We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip ”

Domacija Pri Damjanu
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Kozina
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We offer you authentic, local dishes with features of Brkini and Trieste cuisine. It is important to us to use the locally grown vegetables and locally produced meat. Our dishes have a special flavour; a flavour only our grandmothers could have conjured on the old farmhouse stove.
Restaurant details
Description: We offer you authentic, local dishes with features of Brkini and Trieste cuisine. It is important to us to use the locally grown vegetables and locally produced meat. Our dishes have a special flavour; a flavour only our grandmothers could have conjured on the old farmhouse stove.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here after Skocjan caves. It is a bit out of the way through narrow winding streets but we felt it was worth it. Plenty of parking. Were made to feel welcome when we arrived and the chef brought us some bread and homemade prsut. Best proscuitto I've ever had. The plate below was 8 euro and we got a basket of bread for 2 euro. We ordered the lamb in furnace to share which was recommended by the chef. For 15 euro we got two bits of lamb each and plate of sides to share. Lamb was really tasty especially to dip your bread in the sauce. They accept credit card and speak good english. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank teapea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 82 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

Domacija pri Damjanu is a typical homestead restaurant in Karst region, but it rises from the crowd, by serving truly delicious food with local & seasonal ingredients. They rear their own livestock, so meat is as fresh as it can be. Be sure to listen to suggestions from their friendly staff, because portions are big. We were there with family and ate like kings for a reasonable price. There is no fixed menu, since offer changes through seasons and it can change depending on the time you arrive (some dishes take hours to prepare, so you might not be able to order if they run out).

Food is fairly simple but prepared with care and oozes freshness. Owner and waiting staff are hospitable and friendly, which creates a relaxed, homey atmosphere. The homestead can be a bit tricky to find, but once you are there, you have plenty of parking spots available. If you drink to much of their homemade wine (also great), or fall in love with beautiful sorroundings, you can book a room to go home safe the next day.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank AljosaTodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

Very good ham, cheese, and sausaces! Grilled mushrooms, filet di manzo con tartuffo and vegetables.....all fresh and delicious! Nice setting!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank eschlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Very, very good. It is maybe difficult to find, but it worth. Fresh, (depends on season) local ingredients, prepared with love and a lot of knowlidge. Good home wine. I want more.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Marko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Local ingredients and delicious dishes. Welcoming staff and relaxed atmosphere. Would recommend this place however, not for vegetarisns.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Suzana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domacija Pri Damjanu also viewed

Kozina, Slovenian Littoral Region
Kozina, Slovenian Littoral Region
 
Divaca, Slovenian Littoral Region
Kozina, Slovenian Littoral Region
 
Kozina, Slovenian Littoral Region
Kozina, Slovenian Littoral Region
 

Been to Domacija Pri Damjanu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing