We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a brilliant weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a brilliant weekend”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We booked our weekend through the newspaper deal and after reading some of the reviews was a bit dubious about going. We upgraded to silver and when we arrived found out we were in a chalet. It was spacious, recently decorated and furnished. Yes there were a few things that were not brilliant standard/finish but they didnt ruin our stay at all. The staff on arrival were really friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food we all ate was lovely (a bit pricey but we couldnt be bothered to cook on our first night). The entertainment was brilliant for the kids, the pool was nice and not cold so the kids were able to stay in for ages. Drinks in the bar were expensive. Friends we went with upgraded to silver plus and their caravans were really really nice. (If we go again would probably book one of those) We didnt go on the beach nr the site but went to Southwold which was lovely. Maybe all of us were lucky with our accomodation but on the weekend we just spent there I would actually go back.

Room Tip: We were in a chalet in block D - I think they have all recently been refurbished (silver standard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bec474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi Bec! Thank you for your comments – we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit to Kessingland Beach and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    359
    204
    113
    146
See reviews for
853
193
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed in a gold caravan on the site, caravan was clean and tidy. The caravan got a bit cold at night but it's a caravan! We loved the beach on the site, pebbles but perfect to picnic on whilst enjoying the sea. We only used the swimming pool which was fine, went out for meals as on meals on site were a bit pricey and fitted in with our plans. We were well away form the entertainment complex which menat it was quiet, handy when you have one 1 year old and 3 year old! Children enjoyed seeing the rabbits and ducks on the site which was nice. Overall I would recommend this site, this is our second visit, last time we were in a silver caravan which was also good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi Chris - glad to hear that you'd visit us again, we hope to see you soon! Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know about your stay at Kessingland Beach :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Me and my family went on a touring holiday to kessingland and its somewhere i will never go back to. First of all the field was totally flooded it was more like a swamp, when we went to the club house i was given a drink in a dirty glass still with lipstick on, the barmaid then tipped it into another glass instead of making a fresh drink. Then when we went for breakfast not only was the glasses dirty but so was all the knifes and forks they were that bad i had to clean them with a baby wipe. then on the last night we was there i got my family fish and chips from off of the sites chip shop, the food was terrible. The fish was over cooked that bad the batter was nearly black, the chips were that dry and stale they had no potato in the middle. My children aged 6 years, 3 years and 1 years old were that hungry they had eaten some and started to feel ill. I tried eating mine but found a large black hair in the batter. So we complained and was told that we would be refunded the price of the fish and chips and could have a free meal at the dirty restaurant. None of us felt well enough to eat anything and so i asked if i could have some sparky toys for my kids instead to cheer them up. This had to be checked with the general manager who refused. The man that was sorting us then told us he could of done us a voucher for the price of a meal for 4 of us (when there was 5) so we could spend it anywhere on site. We agreed to this but once again it had to be checked by the manager. This time we was told the manager would not agree and he would only give us a £10 voucher to which i was disgusted. We arranged to see the general manager in the morning but as my 10 week old daughter needed feeding my partner went in to talk to him. The general manager was very rude and looked down his nose the whole time, he refused to come out to the car to speak to me even though my partner made it clear i was feeding my daughter. He said he would not of even gave my family the refund for the food he would of gave us 50% back and that was more than enough!! Park resorts kessingland is a horrible dirty place that will be getting a visit from health and safety because i would not feed there food to my dogs let alone humans. I feel sorry for anyone that ever goes to this place.
And also the manager said its totally fine to tip a drink from a dirty glass into another. Terrible

Room Tip: Go else where its disgusting the way you get treated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi Carla. First off, we’re very sorry to hear that you feel this way. If you remember, the catering manager and I spoke to you at the time about your complaint about the fish and chips and gave you a full refund. We feel very passionately about cleanliness, from our caravans to the reception and the food outlets, and do everything we can to make sure that they’re kept in a clean and hygienic state.

Unfortunately the bad weather that caused our field to become boggy was beyond of our control, but we’re very sorry that it affected your holiday and wish there was something we could’ve done about it. We did offer customers the option to change the dates of their stay because of the conditions, but appreciate that that’s not always practical.

Finally, we would’ve been happy to provide you a fresh drink if you’d requested one, but at the time we were of the understanding that you only required a fresh glass, as that was what was requested. We’ve learned from our mistake though, and it won’t happen again.

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience, and we’d like to reassure you that all of the issues that you’ve raised are being looked in to fully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kessingland hotels

cleethorpes
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The caravan that we stayed in was very good standard and very clean.

The team in the entertainment complex and boathouse restaurant were not very professional or helpful. The food we ordered was terrible and obviously overpriced. We asked to speak to the catering manager who we found to be very arrogant and didnt want to listen or help. Not a very good advert for park resorts!

After speaking to several holidaymakers and owners we found that the standards over the last month or so has dropped dramatically. Maybe someone in authority should check this before loyal customers stop going to kessingland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello Carol, and thanks for sending in your comments. We’re surprised to hear your comments about the entertainment team, as this is the first piece of negative feedback that we’ve had regarding both the team and the quality of the food in the Boathouse. We try to price our meals as fairly as possible and we also ensure that there are always several special offers or promotions on, as well as a specials board to offer some extra variety.

It must have been the chef that you spoke to rather than our catering manager, as he would’ve offered you a fresh meal or a refund (standard practice for us). We’re sorry to hear that the matter wasn’t resolved at the time and will make sure that we pass on your feedback to both the catering manager and to the team, who will be very disappointed that in your case, they didn’t meet the high standards that our customers expect from us.

As for your final comments, I’ll personally be ensuring that our standards are as high as possible and that your feedback is listened to and acted upon. Thanks again for passing it on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed there this weekend with my husband and two children and was thoroughly dissapointed with the accomodation and the staff's attitude. The booking was made though the sun holiday which I have done at least 6 or 7 times over the last 3 or 4 years. I was allocated a chalet on arrival but it smelt damp and there were white stains on the sofabed which we were meant to sleep on. There was also stains on the sheets in the bedroom. I informed the staff who insisted the park was full so there was no alternative . I asked for an upgrade but was advised it was not possible as the park was totally full up. I asked if I could then be moved to a different park and was abruptly told all the parks in the area were totally full due to the bank holiday weekend. The attitude of the staff member was terrible, I booked through the sun, what did I expect!!!! They sent a cleaner to the chalet who offered to clean the stain but seeing as it would leave the sofa wet we wouldn't have anywhere to sit to watch tv or sleep. I went back to reception and they (miraculously) found a caravan for us. This was not much better as the only form of heating was the fire in the lounge and seeing as the weather in this country has not been great recently was not good. I had two young children with me. We ended up hiring a heater which was not very efficient and had to leave a deposit of £10 and when we returned it the day we left we handed the heater but the staff member did not attempt to give us the deposit back , my husband had to ask for it. Was she hoping to keep it if we didn't ask for it????? I have been to many park resort/haven resorts and have never been disappointed with the accomodation until this weekend. I would not go back to that resort again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi, and thanks for your feedback. I’m afraid that the bank holiday had been fully booked for months, which is why we were unable to move you or give you a free upgrade – this is standard practice when there is the availability. Unfortunately, because we were unable to do this, we had to swap a booking to accommodate you while we attempted to rectify your complaint and make sure that your holiday lived up to the high standards that our customers expect of us.

The bronze accommodation that we freed up for you comes with a gas fire as standard, but no other heating built in. We’d normally charge a hire cost for the heaters, but as a gesture of good will we only asked for a deposit in case of damage – unfortunately, it looks like our staff member was confused because of this, which we apologise for. We are, however, glad to hear that your deposit was returned and would like to assure you that it was an honest mistake on our part!

The Sun deals are hugely important to us and we’re very proud to be a part of them, and we’d like to reassure you that when people book a stay at Park Resorts through The Sun, they’re treated no differently to any other customer. We value every customer and we value your feedback as well, and we’re disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Kessingland Beach. Hope to welcome you back soon and to live up to the standards that you’ve come to expect from your previous visits to Park Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We booked a Daily Mail cheap break for 3 people in Park Resorts Silver (luxury) accommodation which was supposed to be suitable for four. We booked on the strength of a previous holiday on the Isle of White where we had been allocated a two bedroom Caravan. Our friend had to drop out through illness and it was probably just as well for on arrival we were given a very small one bed roomed Chalet with a bed settee in the lounge. This would have been a real drag for three pensioners not in the best of health.
I questioned this at reception, and the younger receptionist was going to give me an explanation when an older member of staff quite curtly intervened to inform me that we had no complaint as “People booked through Newspapers can’t pick and choose, the accommodation has heating through out all rooms” .
A resume of what we got.
(1) The chalet. Lounge, bed settee table, four chairs of dreadful design clumsy and cumbersome. TV. Kitchenette, cooker, microwave, oil filled radiator.
(2) Bathroom, shower, toilet, basin towel rail
(3) Bedroom with two single beds wardrobe, two sets of drawers.

+ points: - very clean, the beds were exceptionally comfortable. Both rooms warm.

- Points: - Lounge door blind broke had to be repaired. Shower door hard to open, Shower dribbled, could get a shower but only just. Plumbing noisy, when you turned the tap on in the basin water dribbled out of the shower head. Bathroom door and Bedroom door wouldn’t shut so minimal privacy; I at least like to go to the loo in private. Carpets in bedroom and lounge stained.

Entertainment: Two very good cabarets on Monday and Thursday and the resident entertainment troop were hard working and enjoyable to watch... Kids seemed to have a whale of a time. Full marks to them all.
Site staff;
With the exception of the one receptionist all staff were friendly and efficient. Security were always on hand and made a point of speaking to you. so you felt safe all the time.

Value for money: 8 out of 10. Weather 3 out of 10, so all in all not a lot of complaint with Kessingland Beach.

Room Tip: check booking direct. might get a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello :) Sounds like you had a good time, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community and hopefully we'll see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just got back from another great weekend break at Kessingland Beach. Chalet was freshly painted and lovely and clean. Club house is always good for a little evening entertainment. Beds are really comfortable too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiselbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi! Thanks for writing a review of your stay at Kessingland Beach, hopefully we'll see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kessingland
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
5.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
477 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
The Tramway Hotel
The Tramway Hotel
#15 of 28 in Lowestoft
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: - Park Resorts Beach Road | Nr. Lowerstoft, Kessingland NR33 7RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kessingland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kessingland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kessingland Beach is a Holiday park with static caravans and a touring field suitable for camping and electric hook up. We are situated next to a beautiful pebbled beach with access direct from the Park itself. If you like to take a stroll it is possible to walk from Kessingland Beach into our neighbouring town of Lowestoft which is ideal for shopping and sightseeing. We are very fortunate to have a premier wildlife Park in Kessingland which is a 5 minute drive and has an amazing selection of African animals including Lions and zebra. Kessingland Beach is also on a bus route so it's time to park the car up and let your Holiday begin with a relaxing break from start to finish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Hotel Kessingland
Kessingland Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing