We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay and fish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Buccoo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay and fish”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I attended a friends 5* wedding in Barbados and decided to stay 7 nights in Tobago to make use of being in the Caribbean on a smaller budget. Our goal in Tobago was to relax on the beach, do a spot of fishing, venture into the rainforest jungles and experience some waterfalls. It was absolutely the best holiday decision I made to date. Brandon the owner was amazingly helpful giving us options for any budget to accomplish these goals. We rented the sand bank room which consisted of a small kitchen dinner, a double bedroom with en suite shower and toilet. It was clean and well cooled with air con. Our accommodation was basic but exactly what you need on a small budget. My wife loved "toast" Brandon's lovely dog. We went fishing on day 5 off our vacation about 3pm. We caught 2 tunas each aprox 12" each. I thought we done well as we were quite content with our catch. Brandon then told us we are now ready to start fishing. We then caught a small barracuda 16" long in "Barracuda Alley" as Brandon calls it. I almost caught a 70lb barracuda not long afterwards but it bit my line and escaped. So inspired I pleaded with Brandon for a round 2 session of fishing for 6am in the morning to find a big fish. Although he had an appointment he took me and another guy out for a quick 3 hour session. We managed to catch a 35lb barracuda which took about 1hour to reel in. I say no more... Del and Rochele from London

Room Tip: I'd recommend fishing everyday!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank delroy_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishTobago1, Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Del and Rochele,
Thank you very much for that great review. At Fish Tobago we always do our best to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay. So we are very happy that you had a great stay at Fish Tobago Guesthouse and that we could contribute to you having a nice vacation in Tobago.
It was a really nice catch you had with that 35lb barracuda, a very nice prize for a 1hour work out.
Take care and we hope to see you back at Fish Tobago Guesthouse again another day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    47
    6
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
93
98
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Itajaí, Santa Catarina, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fish Tobago was a great place to stay. It's well located for those looking for being close to the surf spots of the island. The staff was incredibly friendly and helped us out a lot. I was very surprised. The place is simple and clean, kitchen is ok enough for cooking easy meals. There is a nice garden, perfect for relaxing and chilling out with the other guests. Internet is very fast, and the hole area is very quiet. There are a few restaurants close by, and a small grocery shop, but for getting food for lunch you will need to take a cab and go to one of the bigger supermarkets, something like 10 min away. I definitely recommend Fish Tobago for anyone coming to this amazing island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishTobago1, Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review, Lorena. It was great having you and your friends staying at Fish Tobago Guesthouse and we hope you see you back again another day, when you can get some time off to ride the waves in Tobago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just stayed overnight before a workshop in Buccoo. I had an upstairs room - Sandbanks? - small bedroom and sitting area/kitchenette but with all you need for a short stay. Room was immaculate and great decor. Big contrast with the hotel in Crown Point where we stayed for the last two workshops, where nothing worked properly and everything seemed to have been done on the cheap. Brandon and other staff very helpful and friendly. Overall atmosphere also good, with other guests obviously enjoying themselves and socializing with each other - wished I didn't have to work and could have taken advantage of that! Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a great stay in Fish Tobago Guesthouse and extended our stay in the end. Our room was really nice,modern and clean, the aircon is working just fine. The staff tries to make everything possible and make the stay a memorible one. Felt quiet at home there. Thanks for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jen1988_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Hopefully this time my review won't be deleted as I didn't give it top marks. My husband and I stayed with Brandon in February for our honeymoon. The room we had requested and booked wasn't available on arrival and after two nights had to move rooms. Not what I want with a booking. Then trying to book fishing trip he doubled the price half an hour before we left to the price on his website. Before we left England we asked to book a subset cruise for valentines day again right up until hr before it was on then cancelled due to weather. It was flat calm. All he offered was a communal BBQ with a group of single lads. Felt very let down. After this he then didn't speak to us for the final 4 days as we did just pay his inflated prices. Rooms are fine location is fine. Hospitality is fine if you do what Brandon wants. No I wouldn't visit him again. After my last review I tried to leave he hassled me in the street to remove it. My advice find somewhere else. Tobago is more friendly than this hostel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank missdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishTobago1, Owner at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We wish to advise that this review is malicious and should be disregarded. The guests booked a basic room for a honeymoon and were upgraded at no cost to the best room in the property. An individual attempted to join a chartered fishing tour for free and threatened to write negative comments if we did not provide the service. Out of respect for our loyal paying customers we did not entertain this but are now faced with repeated attempts to discredit our reputation. We have advised TripAdvisors Management of this and they have removed prior submissions from the individual. We encourage our customers to consider our +142 reviews when making your vacation choices and we stand ready to attend to our guests in the most professional way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fantastic house, terrific and warm service. They made us feel welcome and gave us an awesome tour of the island. Definitely the place to stay if you are going to visit Tobago. The reefs out off of "no man's land" were truly amazing. The guesthouse is small enough to feel intimate, yet large enough not to feel isolated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishTobago1, Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Judy,
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that we could help provide you an enjoyable stay at Fish Tobago Guesthouse. It was a real pleasure having you staying and we hope to see you back again another day, when you need to get away from the cold winter in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laird, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

when we arrived a fish tobago we were expecting a room with 2 double beds as indicated on Hotels.com . The had only One double bed but within minutes Brandon took care of the problem and another bed was set up in the room for 2 tired travellers. The next day he arranged for a rent a car with the Lady In Red. We found the accomodations very clean, and the hospitality above and beyond what we expected. All in All a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buccoo
3.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#8 of 92 in Tobago
144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
221 reviews
3.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tobago Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Property: Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Address: Buccoo Point 26A, Buccoo Tobago, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Buccoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buccoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tobago Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Tobago Guesthouse is a family owned guesthouse that is a traditionally built two storey house nestled in its own spacious grounds. We are located on the western coastline of Tobago which is one of the most beautiful, unspoilt islands in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fish Tobago Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Hotel Buccoo
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Buccoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing