floor. No coffee pot or any way to heat water for a cup of tea. No coffee machines or coke machines in order to get a drink after hours.

We had a beautiful view but had to drag our suitcases up four flights of outside stairs to get to the room. They offered no help what so ever even after I told them I had recently had a knee replacement and my husband had a heart condition.

I am 5 ft 1 " and 130 lbs and had a horrible time taking a shower in the tiny shower in the tiny bathroom with the tiny sink! I hit my head on the shower rod trying to shave my legs. My arms banged into the shower walls as I tried to wash my hair...not a pleasant experience.

They charge for the internet, and sauna, nothing is free but the breakfast, which I might add was lovely and delicious.

There are no phones in the room, so if your cell phone is not working and you have an emergency forget finding help unless you walk down four flights of stairs and hope the office is open!
All in all it was a lovely view and good breakfast. I would only stay here again if I could have a room on reception level away from the parking lot and sauna.
The restaurant was closed at 2:00 and we arrived at 2:05 and wanted lunch they agreed to make us a sandwich even though they were closed. The restaurant was again closed the next night for a wedding. So we never got to eat in there.

We used the ferry to visit Lysekil and had a wonderful day there as well. Fiskebackskil is a lovely little village and I am happy to have had the opportunity to enjoy it! Well worth a trip there.

Room Tip: Select a room at reception level on the restaurant side! Unless you do not mind climbing the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

View is spectacular, its right by the sea. Rooms are small, not very private, balconies or walks are just outaide the vindows. The desigh is minimalistic and it does look nice. Design overruled practicalities all along the way. The double rooms are nice, for single occupancy (which is what they are used for off season) but the are unpractical and small.

The restaurant is not bad, but it does have the feel of a corporate conference place. Service is friendly but not very professional.

Anyway its probably the best place to stay att Skaftö, competition is not terrific though.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The rooms are very minimalist typical Scandinavian design. Comfortable but slightly warm at night. Our room was just twenty feet from the sea with a stunning front aspect view. Unfortunately to the side of the room was a car park. So a gorgeous view ahead spoiled by the fact that if you opened the side curtains you got a vista of volvos. The bathroom was dark but the shower excellent. The breakfast was good, the supper mixed. I really liked this hotel but it is expensive for what you get and you have to accept that it isn't as luxurious as the glossy brochures might pretend. Three and a half stars...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suitcasebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiskebackskil
14.1 mi away
Vann Spa Hotell & Konferens
1.7 mi away
Strandflickornas Havshotell
18.1 mi away
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in Stenungsund
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Lysekil
Grand Hotel Lysekil
#2 of 2 in Lysekil
68 reviews
25 mi away
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
#1 of 1 in Fjallbacka
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slipens Hotell
Slipens Hotell
#2 of 2 in Fiskebackskil
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens

Address: 2-14 Strandvaegen, Fiskebackskil 451 78, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Fiskebackskil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fiskebackskil
Price Range: $148 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gullmarsstrand Hotel and Conference 0 meters from the sea! Gullmarsstrand has slowly evolved over 35 years under the same ownership (three brothers). The starting point was the old restaurant in Fiskebackskil. Today Gullmarsstrand is a modern hotel designed by Sweden's foremost architect Gert Wingardh. The hotel currently has 81 rooms and conference capacity for 200 people. The unique location right next to the sea will be activities and menus obviously inspired by it. Join an experienced fisherman on lobster or crab safaris, kayak and enjoy fresh seafood. Now going on the largest investment in the hotel's 35-year history with an expansion of 1600 square meters. Conferences, holidays and vacations since 1979 Gullmarsstrand Hotel and Conference 0 meters from the sea! Gullmarsstrand has slowly evolved over 35 years under the same ownership (three brothers). The starting point was the old bathhouse restaurant in Fiskebackskil. Today Gullmarsstrand is modern facility designed by Sweden's foremost architect Gert Wingardh. The hotel currently has 81 state rooms and conference capacity for 200 people. The unique location right next to the sea will be activities and menus obviously inspired by it. Join an experienced fisherman on lobster or crab safaris, kayak and enjoy fresh seafood. Now going on the largest investment in the hotel's 35-year history with an expansion of 1600 square meters. Conferences, holidays and vacations since 1979 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing