We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“August 2012 at Cholson Chalets”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotteville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cholson Chalets Ltd.
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“August 2012 at Cholson Chalets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My best friend, son and I stayed for two fabulous restful weeks at Cholson Chalets. It was delightful. We arrived at 10:00p.m at the airport and were able to contact the manager by phone to give the airport taxi the directions. Courteous, friendly and helpful all the way describes our experience from then on. We were lulled to sleep by the waves breaking gently on the beach across the street. Next morning and every morning after that we awoke opened the door and were greeted with the most spectacular scene. This is what beachfront is all about... My three year old son and I would begin each morning by crossing the street and jumping unto the sand to feed the birds the remains of breakfast and then a swim in the bay.

My best friend would open the front door and sit looking at us, while taking in the locals slow and easy gait. It relaxed us to see people so relaxed and unhurried going about daily life in a fishing village. We highly recommend the "Tobago Eskimo"- a flavoured ice cool costing TT$1.00 at the grocery two doors down. At midday you'll love it after a cooling swim...

Fresh fish comes literally to your door as the jetty is on the right of the property and fishing boats can be seen coming home. Fresh vegetables and fruit are sold next to the grocery by Keino at his stall. The visitor's/ tourist information centre is chucked full of information on tours ; birdwatching, scuba diving, turtle watching etc. Public transport is available at the bus stop a two minute walk away every two hours. Taxi service available upon request from the office or outside the visitor's/tourist information centre.

The level of service was very good, the ladies provided clean sheets, they washed dishes, swept floors, made beds and cleaned bathrooms. There is also an inexpensive laundry service onsite. When you leave a mess you return to a pristine place. The ladies do not remain all day, but in their hours onsite they do good work...and then some. If you venture into the back yard; mangoes, bananas, guavas and seasonings are yours for the taking. We had several ripe fruits during our stay. Go to the fish depot or wait for the fishermen to arrive on the beach so you can buy out of the boat...either way you'll be happy with the freshness of the catch and the size of your portions. The depot provides cleaning and cutting with purchase.

There is cable t.v. and free fruit on the beach front trees higher up the street. There are several local characters; Fussy was our favourite. We encountered several nationalities while at Cholson Chalets; French, English, Scottish, American and Germans in the first week.

Charlotteville is a real gem of a village where people look out for each other. Where shrimp and fries with a beer can be had around the corner from the gas station. Where the businesses are run by the owners, therefore pride in service and product is always present.
Do go there it is not as bustling and busy as Scarborough but that's what makes it special and unique.

Moira Dickson-Charter
Trinidad, W.I.

Room Tip: Ground floor is street level, lots of passers by. For privacy choose the top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fantastic spot right on the sea front where you can sit and watch the fishermen coming and going. A short but hilly walk to the brilliant Pirates bay. No air con but very god fans and sea breezes. Hearing the sea rolling back and forth all night long is relaxing. Had a wonderful week, would love to return. Charollevile is the most unspoiled place I have ever been, not pretentious or touristy in any way - so don't expect fancy restaurants or night clubs, there not there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in studio which had no glass in windows. We were not offered mozzie net but got one on request. No WiFi and village internet connection not working so had to go to Speyside. Contact for booking via email received slow replies. Chalet is in good location opposite beach. Staff friendly but not always there. Very clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoPolo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and would go back. The chalets are right on the front and are nicely equipped. They are serviced every day. We liked the ground-floor one because we were greeted by all the pasers-by. Our second stay was upstairs, where you are more private and have a very small balcony. Our second visit was a slight disappointment, because the fish catch was poor. However, after the first day we managed to buy a tuna, which lasted several meals!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

The Cholson Chalets are two buildings with a central courtyard and back garden, located right on the ocean (on a stormy night, the ocean lapped at the front gate!). We spent four days in an upper apartment. Despite the heat, the apartment was cooled by sea breezes and we were never uncomfortable. The sounds of the waves on the shore were our constant companion.
There is an office which is staffed during the day where any issues can be addressed. The garden has fruit trees which are available to guests (I had never eaten a banana straight off a tree before!).
The apartment we stayed in was very comfortable, with an open area overlooking the view, a dining area, and a reasonably equipped kitchen. There was a television with local and a few international channels, including to my surprise, the CBC (Canadian TV!). There were three bedrooms-- we used one to sleep, and had a "dressing room" each! Important to ask the staff for mosquito netting-- my husband let his foot hang out one night and was ravaged.
Charlotteville itself is a sleepy fishing village. Provisions are not great--just a few small village shops-- so better to stock up on your way from the airport. There are often opportunities to buy fresh caught fish in the morning. Several different stands and restaurant shacks line the main road. We loved eating vegetarian roti from one particular stand and returned several times. Mostly we ate breakfast and organized snacks on our own, and ate out for other meals.
Our visit coincided with a period of rough seas (unfortunately). That made the Charlotteville and the lovely Pirate's Bay beaches unswimmable. But we did find that the beach at the Blue Waters Inn at Speyside was sheltered and calm, so we still got our swims in! Travelling between Charlotteville and Speyside required taxis-- we found the bus service completely unreliable and not worth the frustration on holiday.
Lots to do in the area including scuba, snorkeling, and kayaking. The locals were friendly and helpful. Food was not cheap, but tasty.
Overall, a wonderful experience. If we were to plan our trip again, we would drop the Trinidad portion and spend the whole time in Tobago!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Acegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed at Cholson Chalets in early September this year. The apartment was very well maintained, kept clean for us, and had a great view over the bay at Charlotteville.

At the time of booking, Cholson Chalets didn't take credit cards, so a dollar-draft cheque was needed. Although this was inconvenient and added cost, it was worth it to be able to secure a stay at a really homely place.

We received friendly advice, a warm welcome and had travel from the airport arranged without fuss. Thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordChilterns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

Staying at the Cholson was one of the highlights of our whole holiday in Tobago.
We stayed down the south end of the island for the majority of our trip but decided to spend a few days up north in Charlotteville.

Charlotteville itself is an absolutely beautiful fishing village/town. We had driven there with no plans or reservations and by chance The Cholsons was the first place we tried, and I am so thankful it was.

We were offered the first floor apartment facing out to the bay - you could literally throw a stone into the sea from inside the apartment.

I only wish I had a picture to show you the smile on my face as we were shown around. For $65 US (there or thereabouts) per night we had three double bedrooms a large living/dining area, large well equipped kitchen, Cable T.V. and best of all a sea facing sitting area with the most spectacular view out of a whole wall of windows that pivot open to give a completely open air impression. The apartments were immaculate throughout and well decorated with wood panel flooring and an overall colonial feeling.

There is no air-con but the apartments are very well ventilated so receive a refreshing sea breeze. Couple that with the fact that there is a very effective ceiling fan in every bedroom and two in the living area and the whole apartment stayed very cool.
Buy a few bottles of ice cold carib (local lager) from the small bar (small, as in garden shed sized) next door and watch the sun set in the bay either sat on the beach or in the comfort of the apartment.

Pirates Bay is only a ten minute walk away. It is a completely secluded beach (with decent snorkelling) that’s only accessible by foot or boat and was totally deserted when we were there.

When we next come to Tobago (we will be back) we’ll definitely be staying a few nights in The Cholson Chalets.

  • Liked — Overall feeling/Decoration, Location/View
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welsh_Jim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotteville
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Castara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cholson Chalets Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cholson Chalets Ltd.

Property: Cholson Chalets Ltd.
Address: Man of War Bay, Charlotteville, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Charlotteville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Charlotteville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cholson Chalets Hotel Charlotteville
Cholson Chalets Ltd. Tobago/Charlotteville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing