We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Buccoo B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Last year, my family and I visited Tobago and stayed at Fish Tobago Guest house. Our experience there was amazing and a great choice for us, so we decided to come again the following year. Brandon, the owner, was very hospitable, and he knew the island very well. He offered many tours for reasonable prices, and he was ready to fulfill any of our demands. Since we love fishing, for a reasonable fee, Brandon took us out for most of the day to different locations for both fishing and snorkeling. It was the best fishing trip we have ever experienced; we caught two barracudas, six tuna, and four BIG cavarli. After the tour, Brandon grilled the fish on the beach for us. We also had a chance to see leatherback turtles laying eggs, and we were also fortunate enough to see baby turtles hatching. The greatest thrill we had that night with the turtles was helping the baby turtles into the ocean. There are beaches within walking distance, great snorkeling, and local places to eat, but with Brandon's excellent cooking, we did not need to go to the restaurants. I recommend asking him to cook his famous tuna and roast breadfruit. We recommend lots of sunscreen and mosquito spray. During our second stay at Fish Tobago, Brandon recommended horse back riding and it was amazing. We rode with the horses in the water. Our stay at Fish Tobago have been the most unforgettable vacation experiences for us. We strongly recommend the resort and the island to everyone. We would definitely be back again for the third time in 2014. We can't wait!

Room Tip: Accommodation for large families, couples and singles at a reasonable rate with first class service.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Geneve1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Fish Tobago Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 361 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are very bascic and clean. If you are looking for a clean place to stay for a couple of days stay here. Brandon is a great host he will go out his way for you. There are lots of local restaurants in the area and nice beachs close by. Buccuo is a very nice village with very friendly locals, I will return and stay at the fish Guest house!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gingergirl456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Put together a 70 year olf father with a 19 year old daughter and Fish Tobago guesthouse, We planned a 6 night stay but my daughter fell in love with Tobago and we extended our stay to 9 nights, It was not problem as Brandon kindly let us stay in the same apartment. It was fun getting to know the other guests with the evening Bar-B-Q's of freshly caught fish, caught by some of the guests and grilled outdoors under the open skies. My daughter enjoyed some of the local foods including the grill roasted Breadfruit, asking if anyone else wanted before devouring the remaining bits.
Excellent for those that want to explore Tobago by themselves, Brandon also arranges some tours, snorlkelling, Buccoo reef and Nylon Pool, Fishing, Bird watching etc. Car rental is expensive in Tobago compared to Trinidad, Beware of Lady in Red

Room Tip: The upstairs apartments are probably best, quiet and peaceful with a table and chairs outside on the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Papsen431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My girlfriend and myself stayed 2 nights at this place and we were proposes with a great invitation upon the owners own generosity, each day felt like new and warm with comfort. was a great stay for us

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TrevsG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Two friends and I stayed at this guesthouse from the 24-29. For the first few days things were ok but the owner is very intense. He always has activities planned and is really good at selling them... No pressure (HAHA!). By the end of our trip we had grown tired of him. He dis his best to try to keep us happy, ended up letting us check out late our last day, but at that point, no bandage could stop the bleeding. There was no A/C, no locker at your convience, and our room stunk of urine because the toilet in our washroom was leaking. If you are going to stay at Fish Tobago, it's beat to keep yourself removed of the bubble Brandon attempts to keep you in.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Charleskandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just stayed five nights in the Sand Bank Room at this Guesthouse. Was so cozy and comfortable and before long we felt like we had a home away from home. The A/C worked well and we slept great the entire time. Loved the tropical décor and having a small fridge and kitchenette in our room. We stopped by Penny Savers for some drinks and groceries. Had breakfast every morning at the table outside our room and played checkers and cards during rain storms. Loved having the larger communal kitchen downstairs to prepare and grill fresh fish to share with others.

We rented a car the entire time and had no trouble returning to the Guesthouse since it is close to Store Bay, Pigeon Point and many other attractions.

Loved the local hang-out in Buccoo called Shirl's Finger Lickin for fried fish and chicken. Went there several times.

Brandon's help and input was invaluable to us as first time visitors to Tobago. He truly cares about the well-being of his guests and is very accommodating. He woke us up at 11PM to hook up with a guide to see the leatherback turtles laying eggs on the beach one night. He also arranged for my husband to fish 1/2 day and he caught two tuna.

We highly recommend Brandon's Fish Tobago Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MarleeGalveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I attended a friends 5* wedding in Barbados and decided to stay 7 nights in Tobago to make use of being in the Caribbean on a smaller budget. Our goal in Tobago was to relax on the beach, do a spot of fishing, venture into the rainforest jungles and experience some waterfalls. It was absolutely the best holiday decision I made to date. Brandon the owner was amazingly helpful giving us options for any budget to accomplish these goals. We rented the sand bank room which consisted of a small kitchen dinner, a double bedroom with en suite shower and toilet. It was clean and well cooled with air con. Our accommodation was basic but exactly what you need on a small budget. My wife loved "toast" Brandon's lovely dog. We went fishing on day 5 off our vacation about 3pm. We caught 2 tunas each aprox 12" each. I thought we done well as we were quite content with our catch. Brandon then told us we are now ready to start fishing. We then caught a small barracuda 16" long in "Barracuda Alley" as Brandon calls it. I almost caught a 70lb barracuda not long afterwards but it bit my line and escaped. So inspired I pleaded with Brandon for a round 2 session of fishing for 6am in the morning to find a big fish. Although he had an appointment he took me and another guy out for a quick 3 hour session. We managed to catch a 35lb barracuda which took about 1hour to reel in. I say no more... Del and Rochele from London

Room Tip: I'd recommend fishing everyday!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank delroy_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishTobago1, Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hi Del and Rochele,
Thank you very much for that great review. At Fish Tobago we always do our best to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay. So we are very happy that you had a great stay at Fish Tobago Guesthouse and that we could contribute to you having a nice vacation in Tobago.
It was a really nice catch you had with that 35lb barracuda, a very nice prize for a 1hour work out.
Take care and we hope to see you back at Fish Tobago Guesthouse again another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buccoo
3.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#8 of 92 in Tobago
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tobago Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Address: Buccoo Point 26A, Buccoo Tobago, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Buccoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buccoo
Price Range: $25 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tobago Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Tobago Guesthouse is a family owned guesthouse that is a traditionally built two storey house nestled in its own spacious grounds. We are located on the western coastline of Tobago which is one of the most beautiful, unspoilt islands in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fish Tobago Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Hotel Buccoo
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Buccoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing