We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
156
92
21
14
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
92
21
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch carronfish and chipsreal alevenison steakhighland hospitalitynext morningisle of skyecomfortable roomsstayed for nightsporridgebiscuitscooked breakfastlevel crossingkylescotlandaleshillwalking
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 305 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2010

A warm welcome from Andrew, Eileen and all the staff. We stayed for six nights and everyone made our stay a very happy experience and went out of their way to ensure that our wedding anniversary was one to remember. We had excellent locally sourced food and the breakfasts are to die for! The Red Coulin beer is well worth trying as well. A very good centre for touring all around this most beautiful area of Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigalsscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2010

thank you so much for your review. i will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff. thanks also for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary, it was a privilege to have you here on such a special day. i hope you had a pleasant and safe journey home and that maybe we will be able to welcome you here again in the future,
kindest regards to you both,
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Had a one night stay in June. Good rate for a double room as a single traveller and room clean but no remote for TV, sink cracked and if I was five foot tall may have been able to see myself in the bathroom mirror for shaving. Other problem was privacy as room overlooked the car park and only a full lenght blind you could pull down and the bathroom although had frosted glass overlooked the train station and other car park.

On a positive note bar OK, usual pub food and carvary breakfast in a big airy breakfast room was a nice touch. Also in a scenic and quiet setting.

Overall would say if you need somewhere quiet to stop over for one night to recuperate before your next leg of your journey then this place would suffice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuffofStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review although a shame that you were disappointed by the room, particularly since it was the one that you chose after seeing pictures of it, and the view from it during the 15 emails that passed between us before you made your booking. But your points are duly noted. Although I am confused at the problem you expressed re privacy; frosted glass and a blind I would have thought to be enough.

Another confusion is your reference to usual pub food; we serve local seafood; cold smoked salmon, hot smoked salmon, langoustines. Mussels, all from the award winning isle of skye smokehouse, as well as local made cheeses, our own free range eggs and local venison when available; not usual for pub food in many places that I am aware of! Interesting to note that you stayed here the very same night as the previous reviewer, well what can I say … you can please some of the people …..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay. Anthony was an extremely gracious host. Dinner was marvelous with all foods sourced within a few miles.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2010

hi dan,

thanks for your review and i am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. i was pleased to read your comments and really pleased that you liked the local source aspect to our menu. we do try to include as much local produce as possible and glad that you took the opportunity to try some of the great food that Scotland has to offer:-) i hope you had a pleasant trip home with lots of good memories and maybe yo will come back to visit us again in the future. thanks again for choosing to stay with us,

kindest regards to you and your family,

eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Everything perfect. This is a superb base for exploring the area, and a very friendly welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2010

thank you so much for your review. i am glad you found the strathcarron to your liking and thanks too for posting your photo; it gives a real sense of where we are in terms of hills etc:-) i hope you managed to catch sight of the deer grazing in the field in front of the hotel too, a common sight at certain times of the year:-) hope to see you again,
kind regards,
eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Stayed 3 nights just after Easter. Eileen and family were so helpful at all points in the process from first contact about availability until we left on our last day - and I am sure beyond if we needed it! We were unsure right up until we went on holiday if we were a group of three or four but there was no fuss and no hike in price for a singly occupied room. Prices themselves were extremely reasonable. Rooms were warm and spotless, beds comfortable, good hot water and a generous supply of teabags and biscuits to satisfy walkers after full days in the hills. We found the quality of the bar food to be excellent with a good choice for vegetarians particularly if able to eat fish - the locally sourced fish and chips was fab and the veg curry one of the best we have had anywhere. For the carnivores the steak and the venison pies are both recommended. Service was good and the staff always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was always well cooked and the hotels' eggs from their own (very) free range hens top notch. The walking around and about is wonderful with lots of interest to see - hills, cleared villages, wildlife and superb caledonian pine woods. The train makes linear walks a possibility and provides easy access to Kyle, Skye and Inverness. If your expectations are for boutique style luxury or minimalist modernism don't go; but if you want somewhere that is clean, comfortable and warm to come back to at the end of a day out, that serves very good food at a reasonable price, where true highland hospitality, courtesy and warmth are in abundance and where you will be made very welcome, book now. Enough said - we loved it!! Thanks Eileen, family and staff!! Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyresdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathcarronhotel, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2010

we were so glad that you had a good time here and was really pleased to read your comments, i have passed on what you said to the staff as well and, like us, they were delighted that you had enjoyed your stay and gone to the bother of letting others know. i hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews